Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oshkosh

I would only stay as a total last resort

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: For the price, including a kitchen in each room is a huge benefit, especially if you are there more than one day.
Cons: Please see my comments in my full review.
Location: From what I could tell, there is nothing nearby other than another hotel. No food or anything. It is RIGHT off the highway though.
I try to take other reviews with a grain of salt because they don't represent the whole universe of past guests; however I will confirm that the hotel was really disappointing. Thankfully I only needed to stay one night, but my night wasn't relaxing at all. I did not expect glitz and glam or anything fancy, but my sheets were stained and the room smelled like cigarette smoke. The hallways did smell like marijuana and were loud considering I arrived later in the night and hotels are typically pretty quiet. The front desk was nice and I had no problems at all with them during any interaction. Because I figured it wouldn't be worth the hassle to have my sheets changed, I never reached out about it. I was tired and it was late, so I figured out my own alternative so that I didn't sleep on the sheet. To be honest, I felt unsafe, especially as a young woman who was alone. All night (literally!) there were people coming in and out of rooms around me. Someone knocked on my door around 11:00 PM. I never opened it, but nobody was there when I looked out the peep hole. After that I definitely did not sleep very well at all (also because of the noise of the doors opening and closing). The price of the room combined with free parking would make this hotel worth staying at for more than one guest or maybe a guest who is more comfortable in a situation like that. I did not feel safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Chicago Downtown

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The room was roomy. The carpet was not clean. My son played on the floor for a few minutes and his hands and feet were so dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not living up to our commitment to clean, fresh accommodations during your stay. I am working with our housekeeping department to make sure all procedures are being followed so this does not happen again. We hope you will give us another chance the next time your travels bring you this way.  Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Aug 20, 2017
This hotel didn't even have the breakfast that they were supposed to have. No toothpaste or anything in the bathroom but towels that have been washed too many times. I will never stay at the hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Toya, thank you for reviewing your visit. I apologize for any miscommunication regarding our in-suite amenities and your disappointment with our grab-and-go breakfast offerings. As an extended stay property, our guests often bring their personal items from home. However, we keep toiletries and other items at the front desk and these things are complementary. Please accept our apologies if we did not communicate this to you at check-in. I will also share your concern with my breakfast staff. I hope you will stay with us another time so we can provide you with a much more enjoyable experience. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

In Middle of nowhere and super loud at night

Posted Aug 18, 2017
I was not able to sleep at this hotel. Doors were slamming all night, and the walls are paper thin. Do not stay there if you need a good night's rest
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sony, the situation you described regarding the noise is truly regrettable. We apologize your sleep was disrupted by noise from other guests of the hotel, so we regret the inconvenience this caused. Thank you for your candid feedback, and please give us an opportunity to make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok at best

Posted Aug 16, 2017
We had a late arrival and we were greeted by a desk employee that was closing sliders to block off the check in counter.(never seen those before) and was ready to clock out. He spoke like a robot with a memorized script. We checked out by dropping our key cards in a plastic box. Zero amount of welcome. Nobody seemed to work here. We were entirely on our own.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Marcia, we are sorry for the difficulties experienced at our front desk and for the behavior of our employee. We have shared your remarks with our team in an effort to prevent anything like this from happening again. We assure you that the scenario you described does not reflect our standards. Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

THIS DOES NOT HAVE A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Large suite with a full kitchen.
Cons: Remove the carpet, it stunk.
One of the main reasons we got this was the continental breakfast, as we were in a hurry to leave in the morning and did not want to stop by a restaurant. What they offered was an "express breakfast", which was basically coffee, granola bars, and packaged muffins. The front desk lady acknowledged they know Expedia says "Continental Breakfast".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate your comments. Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a home-like living experience. We certainly understand why you may have found our amenities a bit different than traditional hotels. We never want to mislead our guests. The various websites do not have a category for complimentary grab and go breakfast, however, we do offer our version of continental breakfast consisting of breakfast bars, muffins, hot cereal, coffee and tea. We apologize it was not to your expectations which caused disappointment. Now that you are a bit more familiar with our hotel and our brand, we do hope you will select us again during your travels. General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely bad experience with this hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: nothing specific to highlight
Cons: Cleanliness..better breakfast
No enough towels, towels provided were not in good condition, lot of hairs in the room on towel from previous use Room was not clean. Breakfast is a joke, they had only one small table for breakfast.. (see attached photo take at 8:30am).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the cleanliness issues you had while you were here and for your disappointment with our breakfast offerings. Your review will be discussed with the management team to make necessary corrections. We appreciate your comments and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The staff was very friendly and kind. Rick Munson was extremely helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Extended Stay America - Chicago – Hillside. We're delighted that you enjoyed our service and had a great time with us. We look forward to sharing your kind comments with Rick for the outstanding customer service skills. We hope that you will stay with us again soon! Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Okay Hotel.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I only stayed 2 nights. But after my first night of staying,I left only to return to an uncleaned room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
John, thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to give us your feedback. Although your overall stay was satisfactory, we are sorry you were unhappy with our cleaning services. While our housekeeping is done on a weekly basis to respect the privacy of our guests and offer minimal intrusion, we are happy to offer this service on your request at a nominal fee. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl.

Close to O'hare, easy highway acces

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: easy access to highway
Cons: nothing, i do not care
Location: good location, quiet neighborhood
this is more like a residential , stay a week place, it does not feel like a hotel, more like apartments, alot of people coming around 5 from work and hanging outside, smoking, nothing wrong, not much to do here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ric, thank you for evaluating your stay. We are pleased to read you had an overall pleasant visit and were impressed with our convenient location. However, we regret if any inconvenience was caused while you were here. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager