Ratings based on 1,991 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: カラカウア通りにて買い物、飲食をする際はタクシー利用が必須となります。ホテル向かいの建物にニッポンレンタカーがあるのでレンタカーをされる方にとっては不便はありません。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern vibe, poolside is amazing

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Modern deco and helpful staff
We enjoyed our stay at this modern hotel. Nice deco, helpful staff and amazing poolside. Also has morning yoga on some days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: It was cool and quiet and great to come back to after the hustle and bustle of the day. The pools and the pool bars were great to relax in.
Location: The hotel is in a good location, near the harbour and Ala Moana Shopping Centre. A couple of stops on the trolley bus to get into Waikiki.
We loved our stay at The Modern. Our room was large, had a great beachy feel, very clean and attractive. The bathroom had a great shower, aircon worked really well and even the linen was good quality. We had a coffee machine in the room but a kettle was also supplied upon request as I am a tea drinker. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel actually looks exactly like its photos, what you see is what you get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Love staying at The Modern!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Location is a little off the strip, but a short 10-15 minute walk. Steps away from Hilton lagoon and beach.
Friendly, professional and welcoming staff. Clean hotel with modern/contemporary feel while still keeping the Hawaiian vibe. The Study is a great place for drinks and amazing live music/performers. Adult pool is great place to unwind and relax. Morimoto restaurant has excellent food, great value in their lunch menu! Wifi connection is great throughout the entire hotel, great tasting coffee (Keurig) in the rooms. Gym is a bit small and some items needing replacement (floating beds in adult pool).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Elegant and away from the crowds

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Lovely hotel with great facilities, not right in Waikiki so it felt a lot more civilised! The rooms were great, clean, fresh and tastefully appointed. We arrived at 8am after a 10 hour flight and they were able to check us in to a room immediately which was a blessing! Highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JAPAN


Posted Oct 12, 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Luxurious hotel in Honolulu

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Very handy to Ala Moana shopping centre and a 10 minute walk through Fort De Russy Park to shopping and restaurants in Waikiki.
We stayed only 1 night on our way to Canada, but we were allowed to check in early as our flight from Australia arrived mid morning and we were allowed to use the hotels facilities until we left for our late flight the next day. The room and the hotel were excellent as were the guest facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre. Not impressed

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The rooms, good pools, nice gift shop, good internet
Cons: Location is far, no shuttle services, lobby is small, staff act like they are guests
3 days for business. Decent hotel but the kitchen and staff bring it down. The staff think they are they are guest, Nice clean room, comfortable bed, strong shower, travel essentials and quick elevators. Downside is the lack of amenities and staff. The room service is limited, expensive and not very good tasting. The pool side restaurant food was fine. Service at hotel is really bad. First night, had drinks at bar. Bartenders are young and need elocution classes....too cool for school and really boring. Most of the time they completely ignored the guest to speak among themselves. Second night, ate at the pool restaurant. Waitress was young and ignored me for about 5 minutes before introduction. Ordered and had to twice wave from across to get another drink, my server took almost aimless strolls. If not strolling I watched that staff would congregate to gossip at the bar. I was brought the check without asking for it, had to explain I still wanted other items. Gift shop staff was nice and had cute items, I shopped two time and stayed about 15 minutes. Staff had an attitude. One girl mumbled under her breath when people would not say hello or goodbye to her. The other was a snob and didn't help me at all. Front desk staff is very young and don't seem to know how to greet or help. Best part was the downstairs bar. Didn't get the chance to eat at Morimoto. Bummed. Overall, decent hotel but not very modern and staff is inattentive. I will not stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京


Posted Oct 10, 2016
ワイキキの外れの方に位置しているのでカラカウア通りのガヤガヤ感から逃れたい人におすすめです。日本人や子連れの比率が低めです。なので初ハワイの人よりも複数回訪れたことのある人に向いているかなと思います。 プールは小さいですが景観抜群で夜になるとムード満天です。 お部屋は白で統一されていて清掃もまずまず丁寧です。 ただ、他の大型ホテルから比べると従業員の数が少ないのでリクエストに答えてくれるまで時間がかかります。 全体的に高評価ですが、イマイチ決め手に欠けるのでもう一度利用したいかと聞かれればぜひ利用したい!ということはありません。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very stylish pool and dining facilities

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Service was acceptional and facilities were outstanding. It was a little further from Waikiki beach but an easy walk to Ala Manoa shopping centre.