Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff is amazing!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Got more than expected from this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Affordable hotel. It is a tad off the Main Street which is nice, but you're still able to walk around if you want to do a bit of shopping. There is a security guard at the desk 24/7. There is a daily parking fee, amenity fee and some other fee that isn't covered by Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SFO

Basic Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Total remodel
Location: okay location walkable to Waikiki
A little old and used. Windows leaked high pressure air noise constantly. Shower old, too low, water pressure weak.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Never Again

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Having lobby staff to assist upon arrival would be nice.
Location: The hotel was located conveniently in central Waikiki next to the Ala Wai Canal.
Upon arrival, I discovered there was no assistance available with bags. This made check-in and getting up to my room difficult as I am a disabled person. The security guard was guarding the one available luggage carrier and I had to give him my drivers license while getting my possessions up to the room in order to assure the carrier's return. It was at check-in that I learned this is both a hotel (The Aqua Skyline) and a condotel (Island Colony). Entry into the elevator lobby area required a room card and then you had to flash it a second time to call an elevator. Twice during my stay I had to get new room cards because their magnetic strips "died." The room had two queen size beds and was generally very tight. The kitchenette had a stovetop and microwave but I had expected a larger refrigerator than what was offered. Unable to refrigerate anything of any size other that a half gallon of milk on the door. Everything else had to small in order to fit inside it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: close to beach
Cons: rooms need to be updated
Location: the beach shopping and places to eat
we where put in a small room for four people so we talked them and they did put us in a bigger room which was better for us all but it has changed so much since I was there in 2003 my stay was ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Only 10 minute walk to beach Hotel staff very helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time in the city

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: VIEW, VIEW, VIEW and clean!
Cons: security was just typical... could be far more friendly and helpful. Not bad, but just typical.
Location: walk to Waikiki was easy and fun!
Had a great stay at the Colony at the end of a trip having spent the rest at a condo... WONDERFUL view and nicely appointed room, bonus to have laundry so available! Amazing sundeck and pool, much enjoyed by our family, especially evenings. Simple proximity to Waikiki, and nice to take evening walks in town. Parking was odd and a hassle with parking garage service not connected to hotel, but it worked ok. Would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views and comfortable stay

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Great location close to the beach and Waikiki strip. If renting a car be prepared for $25/day parking fee and riding the elevator a lot. One elevator for parking and another set to get up to room. Nice facilities and room was comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hi

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: I liked that they had an area where you can grill and the pool is open late. Its also close to everything.
Location: Within walking distance of lots of nightlife.
The hotel looks a lot better in the pictures but I should have known I'd never find a quality hotel for this price. Everything looks really cheap. This is one step above a motel. You wont find any great views here. Just a noisy street outside. The halls are depressing with dim flickering lights and a musty smell. The bathroom is tiny. If you're just looking for a cheap place to lay your head then this place is okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Nice hotel with a good view

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Location - I like this hotel because it is situated in a busy area where things we need are very close.
Cons: Hanger rod can be adjusted to accommodate the length of hanger as the hanger hits the inner wall when you hang clothes. No clock. No kettle.
Location: Excellent location for shopping; not too far from the beach; bus stops nearby; food stores.
Met friendly and helpful staff. We have been upgraded to a one-bedroom unit...a very nice room indeed. Balcony overlooks Ala Wai Blvd. and the waterway beside it. I liked the high speed elevators. Didn't wait very long in spite of being one of the tallest buildings in the area.