Ratings based on 3,269 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach

Valentines Hawaii

Posted Feb 21, 2017
It's was ok overall, but the air conditioner could of been more hot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Antonio, many thanks for your review! We appreciate you staying with us and providing your feedback. Mahalo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Estonia

Close to the beach, but noisy. Renovation needed.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Close to the shops, beach and transportation.
Cons: Renovation of the hotel and new kitchen equipment.
Location: Shopping, beach, eating, ukulele classes.
The hotel was in center of the town- traffic 24 hours around and construction works in neighborhood. . The stuff was helpful, but the hotel and rooms need renovation. The kitchen furniture was broken, the equipment old, only 2 forks, knives and spoons. The safe was not fixed, air conditioner very loud. The shampoo and soap were with a good fragrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Merle, thank you for your review! We are very glad that you were pleased with the convenience of our location. We apologize if you did not feel fully accommodated, we would have happily sent you more kitchen utensils had you requested. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close everything

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Nice staff the floor I was on had a little flood that was due to rain and it left a smell. But good other wise. Elevators take too long also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Michael, and thank you for your feedback! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our staff and your stay. We hope to see you again! Mahalo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: This hotel is very badly in need of renovation. Amenity fee should be removed. Swimming pool hours are far too short.
Location: The beach is a 10 minute easy walk . The bus stop is right outside the hotel and service is excellent. Restaurants and shops are nearby.
This hotel is reasonably priced( except for extra fees) for a decent location. The whole place is definitely in need of upgrading starting with the lobby on up. We had a kitchen which was barely adequate (2 forks, 2 plates, etc) though we did get a coffeepot on request. Appliances were at least 40 years old, chipped and ugly. Bathrooms were horrible. The safe was not attached to anything and weighed about 10 lbs. A thief's delight! The pool's hours ensured that it was unavailable to anyone who had tourist plans for the day. The Amenity Fee is a bad joke. Advertized free Wifi? No. Everything listed in that fee should be part of the room rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Roberta and thank you for your review. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed our location. We are looking forward to renovations in the future, and will follow up on all of your comments. As far as your kitchen utensils, we would have happily provided more had it been requested. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Mahalo for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only a few blocks from the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Only a few blocks from the beach and Kalakua Ave where all the shopping is done! The staff was so nice from check in to check out
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you so much for this kind and positive review! We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including our convenient location and wonderful staff! Mahalo for staying with us and providing your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

Short stay was okay.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Beds were super comfy!
Cons: Expedia's knowledge about the resort fee.
Location: Close to Waikiki and all it has to offer.
The Ambassador hotel was a pleasant enough stay. Even though the building itself looks a bit institution-like, our room was clean and comfortable. The beds were particularly comfy and we didn't have any doubts about leaving our personal items while we were gone. Check-in staff was efficient and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha T, thanks for your feedback! We are glad that you found our beds comfortable and that you had a pleasant stay! We also appreciate your kind words about our staff. Thank you for staying with us, mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The convenience.
Cons: Small little ants in the bathroom and kitchen area that we couldn't find where they are coming from. But not that many and easy to kill.
Location: Walk along Waikiki's Kalakaua Avenue and see all the stores and restaurants. Walking distance to the beach. 2 mi from Honolulu Zoo and Aquarium.
Very convenient the way this hotel is set up from check in to check out. Fast and courteous service. Good location with accessibility to every direction. Just don't go when it is traffic hour, then expect to wait an hour or more from any hotel wherever you are in Honolulu. Hope you have a great stay, take care and God bless!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel convenient. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences mentioned, we will see what we can do to address this and make changes for the future. Thank you also for your helpful tips to future travelers! Mahalo and we hope to see you return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E California

Nice hotel neat by the beach and many shopping sto

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Had a great time staff is great very helpfull with the srea
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Andrea, thanks so much for your kind words! We will make sure this message is passed along to all the staff! Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Ogden, UT

A great place for long term stays!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Location. The beach area at this end of Waikiki has one third of the people than found at the other end! It's a two block walk through a park to reach
Cons: The radios! A few years ago, the laundry room was moved into a tiny room. Now I do my laundry a few blocks away. Don't make me bring my own radio lol
Location: The hotel has Fort DeRussy--green, open space between the building and the beach. A full service grocery store is six blocks. Bus stops are everywhere
For years, I've been making a January escape from the brutal winter found on the mainland for two weeks of Hawaiian sunshine and warmth. My hotel of choice has been The Ambassador. Why do I keep returning? The cleanliness, the staff and what my specific room offers. The hotel is certainly not new and fancy, however it's as clean as any hotel you'll ever find! During the first 24 hours of my arrival, I found the shower drain to be slow and a table to be missing two bolts. Within an hour of reporting, the shower drained perfectly for the rest of my stay and the table was exchanged for a new table. A hotel doesn't know what is broken or needs fixed in every room so many guest ignore problems. Over the years, the staff has acted quickly--problems solved. I was annoyed when I arrived to find out the radio had been removed. I talked with Emelyn at the front desk and she immediately had the staff locate a radio and have it brought up to my room. Thank you Emelyn! I encourage management to keep a supply of radios handy for guests who enjoy listening to local radio while in the kitchen--that's a full kitchen folks, with a big freezer for ice cream buckets and freezing water bottles. A full kitchen with ample appliances, dishes, etc. so you do not go broke eating out during your stay and can enjoy meals on the balcony. For myself, it doesn't get any better than that! If you're a regular tourist staying in Waikiki for more than a few days, I encourage you to stay at the Ambassador.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Jay! Thank you so much for this kind review, and for returning to our hotel so often over the years! We really love getting to know our return guests. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback, and I will pass your compliment on to Emelyn! Mahalo and we hope to see you next January!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

hotel close to waikiki

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: friendly staffs and roomy. it is recommended to stay in this reasonable hotel.
Cons: the parking is expensive. the amenity and resource fee are too expensive. should change bed sheets after 4 nts. the air conditioning was noisy.
Location: walking distance to ala moana shopping center.
the exit from driveway is not good. in the morning, most of time have a big bus parked at the front entrance , waiting to pickup tour guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you so much for your review. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the staff and your room! We do apologize if you were unaware of the fees in advance, we do our best to advertise these ahead of time. In addition, to save water used in the laundry process, we change sheets upon request only... but we are happy to do so if you just let us know! We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback. Mahalo!