Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location makes up for the downside

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The lovely view from the balcony, and th studios are really quite spacious.
Cons: Noisy!! And the frosted glass windows on the entrance door let far too much light in at night. The incessant hum of traffic and AC units!
Location: Close to everything except for a pool.
Where else can one be beachfront and not pay a king's ransom? It is, of course a well-maintained older building that lacks a pool, and the individual units vary quite a bit with respect to amenities and upkeep, so is it worth it?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Kamakani, Hotel Management
Aloha - Thank you for taking the time to review the Castle Waikiki Shore. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. But next time, if you have a hard time sleeping because of the traffic noise, let us know right away and we are happy to move your room. We look forward to your next visit. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great position, right on the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Position, views, room set up
We had a terrific week here. Easy to walk into central Waikiki either by road or by beach. The position was fantastic, with trolley and bus stops nearby for heading farther afield.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Kamakani, Hotel Management
Aloha - Thank you for your kind words. There are times when we all need a "pat on the back" to know that we are achieving our guest's expectations. That does not mean we will stop trying to improve our guest's experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, United States of America

Posted Nov 21, 2016
On beach and park, near shopping and restaurant, excellent location. Helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Kamakani, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. It helps to know that we are doing a good job at making your stay GREAT!! Mele Kalikimaka Hau'oli Makahiki Hou
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Remember in addition you pay parking of 30 a day and 100 dollar cleaning fee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Just a place to sleep next to the beach...

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: The location is great as it is on the beach. There are a lot of restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance.
The photos and ratings were enough to get me to book. The room size and amenities were decent and good for a short stay. However, the specific room we got (214) was dated (mid 90's cabinets and counters) and the pull out couch was definitely not comfortable. That was fine in our minds, but the tile floor was pretty dirty (made our feet dirty) and there was a layer of dust on the refrigerator which made us think they didn't clean the floor with a good mopping and dust regularly. Also, while the staff was helpful and very friendly, they didn't tell us at check-in that they would be doing some renovation work (electrical) and blocking half the garage door with a generator (which made getting in and out somewhat dicey). We would probably have felt better if we got a room with the newer décor as shown in a lot of the photos, but the slightly old décor and dusty condition of some areas were a downer. I'd probably recommend this place to friends that are of the "rough and tumble" and "minimalist" personality, but this would not be a place for a more "sophisticated" traveler looking for a getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chiba

Nice ocean view and convenient location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
It is on-the beach condo and we could enjoy the beautiful ocean view and fireworks at HIlton on Saturday evening from the room. Very close to restaurants and shopping area. Better to request high floors when you make booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Friendly

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: All good
Location: Nice beach area with easy access. Fun bars in beach nearby. Variety of activities for all ages
Great amenities with fabulous views. Very thorough housekeeping
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Nice hotel close to beach clean

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Had some tv. Trouble they tried to resolve couldn't so they move us to a new room so they took care of us . Would use them again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the Waikiki Beach. Perfect.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Wonderful. Very relaxing. Great walking to restaurants and the Royal Hawaiian Mall. Fantastic. Waikiki beach is beautiful. Lots of activity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Great location. Recently updated.

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Was a great location and the room was great also. The only problem was that there was only one elevator working while we were there, which made for long waits as not only the guests, but the staff and the construction works all had to use the same one. This is the third time we have stayed there because in is on the beach and over looks the ocean and the park; so it is very peaceful. Also is in walking distance of everything.