Ratings based on 1,100 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
My second stay at the Royal Hawaiian was as pleasant and relaxing as the first. Everyone is so nice and accommodating. Love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay,good beach

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Very good experience. Definitely gonna stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Lovely hotel....beautiful beach....comfortable room....the cleaning staff was excellent...the front desk went above and beyond upon check in......not as great on check out! The concierge was helpful and knowledgeable. The beach bar had a limited variety menu and the staff was average....I expected more! The luau was amazing! And the breakfast buffet was over the top! We enjoyed our stay and will plan on another visit! Aloha!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location and very luxurious

Posted Feb 12, 2017
This hotel is top notch in quality and service. I wouldn't say a regular traveller is getting value necessarily when a hotel is this expensive, but you won't be disappointed with a stay here. Very welcoming staff and excellent facilities. Mai Tai bar is also quite expensive but has great cocktails and food, with a great spot on Waikiki beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful Historic Property with modern amenities

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The graceful old time hospitality; the size of my room; the warmth of the staff; the proximity to the beach. Loved my sample banana bread - nice touch
Cons: Perhaps offer guests free smaller beach chairs (along with the set of 2 loungers and umbrellas currently available for a fee).
I really like this hotel. My room was lovely, although I missed having a bathtub. The staff are excellent. The fees for late check out are crazy - $75 to move check out from noon to 2 pm, and I would have loved not to pay $40 a day for an umbrella and chair. I would rate this a 5 if not for the fact that I could hear a lot of noise from the room connected to mine. To be fair, staff offered to move me. The new coffee shop is a great addition, and you can't beat the location. One of our my favourite hotels in Waikiki.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

beautiful classic hotel. a step back in time

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: classic
Cons: zero
Location: right on beach. can't see off strip. many restaraunts, and excursions departed close by
room was so comfortable, close to beach, many food choices, great central location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Wonderful hotel in perfect location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
We Felt like royalty at the Royal Hawaiian because of the staff, the gorgeous view, the free breakfast and happy hour. It is a special place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch, Ca.

Royal Hawaiian Hotel experience

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: When we first drove down the driveway, we were in awe of how magnificent the entrance was. Everything was very nice.
Cons: Security.
Location: So many things to do, not enough space.
Everything was great. Not too many complaints. Many compliments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Used to be wonderful here, no longer acceptable

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: History Tour of Hotel
Cons: See above "experience".
Day One - arrived at 3pm check-in time. Waited over 20 minutes to learn they didn't have ready a room with requested nonsmoking and King bed. Sent us out to bar with a free drink coupon to wait for a room. After waiting 2.5 hours total, finally settled into the second room they offered because we were exhausted. It smelled of smoke, and had a huge dirty portable vacuum/filter balanced on one of the night stands, apparently filtering the air. Obviously housekeeping did not check this room before they gave us the keys. All lamps in room were either malfunctioning or nonfunctional. Called to get them fixed/replaced, which was done by a very courteous gentleman. By the time he finished, it was dark. First vacation day in Honolulu shot to pieces. Day Two - Shower either scalded or froze the user. After being set and in use, temp always randomly changed to all hot or all cold. Day Three - Returned to rest in room after sightseeing. When housekeeping came to clean, asked them to skip it but they wouldn't go away and insisted on coming in to at least clean bathroom. Still scalding/freezing shower. Day Four - Housekeeping took used washcloths, did not replace them. Still scalding/freezing shower. Day Five - Very interesting History Tour of Royal Hawaiian. Shower still bad. Day Six - Leaving today. Housekeeping came VERY early, before we were even up. On other days they came late, usually in afternoon, when we would have preferred to relax. We will not return. Ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AL

Wonderful hotel and staff!

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: The whole atmosphere.
Cons: N/a
Location: The location is very central and beautifully landscaped.
Our stay at this hotel was absolutely amazing. The grounds are beautiful, the staff treats you like royalty. I've stayed many places in Waikiki and this was the BEST!