Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The pool accommodations were great. Hotel service best I have ever experienced
Cons: Needs a Jacuzzi spa
Location: walkable shopping, restaurants and other major hotels. located right on the beach
Got personal guide of hotel and room upon check in. Refrigerator in room comes with free water replaced daily. Very clean room with exceptional service and attention to detail. A small gift/memento was left on our bed each night. The pool area had very nice accommodations with table/chairs/umbrellas between many of the chaise lounges which worked well for food service. Free water and sunscreen also provided. We ate at both Orchids and House without a Key and enjoyed the food, service and amazing views of the sunset. Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Service

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Perfect service. We will be back. We love the Japanese hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Petersburg, FL

Will return every year for ever!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Was pleasantly surprised of the professionalism by all staff members. I asked for a fan and received one. Asked for a refrigerator and received one. They supplied me with unlimited bottles of water, even when I used my rental car. Housekeeping arrived in the morning to clean room and also came in the evening to prepare your bedding for sleep, replenish your towels and of course more bottled water and anything else you needed.They even laid a towel beside your bed for your feet! My wife and I were treated like a King and Queen. If you want to get spoiled then this is the place. Make sure you include breakfast with your hotel stay.Your breakfast table has a breathless Pacific ocean view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel in a perfect position.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
From the attentive staff to the beautiful hotel facilities in a perfect position we loved our stay and will certainly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, United States of America

Hawaii getaway, 5 Star style

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and professional staff. The "House Without a Key" breakfast was awesome. Delicious! Beautiful outdoor breakfast right on the water.
Cons: The refrigerators in room are a tad small. No shuttle to or from airport. They offer a limo at $$$. I wanted to swim at night but the pool closed.
Location: It's next door to the Outrigger Hotel. Book all your activity there at the concierge ( for cheaper prices and more choices).
This was my 1st time to Hawaii and this hotel made it amazing. The staff is professional, humble and kind. I would normally never pay this much for a hotel room but I did because my best friend said it was a "must see". He was 100% correct. They brought fresh bottles of water each day with fresh fruit. I normally work 7 days per week ( in the medical field) and I felt rejuvenated by my ocean view and the perfect weather. The housekeepers earned every time I offered even though they tried to refuse. I can honestly say that this is my hotel anytime I go to Hawaii again and I've already booked for next year. It's pricey but worth every penny in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Anniversary magic

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Being treated as special.
Location: You are on Wakiki beach and everything that goes near there and on there.
For a first time visit for 30th anniversary this created an extraordinary time that was beyond memorable. Service was incredible and the weather was Hawaii best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Terrific hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Every member of the staff seemed like they couldn't do enough for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Room, pool, ocean, gym, location, office services, staff
Cons: The private beach is small and the ground is rocky. There is a wall in the ocean. The price is high.
Location: It is right in the middle of Waikiki. There are restaurants and shops. There is a good theater show and lu al nearby. One can hike diamond head.
The room was excellent with a view of the ocean and pool. The facilities were great. Very relaxing, but expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great staff and location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Location is excellent
Very friendly and wonderful location. Room was comfortable and clean. Everyone seemed concerned about our stay to make it positive and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, CA

Paradise in Paradise

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: There was so much to like - The House Without a Key, the pool area, the room's decor and cleanliness, the staff, the food, pretty much everything!
Cons: I can't think of anything I didn't like about this hotel, other than leaving it.
Location: There is a lot to do nearby - walk to shopping, dining, or the beach. A short drive will take you to other beaches or tourist spots.
Honolulu has become so crowded and busy, but the Halekulani is an oasis of calm on Waikiki beach. The hotel's location is central to all the shops and restaurants in the area and right on the beach, even if it is only a small sliver of beach directly in front of the hotel. Having a Mai Tai at the hotel's indoor/outdoor restaurant, The House Without a Key, while the sun is setting over the ocean and the hula dancer gracefully sways to the Hawaiian music played by the three piece band is an experience not to be missed. The staff is friendly and professional and always greeted us by name and with a smile. Our room had a lovely view and was immaculate and well-appointed. My husband and I loved the nightly turn-down service with a little gift left on our bed and the room done up "just so" after a day out sight seeing or lounging by the beautiful pool or on a breathtaking beach near by. It is an expensive hotel, but worth it. We truly were sorry to leave and hope to return.