Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Hector

Charming B&B in Oak Park

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
Great b&b in charming Oak Park neighborhood! My wife and I went for a couple's night out on New Year's Eve, and had a restful time. We were met at the door by the owner. Had to wait a bit for our room to be ready, but he more than made up for it by preparing the beautiful library/den for us, complete with a fire, soothing music, and afternoon drinks and snacks. Our room (the Yellow) was beautifully decorated. Bathroom was en-suite, and also tastefully appointed. Free WiFi was available. Next-day breakfast was amazing and served perfectly. Our only negative, if it could be called that, was that the place felt somewhat distant and 'stuffy' for our taste. For example, the place, while beautiful, was too much of a museum to make one feel at ease. So, if you really value your privacy, and prefer form over function, this one's for you. In any case, overall, we wholeheartedly recommend Bishops Hall.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
As my responses indicate, we loved our stay and would recommend to others. The reason for the "good" reply in comfort, reflects our wanting for a king size bed and larger tv. We stayed in the spacious and otherwise, well outfitted Coral and Blue suite. Charles was beyond the highest level of service, especially given his recent personal circumstance and prior commitment. Unexpectedly, we advised him after our first morning breakfast that we would skip the next day's breakfast because of wanting to get an early departure to drive home. He volunteered to serve us an early 7 AM meal. To us, this was an extraordinary offer given our experiences. Rather, we chose that evening to leave the next morning around 6:15 AM. We left a note on the foyer desk and hopefully Charles or Donna found it before starting anything on our behalf. Thank you both and our greeters, Hollis and her husband. Everyone did their best.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Perfection in Oak Park!

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect host, so welcoming with a cup of tea & cake despite our early arrival. Amazing home with pre & post dinner drinks in gorgeous lounges. Delicious breakfast in cosy breakfast room. Wished we could have stayed longer in our amazing room/suite it was so relaxing. Perfect location in Oak Park for walking round viewing Frank Lloyd Wright houses. Thank you for a lovely stay in a gorgeous home.
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Wonderful stay

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very accommodating in a wonderful neighborhood. Above and beyond for breakfast as well. Wonderful place and would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Bishops hall is a Georgian mansion with 3 guest rooms. The rooms are beautiful and we spent time exploring each one. Charles gave us a great restaurant recommendation and after a great night's sleep we had a wonderful breakfast in the conservatory. It's another world and really fits in with an Oak Park visit. It was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holmen WI

Exceptional

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Bed and breakfast in a beautiful, quiet, well kept neighborhood in Oak Park. The first Chicago subdivision, and the birthplace of Ernest Hemingway. Close to train and dining. The home is extremely clean and finely furnished with period antiques. Breakfast was elegant, healthy, complete and very tasty including what appeared to be fresh squeezed orange juice. Charles provided some very interesting conversation, history and advice about the area. I would most definitely recommend this establishment as a destination, or just an overnight stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by SALLY A.

Formal luxury at Bishop's Hall

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
We communicated with the owner prior to arrival and he was most helpful. When we arrived he carried our luggage to room and made sure every lovely amenity was available. We relaxed that evening with a ruby port in the living room courtesy of Bishop's Hall. Beautiful breakfast with gorgeous linens, china and delicious eggs benedict, fruit and lemon cake. Had a private garden room for that. Room was lovely and quiet with king bed. Had tub only but I loved that. Wanted to stay but had to leave. Will hopefully come again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James

Bed and Breakfast in luxury

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Charles was a fantastic host. I was in town for business and this was an oasis in the frenetic city pace. I will recommend this location to all of my colleagues.