Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The staff was great, the hotel was not

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were very nice and friendly and accommodating.
Cons: I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The first night after I checked into my room I noticed at the base of the toilet what appeared to be urine (yellow liquid) in a small puddle. I threw one of the washcloths over it and chalked it up to an error from housekeeping. It happens so I didn't want to make a big stink over it. I then pulled the shower curtain closed so I could turn on the water and shower before going to bed. I had a used washcloth fall from the curtain rod. At this point it was fairly apparent the bathroom had been overlooked when the room was cleaned. I advised the front desk the following morning. The front desk clerk was very apologetic and assured me the room would be thoroughly cleaned that day. All good, mistakes happen. The next night my daughter (who was getting married the next day) was sitting on the other bed in the room when she said it felt wet. She was above the sheets and comforter so I thought the comforter was possibly still wet from being washed. We pulled the comforter and sheets back to find a 3' x 3' yellow, wet stain on the mattress pad type thing. Completely disgusted my daughter went to the front desk. They immediately moved us to another room and were obviously as mortified as we were. I actually felt bad for them. They didn't charge us for that nights stay and also the head of housekeeping brought us a fresh cut up pineapple a little later. I'm sure they have addressed the person in charge of "cleaning" our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Elegant with nice view so comfortable

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Stayed one night there for my Company Party that was @the Modern Waikiki...loved it all the nice touches to the room,valet service,front desk welcome from Yoshi and welcomed back anytime by Renee Kahumoku General service Manager. Mahalo Nui Loa💯💖😊👍💙
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NV

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Not kid friendly
Nice location................. No comments
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, convenient, clean

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, off main strip, clean and convenient to plenty of diners
Cons: Because of large trees room was dark and balcony was very noisy with traffic. Pool was in shade all day so very cold.
Location: Close to Ala Moana shopping centre. This was a plus. Half hour walk to Waikiki so good exercise. Big park nearby with beach. Buses run by door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Old

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Overall nothing.New hotel
Cons: New Hotel
Location: This area is not an area that is exciting for things to do or places of interest. Ala Moana Blvd is a main road through parts of Waikiki.
Rooms ok, staff ok. Emenities none. Coffee pot didn't work,both of them. Shower to small bathroom small and seen some mold. Overall won't stay again.Over all nothing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Oct 25, 2016
We stayed at the Equus for one night after departing our Hawaiian cruise. We had one day between the cruise and our flight home. It had a nice local Hawaiian feel, friendly staff, very clean and comfortable. We wanted to experience a local place to eat also, and the desk clerk sent us a few blocks away to a local cafe with excellent comfort food at a very reasonable price. We would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maui

They gave our room away.....

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
I can only do a partial review as they only had one of the rooms I booked upon arrival. They were overbooked which forced us to find another hotel my family and I could stay at after arriving on Oahu. The night manager tried to be helpful and find us a room, but the hotel he could get us into had poor reviews. Thankfully Expedia stepped in and booked us at the hotel across the street (which cost more, but covered the difference since it was an inconvenience for us). I cannot rate the rooms or other for The Equus, but I can tell you that the Hawaii Prince Hotel across the street was very nice and where we ended up since The Equus didn't hold both of our room reservations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Staff was very friendly. Phone in room didn't work, but who uses those anyway? Great location, walking distance to mall, beach, & public transportation. Room was cleaned daily & towels restocked. Beach towels were provided by the front desk upon request!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Cómodo y en excelente locación

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: El HHV esta a 10 minutos caminando, la playa, el mall, convention center, y todo tipo de restaurantes y bares quedan a cortas distancias.
La locación es excelente cerca de la playa, del mall, del convention center. Las habitaciones no poseen mucha iluminación pero son muy cómodas y seguras
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Beach and Ala Moana

Posted Oct 13, 2016
A boutique hotel that we used for one night only, very clean, excellent staff with a free MaiTai that night! Aircon was a bit lacking, other than that a great one night stay.