Ratings based on 1,480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Clean/modern/contemporary, close to beach/shopping

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Location: Nice beach just minutes walk away, larger shopping center is close by.
Hotel is not fancy but is modern, simple, contemporary, tasteful, clean - mostly younger/upscale crowd. Very short walk to Hilton's very nice beach & lagoon, and, Ala Moana shipping center. Can be little noisy, close to a major street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel in Honolulu

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Pool, spa, pool bar, relaxing, close to the beach
Cons: I wish there were ice machines on each floor. You had to call room service to bring you ice up which often took a while.
Location: Great location right by the ocean and a lagoon. Short walk to lots of shopping and downtown Honolulu night life!
We really enjoyed The Modern hotel!! It was very chic and modern. The staff were wonderful! The spa was amazing!! This is definitely a hotel for adults. It is upscale and very relaxing. We loved our stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

おしゃれでその名の通りモダンなホテルでした

Posted Aug 28, 2015
モダンでサービスや施設も無駄に華美でなく、場所もワイキキ中心部にもアラモアナにも徒歩で行け、トロリー乗り場も隣りのホテルにあり、終始快適でした。 通り沿いにあるため、夜外の音が気になることがありました。 プールが素敵!このためだけにまた宿泊したいと思います。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel, close to Marina and lagoon.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: The resort's facilities were excellent, signature restaurant superb, contemporary fittings were up to date, room comfort high on the list.
Cons: Nothing to detract, a very pleasant stay.
Location: A short walk to the marina and lagoon, ideally located on public shuttle route, easy access to shopping including Ala Moana.
A magical stay, resort ideally positioned close to marina & lagoon, public transport, shopping, wine bars and nightlife. Loved the private balconies with fabulous views, fireworks on Friday night an added bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

muy buena ubicacion, cerca de la playa y todo esta

Posted Aug 27, 2015
todo esta muy cerca para compras, alimentos, paseos, clubs, etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Smll size and great staff.
Cons: Maybe fewer special events in the adult pool which limited access to guests.
Location: Good bus service and can walk to good restaurants and the big shopping center.
Enjoyed the relative smallness of the hotel. Did not feel like I was in Grand Central. Staff was great and the hotel was spotless. Everything we asked for from the staff was promptly delivered. Would recommend the hotel to anyone. Especially enjoyed being in the adults-only pool. Walking distance and good bus connections to many places. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Nice hotel just out of busy Waikiki centre

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Staff very helpful , nice private pool for Adults only plus a large general pool also. Outdoor bars & eating areas very pleasant.
Cons: The food varied between very good and ordinary depending on the day. Kitchen seemed to be in a state of confusion one night !
Location: Not the best for pure beach views but only a 15 minute walk into the beautiful Waikiki beach and you avoid the big crowds / $10 Taxi .
WE initially wished we had booked right in Waikiki beach but it is extremely busy and by the end of the week appreciated the relaxed feel of the Modern. Next time we may decide to stay closer in to the Waikiki surf beach which is just lovely if not very busy. We had a sea view at the Modern and would possibly forego that for a more expensive room at Waikiki without a view just to be around all the restaurants and bars, I guess in summary we were happy at the Modern but still would have enjoyed being closer to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to marina. no car necessary

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Cons: room was over bar. very noisy on weekend....music, police cars, drunk patrons on the sidewalk yelling. otherwise, noise not too bad.
thought room had microwave (did not) and refrigerator had to be replaced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch, Ca

Very modern, clean, and near beach

Posted Aug 21, 2015
I give this hotel 5 stars. Very clean and modern. Excellent hotel staff, clean, love the style of the hotel, and great views to the beach and in the pool area. Great restaurants. Hubby and I honeymooned here and had the time of our lives. I recommend this hotel to everyone. Will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Central Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The rooms, view, and location were excellent. Very nice that a room safe was complimentary.
Cons: The concierge should be more responsive and follow-up. It would be nice if microwaves were included in rooms.
Location: Location was very central, all tours met at the hotel next door. A variety of places to eat and plenty of ABC shops.
The hotel doesn't stand out and the front desk is very unimpressive, but the room was excellent: new, clean and roomy with a great view. The location was great, very central. The pools areas are small, but nice. It's Hawaii, so everything is dare. The staff was very friendly & always greeted us. The concierge desk was not so great as the rep couldn't book a tour immediately, but said she would get back to us, and never did.