Ratings based on 1,075 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Russell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Motor Court room review

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice beds, overall clean (woodwork was dirty built in drawers and closet door. Staff were nice. Poor Phils was awesome + free parking!
Cons: Door slamming noise was annoying as was the high-pitched whine of the fridge in the kitchenette.
Location: Loved Oak Park - walked to shops, met family here instead to go downtown CHI, Evanston events. Easy access to trains.
Everything you need to stay near Chicago and/or enjoy Oak Park for a few days.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Beautiful and friendly old hotel in Oak Park

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The Carleton is a fine old hotel, with rooms in great shape though. Our room was huge, had a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave and a large sitting area. Oak Park is pretty small and definitely walkable, and the Carleton is right in the middle of things. We were here just for a little weekend getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice hotel in a nice suburb.

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Large comfortable room. Very comfortable beds.
Cons: Too many stairs in common areas. Chairs in room need reupholstering (too hard and sloping).
Nice boutique hotel. Quiet. No view, but that's ok.
5 out of 5
by Mary Jo

Clean, friendly and great value.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We loved the Oak Park neighborhood and our room was spacious and clean. Staff was very welcoming. Wish there were more easily accessible outlets for charging electronic devices. The free parking and free internet were great perks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Do not go to this hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing....absolutely nothing. Stay away.
Cons: Staff, cleanliness, maintenance, safety. Everything. This was the worst "hotel" room I have ever been in.
Location: Irrelevant
The greeting staff was rude when she realized the reservation was through Expedia. She pulled the paperwork and, with a chuckle and smirk, announced to me that I was going to get a room in their "travel lodge" area. This turned out to be a separate building with no elevator access, open stairs exposed to the rain, and the room was something out of the mid-1950's "motel" era. The carpet was dirty, the bathroom had peeling paint, the faucet was dirty, the toilet had "debris" around the seat hinges, the light switches had dirt on top of the cover plates, exhaust was filthy, the timer-controlled heater in the bathroom was non-functional, there was only one bar of soap that had to be shared between the sink and the bathtub. The entry door had an obvious previous break-in as evidenced by the broken and repaired strike plate and when they put the security chain back on, they installed it backward, making it easy to remove the chain from the outside. Since I was there for a family funeral, I did not have time to complain until I checked out. They could not provide me with a satisfactory resolution other than to say that they felt it was an unusual situation. That's when I pulled out the pictures that I took of the room. They said they would contact the General Manager who was not there at the time but would get back to me. I gave them my contact information. I do not expect that I should be charged a single penny for this stay (for which I pre-paid). Look at the pics!!!
5 out of 5
by Charles

Best in a long time

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant and helpful reception staff... affordable, exceptionally clean room with small kitchen
3 out of 5
by Caren

Local shops

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed a nice morning shopping the local retailers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, Ohio

Good location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Staff made a mistake and gave us a room that was already occupied. So to make up for the mistake, they upgraded our room to a king.
Cons: Just wish you didn't have to walk up steps to get to the elevator.
Location: Nice location. Easy to get to where we wanted to go.
Pleasant stay. Our 2nd time staying here. Restaurant staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Shirley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels