Ratings based on 1,474 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

muy buena ubicacion, cerca de la playa y todo esta

Posted Aug 27, 2015
todo esta muy cerca para compras, alimentos, paseos, clubs, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Nice hotel just out of busy Waikiki centre

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Staff very helpful , nice private pool for Adults only plus a large general pool also. Outdoor bars & eating areas very pleasant.
Cons: The food varied between very good and ordinary depending on the day. Kitchen seemed to be in a state of confusion one night !
Location: Not the best for pure beach views but only a 15 minute walk into the beautiful Waikiki beach and you avoid the big crowds / $10 Taxi .
WE initially wished we had booked right in Waikiki beach but it is extremely busy and by the end of the week appreciated the relaxed feel of the Modern. Next time we may decide to stay closer in to the Waikiki surf beach which is just lovely if not very busy. We had a sea view at the Modern and would possibly forego that for a more expensive room at Waikiki without a view just to be around all the restaurants and bars, I guess in summary we were happy at the Modern but still would have enjoyed being closer to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to marina. no car necessary

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Cons: room was over bar. very noisy on weekend....music, police cars, drunk patrons on the sidewalk yelling. otherwise, noise not too bad.
thought room had microwave (did not) and refrigerator had to be replaced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch, Ca

Very modern, clean, and near beach

Posted Aug 21, 2015
I give this hotel 5 stars. Very clean and modern. Excellent hotel staff, clean, love the style of the hotel, and great views to the beach and in the pool area. Great restaurants. Hubby and I honeymooned here and had the time of our lives. I recommend this hotel to everyone. Will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Central Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The rooms, view, and location were excellent. Very nice that a room safe was complimentary.
Cons: The concierge should be more responsive and follow-up. It would be nice if microwaves were included in rooms.
Location: Location was very central, all tours met at the hotel next door. A variety of places to eat and plenty of ABC shops.
The hotel doesn't stand out and the front desk is very unimpressive, but the room was excellent: new, clean and roomy with a great view. The location was great, very central. The pools areas are small, but nice. It's Hawaii, so everything is dare. The staff was very friendly & always greeted us. The concierge desk was not so great as the rep couldn't book a tour immediately, but said she would get back to us, and never did.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

services

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Unhappy,check in terrible. Not on time waited too long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 千葉、日本

大人のホテル

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: レストランの食事はおいしかった。外部席がもっとあればいいのになと思った。プールはもちろんいい感じだ。
Cons: 廊下が寒すぎる。売店でもっと飲み物とか、スナック菓子が買えるといい。すべてバーで買わせようとしている。売店で買い物をしているのを見たことがない。無駄な施設になっている。
Location: ヒルトンラグーンに近いしアラモアナショッピングセンターにも近い。ワイキキに飽きたらここでしばらくのんびりするにはいいと思う。
モダンの言葉を徹底的に表現したホテルだ。すべてがモダンで気取っている。恋人といくには最高だろう。だが、ファミリーで行くにはちょっと場違いかもしれない。廊下は冷房ががききすぎてて寒すぎるし、売店には冷蔵庫に入れるようなものは何も売っていない。2階のプールは何のためにあるのかよくわからない。もったいない。フロントはモーテルのようなみすぼらしさ。プールは隣のイリカイ、ヒルトン等とつながっていて誰でもはいれる。フロント脇のきだんで外部からも簡単に遊びに来れる。モダンだが、もっと隠れ家的にしたほうがさらにモダンになると思うのだが。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Best hotel in Waikiki...staff needs work.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
I was really excited to stay at The Modern. It was for my wedding and I had friends and family also staying at the hotel. It is unquestioningly beautiful. The rooms are great and the whole property feels simple and relaxed. My only issue with the hotel was the staff. I don't think that anyone really cared there. Before my arrival they double charged me. I had to talk to four people over four days, show them what they had done before it got resolved. Little things like turn down service not being done 3 out of 5 nights, coffee makers and champagne flutes not being delivered, and just being made to feel like all guests were at a Howard Johnson Expeess left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. I would stay again but I do think management should give staff a bit of a retrain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from millbrae

Nice hotel but too noisy at nights.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
The modern was nice place to stay overall. Our room was clean and neat, we have nothing to complain about but it gets very noisy, every night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from 日本

子供の少ない静かなホテル

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: 清潔感と海外に来た感じが良く出るホテルです。
Cons: 特になし。
Location: アラモアナまでは歩いて行けます。
今回2回目の宿泊でした。前回同様非常に気持ちよく快適に過ごせました。すべての施設が清潔で使い勝手が良かったです。次回も泊まりたいホテルです。