Ratings based on 1,123 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Illinois

Solid Option Just Outside Chicago

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Great food at Barclay's Grill. Try the bacon-wrapped meatloaf with asparagus, excellent ! Complimentary access to a very nice YMCA.
Cons: Perhaps some minor updating of curtains, shower curtain, paint. But the room was clean which is more important.
Location: Hotel is located near many shops and restaurants. Didn't have much time to explore.
Hotel staff were very attentive, friendly,and notified us of the gift card option to apply to a meal at Barclay's Grill. Room was clean if in need of some updates. Bed very firm and comfortable. If you book through Expedia, you most likely will be staying in the back building of the hotel and not the main, historic building. We were hoping to stay in the main building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from valdosta, ga

Great Old Hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Family member
Cons: Friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk personnel.
Location: Tour the Frank Lloyd Wright House and surrounding neighborhood. Take the train into Chicago and visit Resortation Hardware, Grant Park, Market St.
Visited my daughter who lives in Oak Park. Beautiful old hotel in a great section of Chicago. Close to the rail line, great restaurants, and wine bars. Hotel has two good restaurants - Phil's is a sports bar and the other is a more formal dining room. Tour the Frank Lloyd Wright House and surrounding neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The room was very comfortable and nice. The staff was very helpful and super friendly. I’m coming back in November and I plan on staying again since my first visit was so nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great experience staying at the Carleton! Location was right in the heart of downtown Oak Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I love the room a lot of space, dining room, kitchen, the bathroom and Closet is big, I like the way that you feel in your own apartment. The hotel is over hundred years old and it's in really good condition. I'll come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place! Loved it!

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: historic, clean, close to downtown Oak Park
Location: Great shops and places to eat in downtown Oak Park. Nice area!
Was very nice to be close to downtown Oak Park. We walked to shop and eat! Very nice hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rolling meaodws il

Make Sure You Stay In Hotel not Motel!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We booked through Expedia not knowing that the room we booked was in the motel part of the hotel - completely separate building! Not nearly as nice. Open hallways to parking lot and ice machines inside main hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tone of our favorite places to stay!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We like the "motel" rooms with outside entrance. Check in was quick. Room exceptionally clean. Great location in Oak Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for A historical area

Posted Sep 10, 2017
It was somewhat pleasant the TV was small and it was a little worn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, quiet, clean, friendly staff, great neighborhood, access to transportation, ample parking
Location: Take a 30 minute ride on the green line into Chicago to explore the city, or walk two blocks into the heart of Oak Park for dining and shopping!
From other reviews, I was expecting an outdated, run-down hotel in a blah neighborhood, but that is the farthest from the truth! The hotel was beautiful, comfortable, updated, clean, and Oak Park is a gorgeous neighborhood. The parking here was so convenient, even with a huge work truck. And the convenience of being a block from the green line was unbeatable! I can't wait to come back!