Ratings based on 1,082 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Nice accommodations but lacking in honesty.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The bed was excellent as was the restaurant.
Cons: Try telling the truth about the daily rate instead of trying to hide it via a "Resort Fee". Don't lie to guests to force them to use valet parking.
Location: On the beach. Across the street from a park. Easy drive to shopping. Quiet area, felt safe.
Checked in around midnight. Learned about the "Resort Fee" at check in. The fact that the hotel advertises rooms for $35 less than the actual per night cost shows a serious lack of honesty. Then the night clerk told me it cost and additional $30 to park in the hotel lot. He said if I parked on the street the car would be towed if it was not moved by 7:00AM. The fact is that there is adequate metered parking on the street and the meters only require payment between 10:00 AM and 6:00 PM. The desk clerk clearly lied to us to make us utilize their outrageously expensive valet parking. The beds were comfortable. The hotel was quiet. The restaurant was excellent; but nothing makes up for being lied to and ripped off on the price. I would NOT recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, on the beach, quiet convenient area.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Good views. Nice small bar, reasonable happy hour and for walk-in breakfast. Free beach mat and towels. Laundry room. Only has valet parking $$.
Cons: Minor interior refresh in needed.
Location: Diamond Head, Aquarium, Zoo, Large Parks close; Walk to Waikiki & Shopping. Two restaurants at hotel, both good; one a very traditional Japanese type.
Causal, comfortable hotel with modern accommodations and relaxed environment. Mid-century classic tropical feel hotel with some varying degrees of renovations. Hotel is geared to Japanese travelers and small families but also other international and mainland visitors. Not a kid-friendly. No pool or play area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Love the location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We love that it's set away from the main (busy) Waikiki strip. It's quiet when we want quiet, yet only a ten minute walk to the main strip. Best of both worlds. Staff is always awesome, rooms & hotel spotless. We've stayed here three times & my only disappointment is this last time- didn't like the pillows at all (no support) and woke up stiff most mornings. Otherwise- still my favourite Waikiki hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Painesville, Ohio

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Has it's own beach so not real crowded, room was a little small but we had a patio overlooking the ocean and slept with the patio doors open all night to listen to the surf. There was no lounge chairs on beach just the the little beach chairs available st front desk and no beachside bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Wonderful little hotel on the beach!

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, location, amenities, location, size, location.
Cons: Our room was quite small, perfect for a queen bed, but with a king sized bed we were a little cramped.
Location: The restaurant/bar/lounge was welcoming and exactly what we wanted, bus service and shuttles plus within walking distance of everything!
We read about this hotel in Sunset magazine; the article talked about the personality of the hotel, friendliness of staff, location AWAY from the hustle of Waikiki Beach. It was everything and more...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spot on San Souci Beach

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Lovely staff restaurants and sunset bar surrounded by huge park in quiet area of Oahu looking back at the chaos of Waikiki Ocean front suites are large with terrific views And better prices than down the beach. Area enjoyable quiet yet close to anything you want to do- no pool but terrific beach out front w/ some snorkeling right off shore!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shreveport LA

Just off Waikiki

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent if you want to be away from the crowds of Waikiki. Barefoot Beach Cafe is a must.
Location: You're not in the midst of Waikiki, yet a short walk and you're there. Restaurants, parks, landmarks, and shopping are all nearby.
Loved our stay here. The staff in the hotel, as well as the staff in the hotel restaurants, were friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Our room was ocean front, with a beautiful beach that was not too crowded; and views of the water, and also Waikiki and Honolulu were breathtaking. Room service is available. The Hau Tree Lanai is perfect for special occasions, yet not too formal for enjoying ocean-front dining anytime. Miyako served delicious Japanese cuisine beautifully presented, with the backdrop of an ocean view. And the Sunset Lanai Lounge is the perfect downtime spot to enjoy the sunset.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beach location.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: It's right on the beach, though they provide no beach amenities.
Cons: It is very dated. The rooms could use an upgrade, and soundproofing. No gym, or other amenities and it's a long walk to where the real action is.
Location: Close to the zoo, the aquarium, Queen Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head.
The staff were the highlight of our stay. They were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is quite dated and could use a facelift, as well as add more included amenities. It's location right on the beach is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Small room, great view. Away from the hustle of Waikiki but a short 5 minute walk away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Can't wait to stay here again! Away from the hectic Waikiki scene, the New Otani is the Oahu I love.