Ratings based on 1,181 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Amy D

Neighborhood Gem

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful and quaint hotel in the heart of a historic village. Friendly and professional staff were knowledgeable and very helpful during my stay. 2 restaurants onsite provided lots of meal options for a late arrival. Enjoyed walking the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Hotels
This is a super boutique hotel if you like the "village" feel like you might find in a European hotel. Clean, classic, nice area to walk around.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Carleton rocks in Oak Park.

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Carleton to see Hamilton, downtown Chicago. Oak Park is a very nice community with many stores and restaurants within 2-3 blocks. This hotel is 2 blocks from the Green Line train and 40 minutes ride to the loop. No parking hassles downtown, easy to navigate. The hotel choices for downtown this particular night were limited, and expensive. Oak Park is a nice option and the Carleton is beautiful. We stayed in the one-story “motel” rooms. Cool. Highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

older hotel but very nice.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
older hotel but very nice. close to everything. walking to shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Camille

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OLD motel at steep price

Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Hotels
This is for the outside/motel room: room size was good, bath was rather small. Clean overall, but due to age of building, there is an unpleasant odor in the room. Area is nice and parking is sparse in the area. Having free parking is a big plus; if lucky, you can park by motel; if not so lucky, you go to remote pkg., not very convenient, depending on time of night/day and weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Motel near the parking lot

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great quaint little motel yet comfort of a 5 star hotel. Roomy space with an apartment feel and great overall experience. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Jose Manuel

GOOD OAK PARK CHICAGO

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
IT IS A GOOD PLACE,, GREAT LOCATION TRAIN STATION IS SO CLOSE ,, NICE AREA ,, STAFF IS FRIENDLY ,, GOOD WI-FI ,,, THE BATHROOM WAS OK WHEN WE GET THERE ,, BUT THEN WE NOTICE THAT IT WAS NOT BEEN CLEAN AT ALL ,, YOU COULD SEE HAIR AND DUST AND THE WORSE PART THE TOWELS WE USED THEY WERE STILL THERE AND WE DID NOT GET CLEAN TOWELS ,, **MORE ATTENTION ON THOSE DETAILS ***PLEASE !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
I have stayed at Carleton once before and enjoyed it. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Hotel has a nice restaurant and the Poor Phil's bar is great with a fine selection of beers. Location is great. Block and a half to El and Metra to the Loop. 3 blocks to Lake Street in Oak Park. Much to do in Oak Park. Large number and variety of restraurants and shopping.