Ratings based on 1,156 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hawaiian Monarch for the budget traveller

Posted Oct 26, 2016
The Hawaiin Monarch is recommended for the budget traveller. Small items like bottled water and juices (bought from the nearby 7-eleven and ABC convenience stores) can be stocked in the mini-fridge. The number 2 and 4 buses are close to the hotel. Boarding passes can be printed in the room near the front desk (the browser's history should be cleared when finished). It is a short leisurely walk from the hotel to restaurants on Kalakaua. A Chinese deli serving steamed and baked buns is located on the Don Quixote market and food stall complex and is a 20 minute walk from the hotel. (A short walk from the deli is Ala Moana mall and Walmart).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and affordable.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Access, price, and location
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Stores are super close and I like it a lot.
Just need a room to sleep for the night. This hotel is reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive and comfortable hotel, freindly staff

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Comforable hotel, quite rooms, and friendly staff
Cons: Internet service was only availabe in lobby and resterunt.
Location: Just across river from convention center, close to resteraunts and shops and local bus service
Excelent views of honolulu and overal basic but comforable hotel, quite rooms, and also had a laundry facility on 5th floor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: It's a long way from the beach...but that's probably why their rates are reasonable.
Needs a little upgrading.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do your research.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi service, cleanliness, updates to rooms, WINDOWS
Booked this hotel for a vacation on a budget. I honestly feel like i didn't get what i paid for. The 'standard' room with a double bed was TINY with a very awkward set up. Very hard to navigate. In addition to that, the room is VERY DATED. Think early 90's with wicker furniture. In fact, I'm sure the ac was from that era. It was loud,clanky and never wanted to stay on. We thought "oh, no big deal, we can open a window." NOPE, because they bolted them closed. They advertise having wifi but, don't assume it reaches your room. It doesn't. You can only use it in the lobby, their closet sized "business center" or in the filthy laundry room. Speaking of laundry room, don't bother. Not only is the state of the laundry room worrisome, the machines are filthy and will leave your clothes smelling. Be careful not to bring any pests with you. We saw a rather large cockroach running along the walls and floor. They do have a small pool that i cant review cause i only saw it. A fitness room that they charge you for the key to (then why charge an amenities fee?). Overall, i cant recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for the price

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff was nice
Cons: Smell
Location: Beach is close.
Staff was nice. Just be aware no WIFI in the room . Walking distance to the beach. This is an old hotel so don't expect too much. The price is cheap compared to the other hotels in the area. Good hotel if you don't plan on staying in it but to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staffs are not nice!! The hotel looks dirty

Posted Sep 12, 2016
It staffs not nice!! The plumbing was broken, not water at the restroom...! The room looks dirty!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Not bad for the price and easy to get to the airport

Good location for a decent price.

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is budget and carpet needs replacing but good beds and aircon was all we needed. Did heaps of walking. Parks close by and Duke Kahanamoku lagoon/beach not far away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

The hotel position is to far to walk to the beach.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The view over the canal.
Cons: Management should be "jacked up" to address customer concerns and general cleanliness of rooms.
Location: There is an excellent steakhouse just around the corner.
When I turned the TV on first day, I could not access the channel programming. I asked the front desk for help and received a " I don't know answer". On the second day, still the same answer. I was shocked that management could not address such a simple concern. On the floor of the bathroom, we found long black hairs on twice, clearly indicating that it was not cleaned properly!.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The service was generally sub-par. One of the parking attendants was consistently rude, and the front desk staff were in no rush to come to the desk when I showed up and no one was there. My room had carpet stains, a cockroach dried on the wall, and a broken fluorescent bulb (which is both annoying and poisonous). The staff was misleading about what was covered in the resort fee, saying that it would include access to laundry, but not that you still have to pay for laundry separately, and that wifi is only available in a few locations. The pool and hot tub were great, and the staff offered suggestions for local attractions.