Ratings based on 1,377 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Good location if you want to stay if you want affordability in the area. Could improve cleanliness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Inexpensive hotel close to waikiki

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Room was clean, somewhat comfortable and we were upgraded to a half city view for the room. Service was excellent, the staff really knows what they're doing. They were helpful in letting us know how to get around. Downside was the bathroom, which was really small and has no shelves to place your amenities on. The sink was really small too. The shower was literally just a shower; small and cramped square with little room to move around. Otherwise, this was a good room to stay in for a little while and it was cheap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach but very loud area.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The hotel gave me a note letting us know that it was under construction and it would be loud, but it was beyond loud, along with that and all the other noises from the street, garbage pick up, it was very loud and noisy. I also found an upside down almost dead roach each morning when I entered the bathroom. Also the pool water was very cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Unfortunately, construction is a necessary part of improving our hotel for the future, but we would like to sincerely apologize if you felt inconvenienced by this. Regarding street noise, it is out of our control for the most part and pretty consistent throughout the Waikiki area, seeing as it is a section of a large city. Again, however, we do apologize that this affected your stay. We try our best to provide our guests with the best value for our very competitive rates! Mahalo for staying with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Ambassador

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Our experience staying at the ambassador was lovely! Staff constantly had great and positive attitudes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you so much for this review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff. Mahalo and we hope to see you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

hotel is closed to the beach, the only good thing

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: closed to the beach
Cons: Need remodeling. You cannot stay on balcony because it has nothing...
The kitchen has very few amenities. They overcharged me for the extra person without letting me know. I was told $20-$30 per night for extra person but charged me $50 something per night…
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Jackie, mahalo for your feedback. We are happy to know that you were pleased with our location close to the beach. We will follow up on all of your comments and appreciate that you took the time to let us know. We sincerely apologize if you felt inconvenienced during your stay. The extra person is, in fact, $30 per night. You may be thinking $50 because there is also the amenity fee of $20 per night. If you give me a call at the hotel, I would be happy to review your charges! Mahalo.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from key west

Don't stay here

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Old, run down hotel that charges an extra $20 a day fee. The hallway smells like pee, my shower was broken, hotel sayed theyed fix it, they didn't!! Would not move me either, walls, appliances carpet all had holes, with bugs coming out of them. When checking out you will have to wait because everyone has several complaits about there stay. If this hotel had to rely on repeat business they would be out of business!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha wes, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you experienced. We will follow up directly on all of your feedback. We appreciate hearing from you. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
I consider area the beginning of Waikiki. The bus stop right outside the doorway. The Coffee Bean Shop next door, The Whaler Convenient Store outside. One block up the street is 7-11 store, Waikiki Burger Restaurant. Up the street is Dean & Deluca Cafe. Three blocks up on Lewers Street would lead you to the beach (walking distance) you will come across Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the location tips for future guests! Mahalo for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Parking !!! No Bargain....

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Rooms were spacious!
Cons: See above
When we arrived, they told us there was no parking available. They sent us to a different lot somewhere else. After driving there, we were told that that lot was full too. So we had to drive to another lot and pay $30.00 to park overnight.. The lopt was a 15 minute walk from the Hotel in the rain. What a drag. 15 min each way every time we needed to go out. On top of this, when we checked in they hit us with a mandatory $20.00 accomidations fee. The room didn't even have complimentary tea or coffee and only two towels for four registered guests. Come on Expedia!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for your review. We do apologize for the inconvenience with parking. Unfortunately, parking is scarce and expensive everywhere in Waikiki. We do our best to help accommodate our guests and are sorry that you felt displaced. In addition, the amenity fee is advertised ahead of time, when you are making the reservation on Expedia as well as when you receive your confirmation. Again, we apologize if you weren't aware in advance, but we do our best to advertise this. We would have been happy to provide more towels or anything else that you needed in the room had you called or alerted us at the front desk. We appreciate hearing from you and will follow up on all of your feedback. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good for money

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Location: Within a walking distance to everything.
I had the run of the house, and my experience may not be fair to the hotel. I had a triple to myself. Naturally the room was not meant for a single person. The building has a typical design of old medium sized independent hotels: an open corridor on one side and the rooms on the other. The location is convenient = it is noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Neko, and thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with the location and the rates. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again! Mahalo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ma

Efficient for a tight budget vacation bud

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Staff helpfulness, courtesy and friendliness. I was traveling alone and it was comforting.
Cons: The room had a shower only, the floor tiles in the shower needed to be replaced. Also chair had a big burn hole in it, which staff replaced with a
convenient tours pricy, when one tour was not available at this hotel concierge, was told nowhere else had it, but i went to another hotel closeby and was able to get a seat on the tour also amazingly there was a non advertised $20 dollar per day cost to use the Business Center for WIFI etc. which i had use once thinking it was free, but the hotel had charged me for the 5 days i was a guest as well as and extra 5 days security. In all it was about 250 approximately that they had the privilege of charging my card which was only given to the agency Expedia that i booked. How does that happen? who gave them that right. Was not informed at check in of this extra cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha S, thank you for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with our friendly staff, and that they were helpful to you! We will follow up on your feedback. We do actually advertise the $20 amenity fee on all of our sales channels to the best of our abilities, it would have been present when you made the booking as well as in your confirmation email. In addition, the security deposit of $100 is a fixed amount, and does not vary based on the amount of days. This is just a hold that is returned to you, so long as their are no damages to the room. We also do not get your credit card information from Expedia, we swiped it at check-in, and would have notified you of the hold we were putting on. However, we would be happy to follow up on this if you reach out to us! I hope that this explanation helps, we appreciate you staying with us as well as taking the time to leave your feedback! Mahalo.