Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Week at the New Otani Kaimana.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel is literally right on the beach. Furthermore, the beach is very well maintained and quiet. The hotel restaurant and lounge are great.
Cons: If anything, maybe the hotel could keep the bar\lounge area open a bit longer. It usually closed before 10 pm, so maybe another hour for a nightcap.
Location: Great location. We walked to everything! The boardwalk and park path get you into the luxury row part of Waikiki Beach in about 20 minutes.
We had a very pleasant experience at the New Otani Kaimana Hotel. It has recently bee remodeled and the overall look and feel is quaint and cozy. Yes, it is an older hotel but the reason one would choose to stay at the Kaimana is the location and excellent, friendly customer service of hotel staff. Ocean view and view of Diamond Head is fabulous!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pickering, ON, Canada

Beautiful view, friendliest staff, very clean

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel has spectacular views. Right on private beach but close to downtown/Waikiki (20 min stroll along beach) without being in middle of noise.
Cons: Atrium/common area is a little dated looking but very clean. A fresh water pool would be great but the ocean is right there.
Location: Everything is close: beach is 30 seconds away, Aquarium and Zoo are each about 5 minutes away, Diamond Head a short bus ride, shopping ~20 mins.
Best vacation ever! The view was spectacular from our balcony and it was a full ocean, beach, and sunset view. The Hau Tree restaurant had great food and service...a little pricey but it was worth it. All staff were so friendly and helpful--front desk, bellman, valet, and housekeeping. We felt sad to leave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best swimming beach in the area.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Staff is very nice. The hotel is right on a very nice beach for swimming snorkeling and advanced paddle boarding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC Canada

Quiet Smaller Boutique Hotel on the Beach

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location, views, beach, park, relaxed quiet atmosphere, Friendly staff
Cons: Continue with upgrades to décor and building to insure the hotel retains its character while remaining fresh
Location: Unless you are a comfortable walker, you will need transportation as the hotel is on the outskirts of the main Waikiki area. (15-20 Min walk)
The Hotel rooms have probably some of the best views of Waikiki beach with a sweeping vantage point that sits nestled predominately under Diamond Head when viewed from any where else on Waikiki. The lifeguard attended beach in front of the hotel is a great place to swim or relax or the adjacent park with its tree lined avenue heading to the heart of the Waikiki is wonderful for cool walks when temperatures climb. There is fine dining on the premises with a very helpful staff who strive to insure guests are well looked after. While some of the larger hotels may have more amenities, the location and relaxed atmosphere set this hotel apart.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 京都大原

ホノルル空港から約20分おきの公共のバスで乗り換えなしで行ける。ホテル街を過ぎカピオラニ公園3個目。

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: 無駄なサービス皆無。風通し良好。山・海・健康的。
街はずれでしづか、スタッフは親切丁寧快活。施設はシンプル、テレビ受像機は最新。64.1CH  TVJAPAN その他選局対象は充実、ドアには毎朝新聞、朝の食事含め、半ビジネスにも向いている。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Nice quiet spot, great beach and view

Posted Apr 14, 2016
This hotel is perfectly fine - it's clean, my room was recently redecorated so it was tasteful and the bathroom was nice. Small, but since I stayed there by myself it was fine. I wouldn't want to try and share that room with spouse + two kids though. The biggest drawback was that I didn't realize until I got there that the hotel has no pool. It's right on the beach but if you are planning to swim in chlorine, you'll be out of luck.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Excellent service and very well trained staff in customer service. Our check out was extended to 2:00 PM. Our flight wasn't until late evening, so they provided luggage storage while we enjoyed the rest of the day. They also offered us a 'refresher' room later that day for a few hours at no extra cost in order to shower before our flight. Beach is very nice. Connected to Waikiki with park and waterfront walkway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Decatur,IL

Beach front

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Loved the location on the beach. A nice walk to main Waikiki
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location right on the beach. Rooms are small

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Hotel concierge was very good. Rooms are small but clean. All of our needs were met. We had a late flight and the concierge looked after our bags and we given a room to shower and change before heading to the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet location outside of Waikiki

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Easy check in and helpful front desk staff. The hotel was a quick walk away from downtown Waikiki. The beach in front of the hotel wasn't very busy, and seemed to be used by a lot of locals. We only used the beach towels/mats once but it was a convenient service.