Ratings based on 3,038 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and clean

Posted Aug 25, 2016
One mile away from the beach. Very clean. The price is very reasonable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Good hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
This was a good hotel, I wouldn't say amazing or anything. The pool was small buy it is close to the beach and other things to do.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

HORRIBLE

Posted Aug 24, 2016
When I arrived at tge hotel, there was 2 guys right outside the Main Entry, smoking a Crack Pipe! Got into my room and the 1950's screamed that they wanted their room back. Paint peeling off the walls, the exhaust vent in the bathroom and at the oven were both gross. Shower was tiny and dingy! Not a 3 star Hotel by any stretch! When leaving in the morning, there were Dumpster Divers in every dumpster on the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

ワイキキの中心街まで徒歩ですぐ、リーズナブルなホテル

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: 宿泊費用。部屋の清潔さ。
Cons: エアコン エレベーター
Location: ホテルの玄関横にコーヒーショップ、その隣にコンビニ、少し先にABCマートとちょっとした買い物にはとても便利です。ワイキキの中心街までも徒歩で5~10分くらいで夜遅くまでワイキキ中心街で買い物をして徒歩で帰ってきても安全でした。トローリー乗り場も近くアラモアナセンターまでも簡単に行くことができます。
ホテルの外観は少し古い感じがしましたが、部屋の清掃は行き届いていて快適に宿泊することができました。 エアコンの音が少しうるさく気になりましたが寝るときはエアコンを切っていてもよいくらいだったの支障はありませんでした。エレベータが古くガタガタいうので高層階の場合は恐怖に思うかもしれません。低層階に宿泊したので景色は悪かったですが、寝に帰るだけだったので気になりませんでした。宿泊費用を抑えたい方にはおすすめです。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Cons: エレベーターは ガタガタ揺れが酷くて 乗るのが、怖いですね。 決して 安全性は確保されているとは思えません。
Location: 部屋のロケーションは オーシャンビュー スイートでしたから 眺望は素晴らしいです。
施設が古くて、決してお勧めは出来ませんね。 日本語が話せるスタッフは居ません 滞在中 誤報の火災警報が有り 滞在者は 高層階から階段で避難 誤報について、スタッフからの 報告も無く 最悪です。 これが、アメリカンなのかなぁ⁇
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not nice

Posted Aug 21, 2016
It really needs to be updated . Should not be a 3 star more like a 1
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for your feedback. We will take it into consideration, mahalo!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

Posted Aug 20, 2016
ホテルスタッフは、とてもフレンドリーでした。 しかし、掃除は行き届いていましたが、建物が古く、部屋に虫が大量に発生していた為、とても気分が悪かったです。空室がなかった為、部屋を変えてもらうことも出来ず、殺虫剤を撒いて掃除をし直してもらいましたが、効果はありませんでした。 また、宿泊費とは別に、一日20ドルのアメニティー費を請求されるため、結果高くつきました。
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your feedback, we will take it all into consideration and try to adjust any issues in the future. We hope you had a great stay in Hawaii. Mahalo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

Posted Aug 20, 2016
シャワー室 の排水詰まり、空調機器運転時の騒音がうるさくて眠れない、洗面台もいまいち、バルコニーは不潔で 上の階から水がボタボタ落ちてくる!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review- we will take all your feedback into consideration. Mahalo.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Clean. Offered towels.
Cons: Change the filters on the water. Get rid of those dirty bladder pouches. Invest in some water bottles. The water was absolutely horrible.
Some attendants are nice. Others are rude and discriminatory. The front desk lady made a fuss about rooms not ready and demanded we pay more. We waited over an hour. Another attendant kindly walked up to us and whispered that our room was ready by 12PM and that she'll take us up there. The lower floors are horrible. There are buses, garbage trucks, and attendants moving around all night. Drunken men and flirty hotel attendants. Try to stay on a higher floor. I was told if I wanted to stay higher than the second floor, I would have to pay an extra $15 per night. Pay a little more and stay somewhere a little nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha V, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the hotel cleanliness. The water pouches that we give our guests are all brand new, straight from the package, and the water from our water stations is purified. We apologize for any inconveniences. Our check-in time is 3PM and while we try to accommodate all guests' needs, we can't always allow for early check-ins. Again, please accept our apologies. We hope you had a great trip to Hawaii, mahalo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CALIFORNIA

No muy serca , esta ha cinco bloques no fuimos.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: NO MUCHO MUY CARO,APARTE NO HAY AGUASCALIENTES POTABLE NI HIELO PARA TOMAR,AGUA ETC.
Cons: PONER AGUA EN LOS CUARTOS Y MAQUINAS QUE HACEN HIELO NO TIENEN ,Y QUE HAGAN VARIAS REPARACIONES ESTA UN POCO VIEJO Y CARO
Location: SI ESTA CERCA DE LOS CENTROS COMERCIALES,,PERO EL PROBLEMA ES LOS PARQUEADEROS,ME GASTE COMO MAS DE $ 110.00 DOLARES EN CUATRO DIAS ,POR PARQUEAR MI C
SI HAY PARQUEADERO Y TIENES QUE PAGAR $ 25,00 DLS POR DIA ,TUBE QUE PARQUEAR MI CARRO HA 4 BLOQUES Y PAGAR $ 24,00 DLS POR DIA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Dancelina, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the amenities, such as our purified water station. As far as repairs, we are actually looking forward to renovations in the near future! We apologize for any inconveniences with the parking situation, unfortunately parking is scarce here in Waikiki, but we do what we can! We hope you enjoyed your stay overall, and we hope to see you again! Mahalo.