Ratings based on 1,535 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The exterior may be dated but the interior is modern. Staff is always friendly. Nice centeral location. Having a full kitchen helps with keeping the food budget down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Nice hotel next to the beach and marina. Excellent

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Wonderful experience. Very happy we stayed here. Very friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: It would be nicer if the parking (valet only) rate was a little less
Nice hotel, convenient location, reasonable rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room but couldn't sleep from the noise.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor. Nice bed, decor, and amenities, but the air conditioner was the old very noisy type. Our room was right above the boulevard and between the street noise and the air conditioner we got very little sleep and came home exhausted from our vacation. Staff was fabulous. Great location to beach and shopping. Great restaurants. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all the convenient locations

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Location is great. Room is great with kitchen.
Cons: May need a fan for the stove and a change bad matress
Location: Location is perfect for the convention center, mall, and Waikiki. They are all 10-15 min. away
The room has a mini kitchen with full appliances except the stove fan which need to be consider when cooking. Also, plastic bottles/ plastic packages should be included in the recyclables (I guess Hawaii recyclable regulations must be considered before doing this, but it seems a lot of plastic recyclables are produced even using my own portable water bottles). Also, the beds seemed to be too soft..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC Canada

Very nice experience

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, quiet. Laundry facilities on each floor.
Location: The location is right beside the marina so lots of walking. Bicycle rental place across the street. Walking distance to the Ala Moana Mall.
My husband and I stayed at this hotel Feb 13-20, 2017. We have always stayed at hotels at the other end of town by the zoo so decided to try something different. What a pleasant experience. The location gave us a whole new area to explore. The kitchenette had everything we needed to make healthy choices for breakfast and lunch (we went out for dinners). We walked to the mall twice, rented bicycles and road around Ala Moana Park and we walked every day. We had a few days with happy hour drinks at Cinnamon's. We watched the Friday night fireworks from from our lanai. The room was very quiet (unlike the other end of town where we heard back-up beepers with the trucks delivering supplies very early in the morning). Even the room beside or above and below - couldn't hear any noise. Overall, a very relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and close to everything

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Great hotel and within walking distance to main shopping, Waikiki main strip, very close to beach and bus stop in front of hotel. The kitchen and laundry facilities were very convenient especially with kids. And the staff were amazing. We'll definitely be returning soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna canada

This is a nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
An excellent location close to the beach and shopping. Restaurant on site and shopping a short walk away. Well maintained and has entertainment on site most evenings.Would recommend it to our friends and return again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from port angeles, WA

A disappointment

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: spacious, convenient room, wonderful staff.
Cons: Since the location is horrible, unless they can find a way to lift the Illikai up and move it - not much
Location: As previously noted, not an ideal location if you're looking for an island paradise. Just a noisy big city street - might as well have been in Chicago
If your idea of a tropical paradise is a noisy hotel crowded between other hotels on a busy street with cars and trucks coming and going day and night, this hotel's for you. the marina view was non-existent, but we did get a glimpse of ocean over some palm trees, but unfortunately right next to the Hawaian village road with a constant cacophony of cars, trucks, motorcycles, and for all we know - UFOs. So - no relaxing on the lanai. Nice big room with handy kitchen,but housekeeping only every fourth day. However, can't say enough about the terrific Waikiki Marina staff, who went out of their way to be kind and helpful in solving several problems which arose. Other hotels could take some hospitality training from them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Horrible experience from the beginning

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I rarely write reviews, let alone a negative one. This hotel is a timeshare property, just FYI! Be prepared to be treated like a bad tenant not as hotel guests. They will not clean your room unless you stay for certain days. One of the sheets on the bed smelled like poop. To top it off, they almost lost my luggages. I waited for more than an hour for them to locate my luggages. I was told that the bell man just piled up my belongings to another group's luggages. They had a hard time locating them. if you lose your room keys especially late at night, good luck getting a replacement. They do not have a 24 hour in-house front desk. You have to call the after hours number. On the positive side, the kitchen was clean. But that was about it!