Ratings based on 2,105 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Awesome Oahu Hotel!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The hotel, staff, experience and room were all amazing! My wife is very particular about the hotels that she stays in, but she was beyond comfortable with our room. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I'm ever in Oahu. One of my biggest fears was that the pictures online would be accurate, but they were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples Florida

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Everything topnotch.Great staff.Would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Amazing place to stay, great facilities and everything is all very new. The new restaurant - ravish - inside the modern has been open for one month and was my favourite meal in Hawaii. I can't recommend it enough!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but have to walk to the beach.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Staff is friendly.
Cons: Make lobby more appealing.
Location: Location is good . shopping is close.
Does not open at the beach as i expected. have to walk quiet a bit. Lobby seems little bit dull..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
This is my second time to visited this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Good stay! Very clean!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Dance club noise can be heard above 5th floor

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, pools, decor, staff.
Cons: Improve the noise buffering in the rooms or shut down the dance club.
Location: At the North end of Waikiki but walking distance (~1.5 miles or less) to most of the popular restaurants and things to do.
The hotel is nice, but unfortunately the dance club music is not buffered enough (even at 5 floors or higher) and can be heard until almost 2am. Sleeping was interrupted on multiple days of our stay due to this as well as the drunk and noisy crowd that spills out of the club upon closing. For a luxury hotel with a dance club I would expect better noise buffering in every single room. The dance club noise is unacceptable and a complete deal-breaker for me. I would not recommend this hotel for an overnight stay for that alone. This is really unfortunate because the staff are helpful and friendly, and the hotel/pools/spa are updated and otherwise very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice clean and modern hotel, good food and drinks

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Staff, restaurant and bar, pools, and proximity to beach.
Cons: Better communication in advance about the renovations to the pool area and expected noise.
Location: Pool, beach, walk to shops and restaurants.
Staff was friendly and helpful, food and drinks were good and reasonably priced for the area. Room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, there was unexpected renovations to the pool for part of the trip but overall a great experience. Two pool options, one for adults only, and a short walk to the beach were all nice options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from WI

Great hotel, especially for adults

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Great location (for conference was an easy walk to Conference Center), minutes to the beach, very adult-friendly without a lot of kids running around.
Cons: Cleanliness of the pool.
Location: Walk to beach in minutes, close to shops, other places to eat.
Overall my stay at the Modern Honolulu was amazing. The staff was friendly and professional. The restaurant options were fabulous (especially dinners at Ravish). The room was awesome, though a bit loud on the balcony as it was overlooking busy street. My only complaint was that the main pool did not seem very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york ny

So so

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Not comfortable .........no teeth brush no quilt, expensive for this hotel.I would not live this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas,TX

Nice hotel, walking distance to beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Friendly staff, very comfy bed, great pool area. Hotel isn't exactly on Waikiki Beach, it's on the adjacent harbor, but is a very easy walk over. Centrally located to anything you could need, would stay here again.