Ratings based on 2,001 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City side room is noisy

Posted Oct 22, 2016
We stayed a week at this hotel and thought we'd get a cheaper city view room because we would be out all the time. The issue was the street noise kept us awake at night. We asked to change room/upgrade but without success.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel near the ocean

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The service, interior, space, location, pool, gym, view
Cons: The bed was not very comfortable, but it was adequate for a good night's sleep.
Location: Within walking distance to several restaurants, the harbor, a great surfing beach, and the convention center
I was very impressed during my stay at Modern Honolulu. Upon arrival, my bags were taken by the bell service making check-in a breeze. The front desk was incredibly helpful in providing recommendations for beaches, surf rentals, restaurants, etc. The interior was very clean and welcoming. My room was spacious and I enjoyed being able to open the window to get a Hawaiian breeze in the room. The desk was also great for working, although I had a few issues with internet connectivity. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 埼玉県川口市


Posted Oct 22, 2016
今回は、妹の結婚式の為にとショッピングセンターが近いと言う事でこのホテルを選んだ。 良い面は、アメニティ、特にフィットネスやプールなどは利用し放題なので充実していた。 あと、チェックイン15時からなのに10時から部屋に入れてくれたり、チェックアウト後も荷物を預かってくれるなどのホスピタリティーは最高。 夕食は、料理の鉄人のモリモトシェフプロデュースの創作料理が楽しめる。アメリカ人好みの料理だなと感じた。 悪い面はと言うと、まずカードキーの磁気ストラップが直ぐに壊れるため何度もカードキーをフロントまで取り替えに行った。あと、無料サービスメニューに、コーヒーとブレッドがあると記載されていたがそれらは無くなったと、言われた。 全体的な感想は、カップルなどが利用すれば最高かなと。家族連れや高齢者には向かないホテル。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from osaka


Posted Oct 22, 2016
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Overall was OK, it is not so great for kids.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: Location is far from the waikiki beach and the center of the shopping area.
Overall was OK, it was not so great for kids due to pool is not big, location is a bit far from the city. Also, when we checked in the room, everything seems clean but end up we found a quilt has a lipstick mark, pink colour mark. I thought the house keeping would have change the next day, but it didn't till the last day we checked out. Reception team was friendly. The hotel is more suitable for young couple or people has no kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Noise from The Study and Addiction keeps you up al

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Terrific pool area, great rooms, clean. Staff seemed great. Monday night band.
Cons: Noise from clubs keeping us up until 3:30
Enjoyed most things about the hotel. The hotel is very pleasing, and the staff is great. The problem is that the clubs can keep you up until 3:30 in the morning, which is not great if you want to do things around the island during the day. We were on the 4th floor, which is probably part of the problem, but our room vibrated with the sound of the clubs, and then kind of picked up steam around 1am. At 2:30, the base beat was vibrating my pillow, and the screams of drunk people were like they were in the next room. One thing I did like about the study is that they had an amazing trio (two girls and a guy), play on Monday night. Terrific talents all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: カラカウア通りにて買い物、飲食をする際はタクシー利用が必須となります。ホテル向かいの建物にニッポンレンタカーがあるのでレンタカーをされる方にとっては不便はありません。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern vibe, poolside is amazing

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Modern deco and helpful staff
We enjoyed our stay at this modern hotel. Nice deco, helpful staff and amazing poolside. Also has morning yoga on some days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: It was cool and quiet and great to come back to after the hustle and bustle of the day. The pools and the pool bars were great to relax in.
Location: The hotel is in a good location, near the harbour and Ala Moana Shopping Centre. A couple of stops on the trolley bus to get into Waikiki.
We loved our stay at The Modern. Our room was large, had a great beachy feel, very clean and attractive. The bathroom had a great shower, aircon worked really well and even the linen was good quality. We had a coffee machine in the room but a kettle was also supplied upon request as I am a tea drinker. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel actually looks exactly like its photos, what you see is what you get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Love staying at The Modern!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Location is a little off the strip, but a short 10-15 minute walk. Steps away from Hilton lagoon and beach.
Friendly, professional and welcoming staff. Clean hotel with modern/contemporary feel while still keeping the Hawaiian vibe. The Study is a great place for drinks and amazing live music/performers. Adult pool is great place to unwind and relax. Morimoto restaurant has excellent food, great value in their lunch menu! Wifi connection is great throughout the entire hotel, great tasting coffee (Keurig) in the rooms. Gym is a bit small and some items needing replacement (floating beds in adult pool).