Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, reasonable rate

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Location and the fruit infused water and popcorn in lobby.
Cons: The bathroom cabinets could use a better cleaning. They were fairly dusty.
Location: Everything was convenient from shopping malls to beach. Only a 5 minute walk to everything.
When I first walked into my hotel room I was a bit taken back that it didn't look as nice as the pictures on their site. However, the place grew on me. The location was great, the staff were friendly and helpful and the view of the canal was nice in the mornings. Lodging in Waikiki is fairly pricey so in the end I was satisfied with my choice in staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Second time staying here

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Quick check in, laid back staff, 24h coffee, LOCATION- bus to anywhere at end of the block, always bright and clean. Nestled amongst shops/restaurants
Cons: Bundle in the resort fee with your pricing- it's not like its optional and it just irritates travellers who don't realize.
Location: walk the canal, diamond head hike (11km/3 hours from hotel front door), walk to waikiki beach 10-15 minutes, bus to kailua beach park (45mins).
We booked Coconut hotel for our final evening in Hawaii (we had stayed in a 2 bdrm rental since we had a 3rd party travelling with us)- because of late flight departure time. My husband and I had stayed at Coconut 1 year previously and thought it was perfect in terms of value. There were some nice main lobby renovations since last year and the room was as expected. The resort fee is new this year- $20 per accommodation-annoying, but all hotels in Hawaii are doing this. I'm not sure why they all aren't forced to just reflect the fee in their pricing upfront to expedite pricing comparisons? Anyway, just something to be aware of as some are per person, some per accommodation. The desk staff were friendly and accommodating, as they were last trip. They have a beverage station in the lobby stocked with drip coffee, decaf, tea, and juice- nice touch to cut down on some expense as we are big coffee drinkers! This place isn't the Sheraton, but the beds and rooms are comfortable, good TV, bright white clean bathroom, good balcony. The road noise mentioned in other reviews is legit, but I've learned is common amongst many Waikiki hotels/rentals so take it with a grain of salt and pack ear plugs if need be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

A nice hotel but noisy at night

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Overall this was a fine choice for the area but we had a few complaints. The largest issue was that the road traffic was very noisy at night; your could hear revving cars and trash trucks at all hours of the early morning (e.g., 4am). Also we had booked a mountain view and while they couldn't honor that, they did move us to a larger suite with two toilets, which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

A Pleasant Surprise; A Quiet Oasis

Posted Jan 16, 2017
After exploring the Waikiki beaches, and the business and charms of its streets and shops, it was always a pleasure to return to the refuge of the Coconut Waikiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Great little hotel in the heart of Waikiki.. upgraded to a suite on check-in and couldn't have been more pleased!! The building is not new but rooms are renovated & lobby area is lovely so you'll notice little things in the room that might seperate it from a brand new complex, but this wasn't an issue for us. All the staff we interacted with were great.. buffet breakfast could use with some fruit and the hard boiled eggs disappear rather quickly but, again, not breaking points for us. Resort fee is not ideal but it's Waikiki and this is the norm for this area so I wasn't really surprised by it. All in all, if its available my next trip to Honolulu, I wouldn't mind to stay at Coconut Waikiki again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, CA

Great location - very nice hotel.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Good location and awesomely friendly staff.
Location: Just a few blocks from Waikiki Beach - lots of shopping and restaurants and very happening!
Got an upgrade to our room which was very nice. Very spacious and an extra bathroom to boot! All staff were super friendly and helpful, especially the front desk and valet. Breakfast staff were troopers considering how busy they were during that time. Room could have been kept a little tidier in terms of dusting, etc. but we were there a whole week. Thanks Coconut Waikiki!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very nice boutique style hotel.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Big room, clean and comfortable. Very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Waikiki bargain

Posted Jan 5, 2017
We stayed at Coconut Waikiki in October 2016. It was a bargain for a central Waikiki hotel, especially considering that a continental breakfast and internet were included and the hotel has a modern look. Other than a small fitness room, there were no amenities to speak of (the pool is too small to be useable), but that hardly matters since everything you could want is nearby. We really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Nice hotel, staff is excellent, room very clean but noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
nice staff and convenient location to Waikiki but the window is not good for preventing sound