Ratings based on 1,450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Decent hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location, long term stay rooms, friendly staff, close proximity to beach, harbor, and bus stops.
Cons: The front desk; which I think they are working on already. New (larger) TV
Location: This hotel is right on the harbor and right next to the Hilton Hawaiian village. It is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, bus, beaches
We chose this hotel randomly based on prices and location without knowing much more about it other than reading a few reviews. Our first impression was that things seemed odd there. It is a multi-use building; meaning that some of the rooms are owned by one hotel, some are owned by another hotel, and the rest are private residences. That information may have been listed but I did not realize it until we arrived. We also had some difficulty finding the check in counter because it was hidden in a little office on the side of one of the hallways due to renovation. We walked right past it several times thinking it was a condo sales office. The rooms are large, long term stay type rooms that have a stove, fridge, etc...and a pull out sleeper sofa. My only complaint about the room was that our TV was a very old tube-type TV. Also we were staying towards the center of the building, so (due to the shape of the building-see photo) when you go outside on the balcony, you are pretty much facing the people that are staying right next door to you when they are on their balcony. This can be awkward at times, but it wasn't a big issue. Once we were past our initial first impression, we settled in and our stay was pleasing. The hotel staff was great and we had no issues at all. Having a kitchen, a laundry room, and a store downstairs was very helpful as well. There are plenty of shops in the building, so I was able to go down and get coffee, cereal, breakfast, or anything else we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix,AZ

Posted Jul 7, 2016
I loved this hotel! The room was big and with a full sized kitchen really helped keep the cost of eating out down. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning. We had the city view. They have an ocean view as well. We had a great experience overall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Independence, Mo

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: very clean
We enjoyed our week at this hotel. The room was spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed. Very close to everything. Loved the beach in walking distance
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location next to the Marina, lagoon & bech

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Great hotel with good location - everything within a ten minute walk and all busses stop right outside
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, kitchenette and close to the beach

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The Ilikai had a great location; close to beach, lagoon, pool, shops, restaurants, public transport. Clean premises, friendly staff, and a KITCHEN.
Cons: The pool needed updating. There were no tongues to use in the kitchen if you were using it daily and no trays for the oven. The tv was outdated .
We chose The Ilikai for its closeness to the beach, the shops, restaurants, public transport and mainly because of the kitchen which reduced the cost of eating out at EVERY meal.The Ilikai hotel/apartments appear to be a Timeshare and a hotel complex, very close to Waikiki beach.We stayed in the (Timeshare?) apartment, with a balcony, large bedroom/lounge room, big bathroom (no bath), and kitchenette . It had a welcome pack with soaps, dishwashing and laundry detergent, salt/pepper, popcorn -there is a microwave and an oven though no trays to actually facilitate using the OVEN!. There is a ramp down to the lagoon (with paddle boat rides available) and beach and a small poo- which seemed as if it needed an update but was clean and handy for the kids. Pool towels are available there, so you do not need to use the room towels. The larger shopping mall at Ala Moana centre is within walking distance (maybe 10 mins ) but there are also plenty of buses that stop directly out the front. There are a couple of convenience stores on the property but (like always) you pay a bit extra for the "convenience". There is also a restaurant/bar which serve yummy breakfasts and all meals. You may have to wait quite a while for a seat in the evenings, especially on a Friday when there are fantastic fireworks along the beach at 7.45pm (near the Hilton Hotel next door). There was a maid cleaning service mid-way through our 1 week stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel close to beach and transportation

Posted Jun 14, 2016
This hotel was more than we expected. Beach and pool were close. Transportation around town and tour buses could be picked up out front. No need for a car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth the stay

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly and accomodating staff. Room was very neat. The best part was being close to the beach and newrby shops. Overall our stay was great and would definitely comeback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

MB & Don to HI for business and pleasure.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Clean well maintained property. Great restaurants within walking distance, Sorrento's and Cinnamons on site, Chart House near
Cons: I was unhappy that Expedia charged my credit card before I traveled. Booking early was penalized rather than rewarded.
Location: Waikiki beach? Lots to do, just go online for tour options or check with the Resort office when you arrive.
We had an outstanding experience with the Waikiki Marina Resort. I traveled to HI for a business meeting that I organized and executed. The room with a full kitchen was great! We started out in a room on the 4th floor just above the hotel entrance. We had asked for a room on an upper floor. Our staff contact, Vincent, was terrific about organizing our room move with little inconvenience to us and no additional expense. The entire Resort staff, Tara, John, Kai and many others were constantly welcoming and available to answer questions and support guests in any request. Some people may not like the valet parking requirement, but the parking staff is outstanding. Efficient, fast in retrieving your car. It is a service that is a plus for guests, not an inconvenience. I would definitely book into the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So.SF, CA

Perfect hotel for a family vacation!

Posted May 31, 2016
Hotel was as expected and advertised. Great clean room (Junior Suite) and in driving distance to most attractions and a short walk to the marina and beach. My family had a blast and only regret we had was our vacation not being long enough. Staff are cery nice and always smiling.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Very nice and good location.

Posted May 30, 2016
We were surprised at how beautiful and well kept the fine old hotel was. We loved being down on the west end of the main beach , but plenty of everything right there. We were actually booked in the Shell vacations side of the resort, so we had to check in with them, but they gave us great friendlly service and great help, on booking things. We did not have to do a tour of their properties, but still got discounts. The room was on the street side, but the noise was not bad with the door closed and ac on. The big room was very nicely remodeled.