Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maui

Old but sufficient.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Older hotel, but definitely sufficient for an overnight stay. Would stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Location was good

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Maid service
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance, which is great because parking can be a nightmare.
Upon check in, it took 3 trips to the lobby to get our card keys to work. The rooms are very small. Barely enough room to open our suitcases. We did not request that the room be cleaned on day 2, however, we never got maid service the 5 days we were there. When we told the front desk, we were told that they would have someone up there right away while we were out and about. After returning several hours later, the room still hadn't been cleaned. The shower is tiny. My husband kept hitting his elbows on the walls. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beach. For the price it's a decent place to stay, but a little too small for our liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice Hotel in a walkable distance from Beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and walkable distance to beach
Cons: Double glazed windows to minimize the noise from outside and clean a little more the floor carpets
Location: Waikiki beach, downtown, hard rock café and Diamond Head
Friendly staff and walkable distance to Waikiki beach, downtown, hard rock café and Diamond Head,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the centre of things

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The price was reasonable.I liked that the rooms had unique wooden furniture but,unfortunately, they were in various states of disrepair in our room
Cons: This is a non-smoking hotel but others were smoking on the balconies so the smell was pulled in by the ac unit.
Right on Ala Moana Blvd so close to everything but noisy. Even with doors and windows closed in our room, the noise creeps in. To reach the hotel's front desk, you have to climb a dozen stairs up from street level. There is no elevator for this flight of stairs. We are in pretty good physical shape so could manage with two bags each. Anyone with physical limitations could have difficulty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to Mall

Posted Jan 17, 2017
There are no frills but it is conveniently located and the staff is very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC Canada

Nice hotel but not the experience we hoped for

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were very nice.
Cons: Better windows. Brighter rooms. They don't get a lot of sunlight coming in, so changing the décor to something brighter might be nice.
Location: Close to the mall and restaurants.
This was our first time in Honolulu and we had booked 2 rooms at this hotel. We arrived late on a Saturday night and stayed for a couple of nights before moving to another hotel. We had read other comments about the street noise and unfortunately we found those comments to be accurate. One of our party has hearing aids which are not worn at night and he found the noise at night made it difficult to sleep. The rooms were smaller than I had expected, but that was okay. The bathroom only had a shower and toilet, no tub, but again that was okay for us. We tried sitting out on the balcony but the air conditioner is right there and blows hot air on you and the street noise made it difficult to have a conversation. We tried keeping the air conditioner off, but because the hotel is surrounded by taller buildings there is no air flow and very little sunshine. Plus the view from the balcony was of the building next door. We heard that if you were on a higher floor or in the back of the building it was quieter and had better views. We did ask to be moved but they were fully booked. There was construction in the lobby area although this did not affect us. The staff were very nice and there was fresh fruit, muffins and coffee every morning in the lobby area. This was a great location if you wanted to walk to the mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

walkable, close to the beach and restaurants

Posted Jan 12, 2017
walkable, close to the beach and restaurants good location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A good place if you just need to use it for sleep

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: It was in a pretty convenient location and was away from all the tourist hotels, it's also near a convenience store for groceries.
Cons: Lights on the balcony and in the main room would be great. Replacement of the balcony doors to help with the road noise.
Location: The beach is very close (less than 10 minutes walk), you are also in walking distance to the Ala Moana shopping mall if that's your thing.
I was luckily able to check in a little earlier than the stated time which was very much appreciated after a long flight. I found my room clean and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately it is on a very busy main road and the doors to the balcony are a little old so there is plenty of noise leakage. I wasn't really bothered too much by this and made good use of my earplugs. There is a coffee machine and a fridge in the room and the bathroom was nice and clean with a large headed shower. I really just used my room as a sleeping place and spent little time in it, the only thing I wasn't too keen on was the lack of any light on the ceiling or on the balcony, once night fell it was impossible to read outside on the balcony and the room was very dimly lit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Did not clean room 2 out of 5 days

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We came back to our room at 9:30pm and bed was not made and no new towels. No apologies from front desk. They made us feel like they were put out. Valet parking is required at $25 per day and wait time could be up to 5 min. to retrieve car. Room is small. The Expedia photo is taken with the mirror in the background which makes the room look twice as big as it is (room is tiny). The view is the windows of the apartment/condos next door. Location is nice and convenient. Shower is a small stall and tile floor was a little slimy; shower curtain smelled of mildew. No desk to work on with your computer (must work on bed). No drawers to keep your clothes in. Only 4 hangers in small closet. No soap is provided so bring your own.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motorcycle and other traffic noise highly annoying

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Kindly staff.
Cons: Beyond hope.
Location: Heavy traffic, sleazy tourist traps.
See above. The boxes would not take my Xs. Overall rating: terrible. Staff: excellent for what they had to deal with, Hotel facilities: Pool cold and patio delightful; room cleanliness: excellent; room comfort: noisy and anxiety producing.