Ratings based on 4,097 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI USA

Nice Hotel, Across the street from the Beach

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Hotel is nice, Staff is friendly, Conciege was trying to hard sell tours and a timeshare. There was very few Mainland Americans staying at this hotel. 90% were Japanese tourists. Not a big deal, just not a lot of conversation in elevators, and around the pool and hot tub. I had no issues with any part of the hotel or the stay. Lots to do within a 100 yards. I would stay there again, if the price was right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

スタッフのレベルが低いが立地は最高

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: 立地は良い
Cons: プールが残念過ぎる、スタッフの教育、エレベーターが古くてなかなか来ない
Location: 目の前がワイキキのビーチ
部屋に栓抜きが無くフロントに電話したら、もって来てくれるとの事だったので、部屋で待っていたが30分経っても来ず、再びフロントに電話したら、今度は1階のABCストアに売っているからそこで買ってくれとの返事が! あきらめて、ABCストアで栓抜きを買って戻ると、なんとホテルのスタッフが最初の電話から45分くらい後に栓抜きを届けていた。フロント内の情報の共有、各スタッフの伝達などができてなく、スタッフの教育のレベルがかなり低いと感じた。 とにかく宿泊中、ここのスタッフや1F店舗の店員とのやり取りでの対応の悪さにはガッカリや怒りを通り越して笑いしかおきない事が多かった。ここのスタッフの口癖なのか、「ハワイではどこもそうです」を3,4回は聞いたと思う。どこもそうだからうちもそんなもんですって日本ならまずありえない返答だと思ったが、ハワイではそんなもんなんだろう。 プールはかなり残念な内容なので、プールを重視したい人は向かない。 エレベーターがかなり古く、なかなか来ない。 部屋は豪華ではないが、まあ普通にきれいではあったし、バルコニーからの眺めは良かった。 立地は最高に良いので、とにかく立地と価格重視の人向けで、少しでも内容を気にするひとには向かないと思う。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

立地のいいホテル

Posted Feb 10, 2016
ワイキキビーチに近く、立地・値段もお手頃でいいと思います。 ただホテル自体は古くなっているのでそこだけ問題なければ、オーシャンレストラン・ショッピングなどいい点もたくさんあります。また利用したいと思います。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Fabulous Hotel Great Location

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Best Location Friendly, Helpful, Informative Staff Good Price For Rooms Clean Rooms Excursion Pick Ups Are Convenient, Outside Of Hotel
Cons: Stop Sales People In Lobby (the store next to main/front doors) From Trying To Fix Your Face/Complexion And Giving Out Samples, Very Aggressive
Location: Directly Across From Waikiki Beach Honolulu Zoo And Diamond Head Within Walking Distance Other Hotels, Eateries, And Many Stores Nearby
We were fortunate to stay in an oceanfront room with a balcony. The view of Waikiki Beach was spectacular! Our room was very clean, had plenty of chairs, and a very comfortable bed. The staff members were all pleasant, helpful, and very informative. We had many conversations with the hotel manager, Katherine. She was an exceptional manager, personally making sure our stay was enjoyable. The hotel restaurant offered a variety of delicious foods, a little pricey but well worth it. Of course the huge aquarium in the restaurant is a real crowd pleaser. The hotel is in a prime location, beachfront! You just need to cross the main street and the beach is right there! The Honolulu Zoo is within walking distance along with many stores and eateries. The advertisement boasting that they have the best garlic shrimp right outside of the hotel is correct! We have been back in NJ 3 weeks and we are craving garlic shrimp! Without a doubt we will return to The Pacific Beach Hotel if we are lucky enough to get back to Oahu! The 3.5 rating should be changed to a 5.0. Pacific Beach is not as fancy and updated as some other nearby hotels but Pacific Beach has the best location, is clean, and has a friendly staff of hard workers eager to please their visitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW, AU

Cheap and cheerful hotel with A-grade views

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Price, comfort, ocean views, location, cheap parking
Cons: The "resort fee" should either be optional, or included in the room rates. It's very deceptive practice to charge extra with no alternative.
Location: You're literally across the road from the beach! That's all you'd have to do in Waikiki, and that's not a bad thing.
The room itself is nothing to write home about but the location and price can't be beat in Waikiki. I can imagine once upon a time many years ago, this hotel was the go-to place for Hawaiian vacations but today it's in much need of a makeover. However the service was pretty good and the facilities on offer are all very nice. The restaurant was overpriced, but the giant aquarium is nice to watch while you eat, and keeps the kids entertained. The concierge that I spoke to about organising a few activities didn't really seem to know much about the local area - my five minutes on google seemed to turn better results than his years of living on the island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Stock standard

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: The rooms need a overhaul as they are worn and dated.
Location: It is on the beach! Plenty of shopping, dining, and activities nearby.
This hotel is directly across the road from Waikiki beach. Although it's location is a little south compared to most, it is very easily accessible to transport options such as the trolleys and buses. The hotel rooms are fairly dated. Wear and tear has made the room look slightly displeasing, however the rooms were cleaned to an above average standard. The hotel pool is in a very disappointing "rooftop" location on the "roof" between the 2 towers. It is small and only receives sun in the morning. But hey, the beach is across the street! The hotel has a convenience store, cafe, and other shops attached. All in all, this hotel is adequate. I would stay there again if I was offered a good deal, would consider other options beachfront if the price was on par.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 神奈川県茅ヶ崎市

オーシャンフロント16階‼︎

Posted Feb 9, 2016
初めてこのホテルに宿泊しました チェックイン時刻より早く到着したにも 拘らずスマートに対応してくれました 上の階のリクエストにも対応してくれました 英語に自信の方は日本人スタッフがオススメです まだリノベーション前の部屋でしたが全体的に キレイな印象でした^ ^ 部屋からはワイキキビーチが全開で ザ、ハワイといった最高のビューですよ‼︎ コスパがいいホテルだと思います オーシャンフロントの14階より上がオススメです‼︎
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Enjoyed the location and view of ocean.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Very relaxing room, the bed was very comfortable. Maid service was excellent. Not impressed with the Oceanarium restaurant. Always full, we were told we could sit at the bar to eat on the high chairs. No compensation, I think the hotel should give a discount for eating there. The Vine-Vera vendors should be kicked out with their sale tactics. The Garlic Shrimp vendors was so nausiating, smelling that very time I stepped outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

I'd return!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Location is superb, being literally across the street from the beach. The friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room are a plus.
Cons: The hotel is beginning to show it's age. The walls were bare; a few pictures would liven it up. Not much drawer space. The pool is not welcoming!
Location: Perfect! A bit away from the centre of the busy area but still across the street from the beach.
I am a frequent visitor to Waikiki and have tried out many hotels but I usually end up coming back to the Pacific Beach Hotel. The staff have always been courteous and friendly. The room is always clean. Location is excellent! I'm not a fan of "resort fees" and don't feel I got value for the amount they charge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel but out-dated.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff.
Cons: Free internet service and a microwave
Location: Excellent location
The hotel was clean and the staff very nice; however, the room was outdated and needs some sprucing-up such as new carpet, new furniture, and some nice pictures.