Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maui

Remodeled older hotel in good location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Convenience of breakfast in lobby. Friendly and helpful staff. Price reasonable.
Cons: Parking is very expensive so not a good place to stay if you have a car. No drop off area. Could hear street traffic even up on 8th floor.
Location: High end shops and beach nearby. Bust stop in front of hotel. Don't miss going to Tommy Bahama for nice meal and terrace bar.
The Waikiki Gateway Hotel is an old hotel that has been freshened up with new paint and tile and furniture. My room had two double beds and there was still room for a chair. I liked that there was a balcony with a city view--pleasant at night. The bathroom is small but it has a tub like old hotel always do and which I like. The linens and beds and TV are new and fresh. The room was very clean and has a refrigerator. Although there is a Nespresso maker for coffee, there is no tea. Most of the guests were Asian. They offered a "special" of free breakfast, but there is a resort fee added to the room price which has the breakfast fee imbedded in it. The breakfast was handy, though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Not for me.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Recently renovated rooms but not bathrooms. Molding dry rotting, cabinet hardware rusted and gross. Mold on ceiling. Stains on mattress with sheets so thin you can see the stains trough the sheet. Free breakfast not even edible to my group. Staff were very nice but I wish they had upgraded the bathrooms to something acceptable. Moved to different location as fast as we could make arrangements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

Great location, friendly and helpful staffs.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The hotel staffs were really friendly and helpful. They never fail to greet you whenever they see you. Additionally, the location is really great restaurants, shops and hard rock cafe only steps away. The trolley stop sign is in the front of hotel entrance so it is really easy to go around Waikiki or Ala Moana Center . The room was very clean and functional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location, helpful staff, great value

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I would stay here again. Loved the location. Great service and breakfast included
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel !

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Close to the beach. Great staff, very friendly. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Thank You!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Cons: Parking costs
Thank you for your hospitality. Wonderful view. If you could improve on the cost of parking for the guests would be much appreciated. Will come again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Close to the beach, good location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Good staffs, and breakfast, but somewhat outdated room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A reasonable choice in Waikiki.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Staff friendliness. Convenient getting to Alan Mona Centre. Clean room.
Cons: Breakfast choice. Same limited items served everyday.
Location: Location is reasonable.
A clean and comfortable hotel in Waikiki. Pink Line, which goes to Alan Mona Shopping Centre, is right at the door steps. Friendly staff. Rooms a little out-dated but clean. Given the room rates other hotels in the vicinity are charging, it is not a bad choice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Simple place near park and short walk to beach

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Overall decent rate for subpar quality. Room was stated as renovated, but bathroom was not. Slow shower drain, dated vanity, sink leaked under counter (soaked personal items unknowingly, and the king bed sounded as if it was wrapped in plastic and had a major indentation on one side. Room 1406. Stating all that, maybe some of the other rooms were fully upgraded and don't require maintenance. The breakfast buffet is a nice morning snack, but far from breakfast. However, the staff was sweet, kind, and professional
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Kai - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Ken, Thank you staying with us at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel and taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the plumbing and the bed. We have a bathroom project underway that will be completed in the near future. I sincerely apologize that you had this happen to you. We will also check and correct the bed in your room. Our beds are widely praised by our guests and we want to make sure that everybody has a comfortable sleep; I apologize that we fell short of this goal during your stay. I greatly appreciate your feedback and will use the information to continue improving the guest experience at our hotel. I am very happy to hear your praise of our staff, the Love & Aloha provided by our outstanding team is a source of great pride to me and our hotel. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback; it is truly appreciated. Love & Aloha, Kainua Hopkins Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, reasonably priced hotel. Close to everything

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Proximity to everything in Waikiki
Cons: Breakfast buffet, add jacuzzi, TLC to the small details in the rooms
Location: Everything is close by!
The staff was amazing. When they found out we were from Maui, they treated us like royalty. Kama'aina should definitely give this place a try
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Kai - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for staying with us at the Waikiki Gateway hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.