Ratings based on 1,948 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great staff and super close to the beach.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We had an awesome time at Waikiki Resort Hotel, it was really close to the beach, stores and great dining. This is the best area to stay in if you want it all, hiking, shopping, sun and sand. We took our 9 and 6 year old for a hike up Diamond Head and they loved it, round trip walking it was only about 5 miles including the hike. So it really was close to everything you want in a family vacation. Nancy was great at the front desk when we wanted to upgrade our room to Ocean view, we had one of the best rooms in the hotel, thanks Nancy! Our only complaint would be the beds, they weren't that great and a good morning stretch was required every morning! Also the resort fee could be a little less, there really aren't that many amenities considering other hotels have the same fee and offer beach chairs and such, we only were able to get towels for the beach. All in all great hotel, friendly staff and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice reliable hotel to stay at in Waikiki

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness, laid back atmosphere
Cons: More/Better services for the resort fee
This hotel is in a great location and has very friendly staff, I would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha Marc, Thank you for your outstanding review! We are glad that you found our property's location, price, cleanliness and laid back atmosphere to your liking and we look forward to having you back again soon! Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Older hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms are very dated and there are not enough facilities
Hotel was very close to beach but was expensive for what it was. The staff were extremely nice and overall helpful but the hotel seemed quite dated. The hotel pool is small and freezing which isn't very convenient for those with small children who don't want to take on the busy beaches nearby. The hotel was overall conveniently located which is what I was looking for but a bit pricey for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha Phil, We appreciate your feedback and review! Please keep in touch to hear about some exciting room refreshes coming to our property soon which will address some of your concerns. We hope that you will join us again in the future. Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great condo

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Not impressed with the fact that the hotel staff are rude and tell the condo guest you cannot use our facilities..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We will be further investigating this internally to ensure that it does not happen again. Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The reception desk not very helpful

Posted Mar 21, 2017
They will not just take the itinerary that we give them seems like they were not pleased that it was booked through Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your wonderful 5-star review! Please be assured that we are very happy to have you staying with us no matter where you booked your stay! We will be further investigating your concerns to be sure that they are rectified in the future. Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sapporo, Japan

Convenient hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Checking in/out took no time at all...and they let us check in 2 hours early! Very friendly concierge arranged our week's activities quickly. And the activities he recommended were all great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha Will, Thank you for your amazing review! We are very happy that our staff was able to accommodate your early check-in and we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us in Waikiki! Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and attentive staff.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly and very attentive
Cons: cost of parking and resort fees could be lowered.
Location: good location. walking distance to everything
Very nice and pleasant experience. Had an issue with the room which was resolved quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your wonderful review! Our central location in the heart of Waikiki is one of our best features and we are so glad that you were able to take advantage of it! We hope that you will join us again soon! Mahalo nui loa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ANAHEIM, CA

PERFECTLY STEPS AWAY FROM THE BEACH

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel feels comfortable and clean rooms. Housekeeping is always on top of providing clean sheets and towels.
Cons: Hotel can improve on parking fee and parking spaces, which are small and you find it difficult to park especially if you have a large vehicle.
Location: Perfectly placed only steps away from the beach. Located near the Honolulu zoo and shopping centers.
Arriving to Waikiki Hotel we were greeted by friendly staff. Our room was very comfy and clean. The hotel also has a Cafe & restaurant in case you don't want to go out. Luckily there are many restaurants at walking distance (my favorite, "La Cucaracha") just around the corner. We went walking to the Honolulu zoo and took a little tour around in a trolley for only $2 per person. Parking is convenient, only the fact that it gets full at times & $25/day. Many things to do at the beach, would definitely come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha Nancy! Thank you for your incredible review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back again soon! Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incident

Posted Mar 13, 2017
House keeping threw out contents in the refrigerator which we had forgotten 30 minutes after checkout. We called notifying them of our error but contents had already been discarded. They could have saved it at least for 1-2 hours to see if we would claim it. This happened before 9 AM. They could have also called us ($60 of local Hawaiian desert that we were taking back to the states).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha, We are sorry to hear that your desserts were thrown out before you could claim them. Unfortunately, there is a lot of unclaimed leftovers left behind and there was no way for us to know if you were able to return for it. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise and hope that your stay in Waikiki was exceptional. Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
I felt the aloha spirit right as I walked into the lobby of the hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review! We are very glad to hear that you could feel our Aloha Spirit right when you walked in! Sincerely, Guest Relations Waikiki Resort Hotel