Ratings based on 1,080 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Christmas stay

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Position of the hotel which is right on the beach .The heritage feel .
Location: Shopping ,beach ,pool .
Everything about this hotel was five star .Staff who go out of their way to be helpful & make your stay that much more .Very comfortable king size bed & perfect pillows .Can't wait to return .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, australia

Classic hotel with character, very well maintained

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: It's character, best location, service, the restaurant, Mai Tai bar, the shops.
Cons: The windows in the old quarter don't open enough to enjoy the beautiful view.
Location: The location is the best there is,specially the beach, it's also located close to the shops, restaurant, transport.
I have been to Hawaii numerous times but ever since we stayed in royal Hawaiian we have not even considered staying elsewhere. This is not the first time we have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian, we have gone back to the same hotel for it's efficiency and excellent service. it was a special occasion and they went out of their was to make it a memorable birthday for me. I highly recommend it to anyone, the class, position, outstanding service, nothing to fault, whenever I go back to Hawaii it will only be at the Royal Hawaiian.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Osaka Japan

Cute and comfortable hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Anywhere is suitable for pictures. I stayed on the 5th floor of Mailani Tower and I could see the sea and Diamond Head.It's convenient to go shopping. The place I like the best is chairs around the pool. The chairs are soft and parasols are cute pink. There are many trees which make shade, so I feel cool and relaxed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, otherwise average.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Not many privileges if you're on your honeymoon. Pool small, never had a decent sleep due to the staff being extremely loud early in the morning. Other than that, location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and quiet

Posted Dec 24, 2016
I love the Royal Hawaiian for its old-school charm and comfort, and for helping me imagine what it may have been like long ago. It has a more relaxed atmosphere than other hotels in the area. Just walk across the front drive to the Sheraton to feel the difference; the busyness and activity go way up. It is hard to find a place in Waikiki where you can enjoy some quiet and just a little isolation, but the RH gives you that and access to everything else just outside.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They don't have private beach terrible breakfast

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Other than clean room No SvC, rooms small No private beach , so over crowded beach No other amenities Pool very small, just for kids No after beach - showers Breakfast is mediocre
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Look different from the picture is showing on website!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tahoe

Location...location..location.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
This hotel has it all. Steps from the beach. Mai tai bar on the beach. Spacious quality bedding and desk services. Modern elegance with old world Hawaiian charm. Staff is outstanding. But...back to the beach...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel, very expensive

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Everything about this hotel is fantastic, location, staff, cleanliness and comfort. The only draw back is the price of everything from the restaurant and bar, to the shops. It is definitely a place for those with deep pockets. If you want a hotel that will provide excellent memories, this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Bucket List Stay

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: I liked the Mai Tai bar/lounge/restaurant. Good food for price and not too expensive. Great Coco Mai Tai! Location to downtown and bus stop. History.
Cons: Later hours for the pool and spa. Adult only times? Please. List of activities for the day/week posted or included with room or lounge key.
My husband and I planned a vacation and stay at the Royal Hawaiian, but sadly he died before we could make the trip together. So, my stay was to finish what we had started. It's all the hotel is cracked up to be. Hawaiian luxury with an historic past on beautiful Waikiki. Paradise. The Hotel Staff would have had a 5 rating, except for one thing. I had a very early arrival time and check-in was at 3pm. They gave me a key to a lounge to wait after they stored my luggage - very nice. HOWEVER, there was a tour of the hotel that I could have joined if the front desk had mentioned it. I would have loved to have taken this tour. The next one was scheduled for the day I left Hawaii. So sad. I would have loved to know more about this beautiful building and location.