Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rafting

Posted Sep 18, 2017
It was affordable and close to Ace where we are rafting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Hotel was close to activities, facilities were clean, staff was great very helpful with all requests. Our only complaint was we had wished the hot tub was a better temperature, was more luke warm water rather then hot water as it should have been. I would definitely pay the money to stay there again if we are ever in that area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
When first checking in we were told we had a nonsmoking room. Once we got to our room we discovered it reeked of smoke. We called the first dance and they moved us to a new room. The new room was clean and did not smell of smoke. The hotel is older and run down some, but overall decent. It's close to all major outdoor adventure centers. The restaurant inside the hotel does not have a large selection but the food is good. The bar is impossible to sit in and drink unless you like feeling like you are sitting in an ash tray. Overall, it was a decent place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Moundsville, WV

The last available room at the last minute...

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevators should work. The bar shouldn't be extra loud and intimidating. The bartenders should be pleasant.
Location: We came only for a high school reunion this trip. The motel is very near the New River Gorge bridge at Fayetteville and not far from Beckley.
We got the last room in the hotel, booked on the morning we traveled.. Things were adequate. The staff was pleasant but not always polished. The place was clean and the room was satisfactory. The elevator near our room was not functioning so we had to drag our substantial amount of baggage through the lobby and down the length of the building. The un-bright spot was after our first evening out. We visited the bar. The clientele was rough, appeared for the most part not to be patrons of the motel. The bartender was inattentive and surly. We didn't spend much time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Friendly and competent staff with nice facilities

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Enjoyed it checked in at 3am and staff was there to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to New River Gorge, good value.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Convenience to area activities - rafting, hiking, bridge. Indoor pool. There was a gym there, did not have time to use but nice to have.
Cons: Breakfast yogurt and some fruit would have been nice, but it was better than just 'continental'.
Location: Family went white water rafting. We hiked the endless wall. Great Visitor's Center - VIEWS!
Not knowing the area, we tried to get as close to the bridge as possible and this hotel was a great value, included continental + eggs. meat. potato breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub great for after an active day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My one complaint for comfort (and this is my fault for assuming) but the "double" beds were 'full' not "queen" size so keep that in mind for how many people you have in your group. So although it was a bit dated, it was convenient to outdoor activities and all the beauty, clean and good value. We ended up going closer to the highway for dinner and there were more motel chains there that were newer, but a 15 minute drive further than the gorge so I would say go by what is more important to your needs. We would absolutely return, but next time would get the rooms with queen beds (which were a few dollars more at the time). My family already wants to go back - this is a gorgeous area to visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

You don't hear any banjo music at this hotel!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Staff was nice. Room was clean. The pull out mattress was very uncomfortable though. Pool was heated and very nice. Good continental breakfast. It was a pleasant surprise after driving through some scary country side. I would stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Hotel is nice but older condition. Check in was slow but the staff was polite. Nice area for sightseeing.
5 out of 5
by Cynthia

Will stay again

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice, clean, quiet place. Staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
by Karina

Not Bad.

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Considering the area I guess this was a good hotel. The room and amenities throughout the hotel were outdated. Staff was friendly though and accommodating. Location was good.