Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok at best

Posted Aug 16, 2017
We had a late arrival and we were greeted by a desk employee that was closing sliders to block off the check in counter.(never seen those before) and was ready to clock out. He spoke like a robot with a memorized script. We checked out by dropping our key cards in a plastic box. Zero amount of welcome. Nobody seemed to work here. We were entirely on our own.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Marcia, we are sorry for the difficulties experienced at our front desk and for the behavior of our employee. We have shared your remarks with our team in an effort to prevent anything like this from happening again. We assure you that the scenario you described does not reflect our standards. Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

THIS DOES NOT HAVE A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Large suite with a full kitchen.
Cons: Remove the carpet, it stunk.
One of the main reasons we got this was the continental breakfast, as we were in a hurry to leave in the morning and did not want to stop by a restaurant. What they offered was an "express breakfast", which was basically coffee, granola bars, and packaged muffins. The front desk lady acknowledged they know Expedia says "Continental Breakfast".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate your comments. Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a home-like living experience. We certainly understand why you may have found our amenities a bit different than traditional hotels. We never want to mislead our guests. The various websites do not have a category for complimentary grab and go breakfast, however, we do offer our version of continental breakfast consisting of breakfast bars, muffins, hot cereal, coffee and tea. We apologize it was not to your expectations which caused disappointment. Now that you are a bit more familiar with our hotel and our brand, we do hope you will select us again during your travels. General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely bad experience with this hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: nothing specific to highlight
Cons: Cleanliness..better breakfast
No enough towels, towels provided were not in good condition, lot of hairs in the room on towel from previous use Room was not clean. Breakfast is a joke, they had only one small table for breakfast.. (see attached photo take at 8:30am).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the cleanliness issues you had while you were here and for your disappointment with our breakfast offerings. Your review will be discussed with the management team to make necessary corrections. We appreciate your comments and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The staff was very friendly and kind. Rick Munson was extremely helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Extended Stay America - Chicago – Hillside. We're delighted that you enjoyed our service and had a great time with us. We look forward to sharing your kind comments with Rick for the outstanding customer service skills. We hope that you will stay with us again soon! Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Okay Hotel.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I only stayed 2 nights. But after my first night of staying,I left only to return to an uncleaned room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
John, thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to give us your feedback. Although your overall stay was satisfactory, we are sorry you were unhappy with our cleaning services. While our housekeeping is done on a weekly basis to respect the privacy of our guests and offer minimal intrusion, we are happy to offer this service on your request at a nominal fee. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl.

Close to O'hare, easy highway acces

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: easy access to highway
Cons: nothing, i do not care
Location: good location, quiet neighborhood
this is more like a residential , stay a week place, it does not feel like a hotel, more like apartments, alot of people coming around 5 from work and hanging outside, smoking, nothing wrong, not much to do here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ric, thank you for evaluating your stay. We are pleased to read you had an overall pleasant visit and were impressed with our convenient location. However, we regret if any inconvenience was caused while you were here. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: My room was comfortable.
Cons: Check in was uncomfortable. I had to speak w/ staff through plexiglass. My RESERVED room was given away. Breakfast offered is not hot breakfast.
Very convenient location. My room was comfortable. Check in was uncomfortable. I had to speak & interact w/ staff through plexiglass. I felt unwelcomed and it was unprofessional. The blurred plexiglass screen could have been pulled back. My RESERVED room was given away. Breakfast is not standard breakfast. It's just misc.snacks. When a hotel offers breakfast, I expect hot breakfast food. There are only breakfast snacks such as granola bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for review. Although your overall stay was satisfactory, we are sorry for the difficulties you experienced at our front desk. We have shared your remarks with our team in an effort to prevent anything like this from happening again. We assure you that the scenario you described does not reflect our standards and will take your feedback into consideration the next time we update our breakfast offerings. We hope you will give us a second chance to deliver the type of experience you should always expect from our hotel. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by Art from Cincinnati

not a fan

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Free WiFi.. Not really. The free Internet is unusable. Only about 0.3 - 0.5 Mbps. Upgrade for $4 brings it to a barely usable 2Mbps. Free breakfast... Not really. Basically a coffee station with granola bars and instant oat meal. Room had no hair dryer. Went to the desk twice and they said sorry come back later. Never got a hair dryer. Staff wasn't rude, but not helpful and not particularly welcoming. Room was a smoking room. Maybe that was my fault, but they could not change it and added to an already bad stay. I've stayed at the Best Western next door and have always been happy. Decided to try thus because if the lower price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It was disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies as we never mean to disappoint any of our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be reviewing and altering our guidelines to provide a more wonderful experience. We are committed to providing a great visit, and I hope you will give us another chance to prove that to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Roy

Room amenities

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel did not have an ice bucket or any dishes, no hair dryers in room,nice room and kitchen , no kithen supplies.not even a couple of cups.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, although we apologize for your disappointment with the in-suite amenities. Since our suites are designed for guests staying multiple nights desiring home-like living, these guests often bring their own bath amenities such as hairdryers and toiletries. These items are available and complimentary at the front desk at any time. Kitchenware for your suite is also available and kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness. Please accept our apologies if we did not communicate this to you at check-in. Thanks for your visit, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Lewis

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Lewis, many thanks for taking the time to post your rating online. Impressing our guests is our top priority, so we are glad that you were left with a good impression. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon at Extended Stay America - Chicago – Hillside. Sincerely, General Manager