Ratings based on 1,039 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Pleasing Spot, but a Bit Stuffy

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The hotel is located within easy walking distance of downtown Oak Park shopping, is clean, neat, with adequate amenities. However, the décor harkens back to a design aesthetic of the mid-1960s...overstuffed chairs, and bland, uninteresting colors appealing to your grandmother, but rather dull to others. To put it plainly, the Carleton is definitely not "hip". And the main lobby looks rather sparsely decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice, but show's age

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Overall this is a very nice hotel- but it's not top notch. The hot water in the bath/shower took, no exaggeration, 5 minutes to get from cold to hot on both mornings that I stayed. The elevator cabs and parts of the lobby smelled as if there was a natural gas leak, so that could be temporary issue (hopefully!). The beds and renovation are very nice and it was extremely quiet. Staff super friendly. Maybe suggest a lower floor so the hot water doesn't take as long to arrive??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very nice hotel, plenty of room for 3 of us and close to where we needed to be
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nice main hotel expedia misled room type

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: the part I wasn't in looked nice
Cons: Expedia needs to be more straight forward in what room you are renting
They stuck me in a funky 1 floor walk up, right on the street, in a not so great hood. The photos of the hotel, are from what looks to be the MUCH nicer rooms in the MAIN hotel, and NOT the motor inn attached. 1st night, laying in bed and I felt wet after a long day, turns out the mattress was wet, was I laying in someone elses urine? Bleh! It was late, I was tired, checked other bed, and no pee. Showered and got in it. The door jam is cracked where someone obiously attempted to kick the door in at one time. The staff was uncooperative in letting me get the room I thought I'd ordered and wanted another eighty dollers per night to upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from duluth mn

Nice clean safe

Posted Dec 7, 2016
I enjoy convience of restaurants and bars without leaving hotel. Very nice and quiet. I loved looking out of my windows at the quaint little town atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Near everything. Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
This is a beautiful old hotel. The staff was very friendly. However the heating system is incredibly loud. It bangs and clanks all night. Also it is impossible to get a bottle of water. It comes out of vending machines which were never re-stocked the entire time we were there. (4 days)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

near relitives in Oak Park

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Room was not cramped
Location: Enjoyed Frank L. Write neighborhood.
Old building ... some steps unavoidable. Room was beautiful # large. Bath was a little tight but no wait for hot water even on the 4th floor. Enjoyed breakfast. Desk staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Location in Oak Park

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel is in a quiet and safe location, and is very relaxing.
Very pleasant location near local shops and restaurants. We will be staying there again, and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, close to everything

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The only downside we experienced is that you have to walk down steps to enter lobby, then walk up steps to get to elevator to get to your room. So pack light!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A charming place to stay.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
We visit family in the area. We always stay at the Carlton. We love it's charm