Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Oct 25, 2016
We stayed at the Equus for one night after departing our Hawaiian cruise. We had one day between the cruise and our flight home. It had a nice local Hawaiian feel, friendly staff, very clean and comfortable. We wanted to experience a local place to eat also, and the desk clerk sent us a few blocks away to a local cafe with excellent comfort food at a very reasonable price. We would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maui

They gave our room away.....

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
I can only do a partial review as they only had one of the rooms I booked upon arrival. They were overbooked which forced us to find another hotel my family and I could stay at after arriving on Oahu. The night manager tried to be helpful and find us a room, but the hotel he could get us into had poor reviews. Thankfully Expedia stepped in and booked us at the hotel across the street (which cost more, but covered the difference since it was an inconvenience for us). I cannot rate the rooms or other for The Equus, but I can tell you that the Hawaii Prince Hotel across the street was very nice and where we ended up since The Equus didn't hold both of our room reservations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Staff was very friendly. Phone in room didn't work, but who uses those anyway? Great location, walking distance to mall, beach, & public transportation. Room was cleaned daily & towels restocked. Beach towels were provided by the front desk upon request!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Cómodo y en excelente locación

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: El HHV esta a 10 minutos caminando, la playa, el mall, convention center, y todo tipo de restaurantes y bares quedan a cortas distancias.
La locación es excelente cerca de la playa, del mall, del convention center. Las habitaciones no poseen mucha iluminación pero son muy cómodas y seguras
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Beach and Ala Moana

Posted Oct 13, 2016
A boutique hotel that we used for one night only, very clean, excellent staff with a free MaiTai that night! Aircon was a bit lacking, other than that a great one night stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Nice hotel, good location, noisy room!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Overall we enjoyed our night here but the room that we were in was VERY loud all day and night. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper and I was woken up repeatedly throughout the night by traffic on the large thoroughfare next to the hotel. That aside, it was a lovely room, nice and clean, in a great location, and the staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
First time to Hawaii and first hotel out of 3 Very nice room but a little loud due to traffic. Two blocks to the beach and a little bit calmer then the Waikiki beach main area. Would stay again if I got a room higher up (I was on the 3rd floor)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Too many steps to climb to lobby.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Clean hotel near large shopping mall. Very helpful and friendly staff. AC did not cool too well. Priced high compared to other resort hotels in same vicinity without any comparable amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Great experience

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Excellent customer service. Near a lot of hotspots, tourist attractions, restaurants, beaches and retail stores.
Location: Close to restaurants, beaches and retail stores. Also near public transit, zoo, aquarium and some tourist attractions.
Clean and comfortable room, bed and washroom. Staff were excellent in providing customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Not great but not terrible, yet had a laid back Hawaiian vibe so we enjoyed our stay for the most part. Good location and provides basic accommodation for sleep and shower. Ok place if you don't plan on staying in the room. Cons: dusty, furniture is outdated, shower is very tiny and narrow, poor sound insulation so you can hear nose from the street with the slidea closed. Wasn't the most comfy or attractive place but offered us basic standard amenities and was the most affordable option in waikiki for mid Aug.