Ratings based on 1,339 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Close to beach and restaurants.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Staff was friendly, convenient location. Hall needs new carpet. Neighbors noisy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kapolei, HI.

while apartment searching

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Pro: Friendly staff, nice pool area.
Cons: see experience.
Location: DT Waikiki, accessible to high end shops and beach.
My husband and I stayed here while we looked for a home in the area. We weren't looking to spend much and chose the White Sands. Cons: We knew not expect much b/c of the price, but I at least wanted to get what I saw in the pictures online. The pictures were misleading and did not represent the room we stayed in. The kitchenette looked outdated, and the table was worn. The shower was outdated and had a piece of foil repair an issue with one of the knobs. The cabinet in the bathroom was cheap particle board and I discovered a piece of it on the floor. Also the parking was horrendous, even if you wanted to pay the overnight fee, spots weren't available. The walls were paper thin and you can hear everything going on outside and in the room next door; felt like we were there with them. We were even able to smell everything they were cooking. Through an air vent I was even able to see who was in the other room Also no wifii in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: convenience
VERY PLEASANT AND CONVENIENT CLOSE TO THE BEACH AND SHOPPING CENTERS
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Hotel workers is very friendly .For the hotel its not a five star hotel but it was comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Often at hotels the pillows are too soft and flat.
Cons: The shower stall was too small and cramped.
Location: Good location as it was within easy walking distance to beaches and a grocery store.
Rooms were not very soundproof, but fortunately people in adjoining rooms were quiet during reasonable hours. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Van

So so

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Basic amenities, some not working properly. No Wifi in the rooms. Poor coffee maker & terrible coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel: great location and "old Hawaii" feel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, cute pool area. Rooms are definitely budget so if your expectations are set accordingly this is a great lower cost hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We ended up moving to another hotel. It was dirty.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Rooms were old . Need a major renovation.
the room was dirty. The room needs a major renovation. We ended up moving to another hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Posted Feb 11, 2017
It was ok. Only complaint was that I originally chosen this goal because i thought there was guaranteed parking. All stalls were apparently reserved for.. ended up having to pay extra across the street, literally. Other than that, hotel was nice and cozy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Old and tatty

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel is in need of a major renovation
Good location and easy to find. Old and shabby building. Parking spaces left very little space between cars and were difficult to get in and out of. No wi-fi in room, only near the reception area. Carpet in room was torn and threadbare.