Ratings based on 910 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Makati, PH

Classic hotel in Honolulu

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Complimentary fruits, chocolate-covered macadamia nuts, drinks and a warm note were waiting for us at our oceanfront suite. The bathroom, as well as the separate shower, were very spacious. The suite was well appointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Staying at the Kahala was an unqualified pleasure. the location is wonderful, the rooms beautifully appointed rooms, the staff solicitous and friendly. There is a nice range of restaurants and bars onsite and the food is uniformly wonderful. A perfect place for anyone in need of a restful retreat from a too busy life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

An Intimate & Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We wanted a quick getaway to paradise but not the crowds or traffic at the hotels that we typically encounter. Kahala was exactly what we needed and on the beach! It's everything expected at a luxury hotel with what we felt is our own private beach! A minor issue was the self parking, the sensor/scanner did not work on our cards. The one day we chose not to use valet parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Top end hotel, right on the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Resort experience, with all the usual accomodations.
Cons: Could use more plug-ins, especially near the bed area.
Location: If you have kids, the dolphin experience looked very fun for them.
Large and comfortable rooms with excellent dual-vanity/separate tub-shower bathrooms. Great location on the beach and excellent food choices. Staff is the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fortson

Hawaii20thAnnivrsary

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Overall this Hotel customer service was completely outstanding from the first day throughout. Brian the front desk check in representative was hands down the best customer representative I've ever seen. My wife is rarely impressed with hotel personnel, but Brain was very polite and extremely professional. We celebrated our 20th year anniversary on this trip. And yes we will be returning in 6 months because of Brian's attention to detail and great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice as always.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Truly living in the lap of luxury. If you can afford it, you'll love it here. It's quiet and the the staff is wonderful and accommodating. The views are wonderful and the beaches are clean and comfortable with all the amenities one could need without all the noise of the standard tourist traps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Cheaper food
Location: The dophins are nice to have so close
The hotel was great and the staff was to. The only down side was it was a little way from town. They did have a shuttle you could take which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Excellent and friendly staff. Dolphin experience and facilities were lots of fun. Good food and location. Best hotel on Oahu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

An elegant island unto itself

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The Kahala resort is not a typical resort. It does have the class act list of ammenities like golf, food, and shopping but the location, views,and the staff take this resort to the upper echelon for places to enjoy on Oahu. The staff exceeded every expectation with a smile and at every level of interaction. They always asked, genuinely, if there was anything they could do to improve our experience. The restaurants on site (3 out of 4 we visited) were excellent in both food options and quality. These are heaven hitting restaurants. Rich, diverse, and high quality, these are offerings to be proud to present. It would be nice to have "lite fare" options available throughout the day. In particular a fresh fruit buffet /smoothie/salad for late morning and afternoon snacks. The rooms, views, grounds all excellent. The beach is protected but can be windy. The dolphins whistle and flap in the mornings and this a wonderful experience to have on site. (Always have tips ready. ) The resort is somewhat isolated and this offers a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of busier parts of Honolulu. It is also offers a convenient shuttle to the local malls and Waikiki. We did also walk 3 miles to the Diamond Head Crater and climbed the .8 mile to the top. Perfect. Also lovely to come down the hill, buy a bag of fresh chilled pineapple and grab a taxi/LYFT back to the hotel. Our family enjoyed the Kahala and would gladly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Luxurious!!!!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
My family goes to the Kahala every year. It is a tradition. We won't stay anywhere else on the island!! The Kahala is perfect!!