Ratings based on 2,171 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waverly, PA

Nice place to stay on Oahu's North Shore

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Well located. Professionally run. Sizable rooms with good beds. Nice pool areas with dramatic views. Excellent breakfast buffet.
Cons: The rooms are a bit non descript. Setting of the hotel sets it apart from others. A little more decor and better toiletries for the price.
Location: On site golf cours, local towns and beaches, Polynesian cultural center.
Beautifully situated with a small but pleasant beach. Memorable views from the pool area. Roy's Beachfront Restaurant provides excellent (though pricey) food. A good place to stay while exploring the North Shore. One can sleep at night with the doors open and listen to the lullaby of the waves rolling in. Most of the staff were pleasant and professional. The check in experience was not particularly friendly but this was just one individual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Bob, Mahalo for the review. Turtle Bay is a unique location - with amazing views. "the lullaby of the waves rolling in" - that's a siren song for everyone. We hope to see you again. Much Aloha, Danna Holck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Loved our short stay at the hotel. Traveled around Oahu a little and would only return to turtle bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for the 5 star review! We're glad you loved your stay and we'd be honored to see you again. Much Aloha, Danna Holck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Excellent resort on the beach

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Cons: Nothing. Cost of food was high but high on the entire north side of Oahu.
Location: Waimea Valley is wonderful. Local beaches and food trucks are outstanding. Haleiva is a relatively quaint town worth a stroll.
All rooms have ocean view. There probably isn't a bad view. No need to pay for top floor. Lots to do - snorkel, swim ocean, swim beach, surf, horseback, golf, tennis, lounge, relax. sleep with sliding door open and listen to the ocean all night, watch sunsets and sunrises, hike. WONDERFUL.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Steve and Mahalo for the 5 star review. We agree that "Wonderful" is an excellent description of Turtle Bay! Thank you for sharing the North Shore with us, we hope to share with you again. Much aloha, Danna Holck
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Right For Me

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: You could snorkel at the beach
Cons: staff friendliness, hours of operation for nightlife
Location: North shore beaches are nearby and the food trucks can be really good. I also enjoyed the farmer's market. I recommend a glider plane - really cool
This is a nice hotel in a beautiful location. However, there are a few reasons I will not stay there again. The staff are just not courteous and nice. It seemed that most people had an attitude and just didn't want to be there. I witnessed the bar tenders at the pool bar being rude to a number of people. Also, if you are a night person or want to let loose, this is not the place. The bar is closed three nights a week and the pool bar closes early - so if you don't mind going to bed early or watching tv than this would be fine. This hotel is somewhat remote and unless you have a car or get a taxi, you are too far away to walk to anyplace outside the hotel. Fortunately, the food was good, but I still find myself wanting to go to town. A Mai Tai is about $14 and a beer is about $9, the prices wouldn't bother me if I had a choice and competition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha ScubaJack, Mahalo for the review. We are glad you enjoyed Turtle Bay’s location, beaches, snorkeling, and food. Our unique location does have a lot going for it. I apologize if our employee seemed discourteous – that is certainly not our intention nor our aloha spirit. I will share your review with proper management to ensure guests like you are treated with the respect and aloha you deserve. We would be honored to see you again so we can show the true aloha spirit of Turtle Bay. Warm Aloha, Danna Holck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort

Posted Jan 14, 2017
This facility is fairly nice but aged a bit. The staff is kindly pleasant and warm, everyone is full of Hawaiian hospitality accept for the bartenders at the main main level coffee bar. The restaurants are nice and the food is good; not a fine dining service type trained staff, however very kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for the review. We are glad you were able to experience our aloha spirit at Turtle Bay. We hope we have the honor of sharing Turtle Bay with you again. Warm Aloha, Danna Holck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Great views & waves

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Little else on the north shore but great staff and fine facilities make this a good place, especially for active families. The staff at the on campus but independent activities center are all super helpful and knowledgeable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha MAH, Mahalo for the review. We do have a great staff, they share Turtle Bay's aloha spirit with all our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Warm aloha, Danna Holck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Perfect hotel ever!! Beautiful view and a lot of amenities. There are many choices to do outdoor activity
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for the 5 star review. Turtle Bay is known for outdoor activities and beautiful views - we are glad you enjoyed them. We hope to share our aloha spirit with you again. Aloha, Danna Holck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingwood, TX

Great hotel, a great place to get away from it all

Posted Jan 5, 2017
The hotel staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs. Golf courses were awesome! Sure do miss Mark at the golf course! I was deeply saddened to hear about his passing. I like how the hotel is away from the crowds and noise. The only complaint is room temperature. It was too warm at night no matter how low you set the thermostat. And yes, my sliding door was closed all the way. We also missed our bottle of champagne and strawberries. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. In the past, the hotel had sent up complimentary champagne and strawberries. Other than that our 11 th trip to Turtle Bay was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Texas, Mahalo for making us part of your family and allowing us to share Turtle Bay with you 11 times. :-) Like you, guests frequently compliment our golf courses and location. Mark is mourned by all of us. Our apologies for missing the champagne and strawberries, we may have to send you two on your next visit. Mahalo again for sharing the North Shore with us, Danna Holck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: That villa! Those views! That beach! The cleanliness. The service.
Cons: I'd like it cheaper, more affordable of course. But you get what you pay for.
Location: It's North Shore, Oahu. So it's farther from the city (1 hour). I like it quieter. But there are lots of beaches, Polynesian Cultural Center
Love this hotel! Stayed here once before and love it still. Got a villa this time for our party of 8 and we are all extremely satisfied with our stay. Lovely and comfortable 3 bedroom, 2 bath, living room, dining room, kitchen, patio villa! Comfortably fit us all. The hotel has it's own beach with a wave break so the water is nice and calm. The views are spectacular. Beach kinda rocky, the sand is not that fine. But great anyway. The hotel has great amenities. Continental breakfast was included in our stay and upgrade to hot breakfast was available at additional cost. Even the dining room had great views. Pools were nice and clean, they had an area good for kids with waterfall and slide. Our villa area had it's own pool which never got crowded. Wish we made better use of the available beach toys (paddleboard and body boards and snorkel gear). And wish we made more time to just "stay in" and enjoy the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thanks for the 5 star review! The views at Turtle Bay are spectacular, we enjoy sharing them with our friends :-) We are very happy your party enjoyed the villa. Mahalo!! Danna Holck
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice property

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The room was in need of a major update. There were stains on furniture and the shower water control handle fell off repeatedly day one, so had to call maintenance. Toilet clogged. For the amount of money expected it to have a higher luxury feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to provide a review. We are glad you enjoyed the property - Turtle Bay does have amazing views, location, and beaches. My apologies for the condition of your room. Typically we are ahead of these types of problems with our preventative maintenance program, however your room may have escaped our notice and we will work on correcting that immediately. I will be sure to share this with my operations team to improve our process. Much Aloha, Danna Holck