Ratings based on 1,042 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Central to all Waikiki has to offer

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Friendly and accommodating staff, rooms seemed small, $30 per day parking compared to $20 per day at other hotels, extremely tight turns in parking lot so small vehicle is best, ocean view not, opt for city view instead, there are better options for the same money
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Amante, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback that we receive and use it to further improve our hospitality. I agree, our parking is a bit challenging and we are always on the look out on how we can improve in this area. Mahalo for staying with us! Sincerely, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel by Outrigger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Convenient location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great location - easy walk to beach, lagoon and shops. Having free bus service to Ala Moana mall a bonus. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Having interconnecting door between room excellent for traveling with kids
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Roy Shimabuku, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to take advantage of our trolley line. We look forward to servicing you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Just too noisy

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Great front counter staff. Modest room. Really loud; seems like no noise proofing at all. Heard every cough and sneeze, not to mention the traffic noise!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by nora.weatherwax@outrigger.com, Hotel Management
Aloha and Mahalo for submitting your review on Expedia. Please accept our apologies on the noise factor that you experience in your room. Noise proofing is something we are looking at in future renovations. Thank you so much for commenting on our great front counter staff. We will be sure to let them know of your satisfaction with them. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit this review. Island regards, Nora Weatherwax General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

VERY UNFRIENDLY STAFF

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing. We hated the Hotel.
Cons: The front staff and the housekeepers would have to be re-trained.
Location: On a major noisy Street.
We experienced a few major problems at this hotel. The front staff was very unfriendly, rude and non accommodating, in spite of us being very polite. It seems this hotel's bread and butter is from Japanese tourists and the hotel has very little interest to accommodate guests from the US. The room housekeeper put THE COMPLETELY WET TOWEL FOR THE SHOWER FLOOR BACK AGAIN (folded to be reused). WOW. The rooms are too small and way too noisy. You can easily hear the normal conversation of the neighboring rooms on either side and of course the loud noise from the street. I disliked this hotel to the extreme and will never go back if they offered it for free..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by nora.weatherwax@outrigger.com, Hotel Management
Aloha and Mahalo for submitting your review on Expedia. Please accept our sincere apologies for the condition of your room and the inconveniences that you had to endure during your stay here at the OHANA Waikiki Malia. We are deeply disappointed hearing of this situation and are taking appropriate measures to prevent these problems from happening again in the future. I have followed up on the communication at hotel level. I will be addressing your issues with the housekeeping staff. The inconveniences you endured on this stay is obvious. I hope for the opportunity that you may return. I would welcome your correspondence direct to my attention so I may attend to best rate and room allocation that is available and, as your host, personally look to meet and hopefully exceed your expectations at that time. We value your business and again deeply apologize. Nora Weatherwax General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Nice hotel close everything

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Good size sofa bed for two big boys
Location: Very good location for shopping and eating
We stayed for 4 days. Everyday went to beach. We went to shopping everyday and found wonderful restaurants nearby everyday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Amante, Hotel Management
Aloha and Mahalo for scoring us 4 out of 5! We are pleased to read that our bed accommodations suited your family. It's is great that you were able to enjoy our location and nearby restaurants. We hope to welcome you back one day. Island Regards, Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel which provides free Pink Trolley Rides

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Convenient location with free Pink Trolley rides to Ala Moana Shopping Centre and othet attractions. Within walking distance to Waikiki Beach and local tour buses pickup at Sheration Hotel Aloha Landing Area. There are alot of ABC Stores, restaurants and shopping malls around this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Amante, Hotel Management
Aloha and Mahalo for your 5 out 5 review! We are thrilled to have met your expectations and I will be sure to let our staff know of this. We are happy to know of your satisfaction with our location. We hope to welcome you back one day soon. Island Regards, Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nothing like the photos online.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Staff were ok.I was allowed into a room before 3pm which is the normal time .
Cons: Dusty ,stained carpet ,dirty marks on walls .
Location: Location fine .One block from bus stops.Shopping close .Beach ten or fifteen minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Amante, Hotel Management
Aloha Lesley, Thank you for submitting your review! We appreciate the feedback that we receive either positive or negative. Like any other hotel, we have our share of challenges and our guests' feedback provides us with valuable insights regarding the quality of our service and facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies if you were not satisfied with the accommodations at our hotel. We are very concerned that you felt our housekeeping services is inadequate. I've spoken to the manager in charge of this are to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation. Our goal is to have our guests be satisfied with our accommodations and feel good about recommending our hotel to their friends and acquaintances. Since we did not achieve this goal, your are now assured of our intent and allow us to serve you in the future. Sincerely, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel by Outrigger
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place for vacation.

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us! Sincerely, Amante Castro Guest Service Manager OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel by Outrigger