Ratings based on 1,885 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Very close to beach. Everyone was knowledgeable about activities. I greeted with smiles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great hotel - friendly staff-beach is right there -
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Wonderful iconic Waikiki hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The food is amazing. Everything we ordered was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff was wonderful.
Cons: The treatment of hotel guests when hotel events are taking place.
Location: Great nearby restaurants and shopping. The hotel is within walking distance of Diamond Head.
I had always wanted to stay at the Royal Hawaiian hotel as it is part of the history of Honolulu. I visit the island frequently and would not stay there again. The hotel has a lot of events such as weddings, corporate events and their luau. The hotel guests become second class citizens when these events are taking place. We had rented two chairs and an umbrella on the beach for Saturday then were told due to set up for an event we couldn't use them. When they were checking people in for the luau I was sitting in a rocking chair and reading. I was asked to move. I wasn't anywhere near the luau, just where people were lining up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The traditional rooms need a complete overhaul. Provide Tower guest continental breakfast free (muffin, fruit, yogurt) when there's an early flight.
Location: Shopping, Restaurants, beach, Zoo, Diamond Head. If you don't have a car, the hotel is on a bus route.
Checked into the Royal Hawaiian and the check in process was extremely slow. It took more than 30 minutes to get to the counter and there was only one person at the counter in front of us. Overall the hotel itself is not bad. It is a bit pricey since there is a price tag attached to everything. Parking is $40.00 a day. If you are staying for a week or more this could get costly. We originally checked into the traditional room. It was dark and dreary. There was a small window which overlooked the top of a tree branch. Between the branches was a small glimpse of a parking garage. There was no sun coming into the window because of the window placement, and it added to the darkness of the room. The theme of the room appeared somewhat scattered to me. Some people call it personality. I've stayed in many boutique hotels with personality. I called it hodge-podge.The bathroom was very small. There was not much room to place toiletries and as a result I left expensive make-up. After one night in the depressing room, we upgraded to the tower. The rooms in the tower were much better. Even the hallway to the rooms were lighter. The tower rooms were light and with a balcony. The bathroom was much larger. More what you would expect at a hotel of this caliber. The tower rooms provided access to a light breakfast of muffins, and yogurt, and evening snack of mostly Asian finger foods. The beach was clean. Beach chairs and umbrellas were for rent. The hotel is in a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

Great classic Hawaiian hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Very charming, beautiful.
Location: Great shopping right outside of the hotel. Tons of restaurants as well
I've been wanting to stay at this property for many years. It was very charming and had an old school charm to it. Our room and bathroom were a bit small for 4 people, 2 adult, 2 kids but were only spending 2 nights. The restaurant where they had a breakfast buffet was very nice, right on the beach. Loved it. The beach was nice to hang out on. My sons loved building sandcastles on it. Hotel was in the thick of Honolulu. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great hotel vacation get away home away from home next to the beach will for sure book it again this hotel stay thanks royal Hawaiian aloha!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach at your back door.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Beautiful view best mai tai bar! Luxury and in the center of Waikiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from baton rouge, la.

beautiful facility and close to the beach.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: the architecture
Cons: don't change a thing
Location: the dole farm, pearl harbor, north shore and the beach
the beach, the food, the pig roast, the cultural center and especially the atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Beautiful hotel, perfect location.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Beautiful hotel, perfect location. Right on the beach and at the center of all the shopping but tucked away into a little corner at the same time away from the hustle and bustle. Wonderful stay with extremely attentive staff. We stayed 5 nights and our only issue was that we found housekeeping a little lacking with providing enough amenities for our family of four. Each day they gave us three bath towels instead of four, not enough shampoo, and etc. just minor things like that but at the end of the day when you get into the shower and find shampoo missing for example, it is a little annoying to have to call and wait for it to be replenished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern State

Beautiful hotel on the beach and near shopping

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Excellent food and service; best luau on the island; polite and friendly staff