Ratings based on 1,828 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pacific NW, United States

Best Place to Stay

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel, the landscaping, the MaiTai Bar , the small lobby shops and the banana bread. This bread is outstanding in fa
Cons: There is always room for improvement but older hotels with their flaws are a part of their charm. The hotel shows a little wear in the carpets and fur
Location: The hotel is in the heart of the action.
Words to describe this hotel: lovely, elegant, quiet. The room we had was big, comfortable and quiet. The hotel is away from the frenzy and the crowds of the main street because it is surrounded by beautiful, landscaped grounds at the front of the building and a lovely , big beach at the back. We love older hotels. They have a dignity and charm not found in newer hotels. The staff answered many questions and helped print our boarding passes which was a huge help. The towels are big and fluffy and many of them are provided. We stayed five nights. We were given fresh bottled water each day and were given a coupon for baked treats from the coffee bar. We purchased breakfast with our booking which was a smart things to do. Breakfast sources are limited in the area and the breakfast on the beach patio was outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Canyon, AZ

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Staff was responsive and, in general, friendly and welcoming.
Cons: Safety concerns
Location: Close to shops and restaurants.
Nice hotel, friendly and welcoming staff. For the most part. Unfortunately, they don't stress safety since I took a huge fall in the lobby and a front desk person who I fell into just walked away without helping me. Other than that, I probably would not stay at the Royal Hawaiian again since we had no patio/ deck. Ergo, no view except of a driveway. Only in one of the hotel shops were we treated rudely, the store clerk told us not to come back until we were serious buyers. We had a treatment at the hotel spa and that was wonderful. The concierge services were the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Loved staying here. Great location great staff. We recommend the historical section the rooms were spacious and elegant. We'd love to stay again. Incredible grounds. Check in took a bit of time as there were few people at the front desk but not bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton Florida

Just because it's close to the beach doesn't mean

Posted Apr 30, 2017
They charge you $10 an hour for a beach chair you already paid a small fortune for the room as long as you don't use their beach you should be good !! They're very protective of the beach do not make you feel welcome !! Unless you hand the beach attendant $20-$50 tip then they make you feel welcome also the Mai tai bar they said they didn't have captain Morgan the first night two nights later they had it A lot of misinformed people also you don't have to pay $50 per person to take the hotel shuttle back to the airport Uber works just fine for less than $30 for three people I have stayed at this hotel a few times before this was the worst must be new management also it was a little cool at night there is no heat so not the most comfortable hotel so not very good value for your dollar !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso, texas

Joe and Dolores at the Royal Hawaii

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: its private beach
Cons: clocks in rooms. more regular tv channels.
Location: location is great. too many things to do and visit .
wow. had a great time. have visited hawaii five times and will be returning in the near future. so much to enjoy in Honolulu.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Aloha joe, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort! We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience at our hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

On the beach,friendly staff

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The hotel staff was so friendly, and so helpful. Pool and beach were great. Best part was the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Fantastic hotel. Close to beech and great shops. Looking forward to staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

This place is world-class

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Pink hotel -- It just stands out. It is on Hawaii Five-O.
Location: It is an oasis in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Honolulu.
We were there in March, 2016, and they are literally the reason that we returned to Hawaii 13 months later. They really care about having kids there, and my seven-year-old daughter wanted to stay another week (but Daddy must work at some point)....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

The hotel and service were exquisite!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location and atmosphere
Location: Right in the heart of the beach, shopping and restaurants.
The staff was most accomodating. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the service was remarkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Spectacular! !!!!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Historical yet luxurious! Hanako in concierge very helpful. Leslie front desk, Frank and Sandra security, the entire staff was exceptional! !!!!!! Can't wait to return. Only dowfall, I know for sure I paid for a joining sitting room , got there I'm in an ocean room with balcony , no extra sitting room, still a great room.