Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Rooms are very noisey......Overpriced.....

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Would never stay at this hotel again.....rooms are very very noisey...If you get anyone in a room next to you you can hear the TV and talking ....If they stay up all night you will get no sleep.....I would not recommend this hotel to anyone let alone a friend....We have stayed here twice...same both times...NEVER AGAIN... Also OVERPRICED...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable. Good location.

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Was a bit pricey but it was clean and comfortable. The only real objection was that the walls are not insulated for sound. We woke up early to the neighbors alarm and endured a fair amount of racket as they prepared to leave at 5:00 am on Sunday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient in Oak Park

Posted Mar 23, 2018
Pros: clean, quiet, spacious rooms, nice pub on first floor.
Location: Frank Lloyd Wright structures are marvelous.
Comfortable, convenient to family and friends. I grew up in Oak Park but live in the east now. This was a visit back to see family and friends. I did not want the traffic, and cost, of a downtown hotel, so the Carleton was the solution.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great chic little hotel very convenient to Loyola.

Posted Mar 18, 2018
The hotel is located in a cute area with restaurants and shops. The room was clean, lovely decor, comfortable firm bed. There was parking, but i was glad i brought a quarter to park in a metered space while checking in so i didnt have to walk back to the parking space to put the pass in the car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, Ohio

I can see why Al Capone liked this place

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Quaint hotel that reminds me of in the 1960's. It has a great restaurant, good, late-night bar, ans and excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

The Charm of Oak Park

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Pros: The location and the fabulous staff and the free parking.
Cons: Complementary coffee in the lobby.
Location: Location is perfect for accessing Chicago venues, as well as walking to shops, restaurants and the El.
Staying in the hotel amidst the charm of Oak Park was a most pleasant experience. Being able to walk to shops, restaurants, the YMCA and public transportation made my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, IA

Gracious with old charm and modern upkeep

Posted Feb 21, 2018
We lived less than a mile away until recently, and returned on business.The hotel is central, but quiet. We were impressed with their ability to preserve the charm of the old while not using that as an alibi for having it feel/look worn out. One example - sparkling new brass door fixtures, but the floor in the bathroom is a modern version of the white tiles offset with black tiles that you'd expect for a place of that era. Great modern tv, good curtains, etc. comfortable modern bed, high end sheets. Very clean. Very nice, responsive staff. The breakfast downstairs at Poor Phil's was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Check in was fast, parking was free and easy. Hotel has 2 restaurants to choose from. Great for the price. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Carlton charm

Posted Jan 29, 2018
The Carlton of Oak Park is vintage Chicago decor. If you imagine the roaring history of Chicago it’s around every corner of the Carlton. Their are three restaurants in the hotel which serve excellent food and spirits. They range from Cafe, elegant dinner to a sporty Pub. The Carlton is surrounded by neighborhood shopping stores, spas and name brand stores within walking distance. The facility is well cared for and kept very period correct. A really nice find for the seasoned traveler. During my stay I’ve had to shorten my stay and the hotel staff have been very accommodating. I’m be coming a regular for all the right reason....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2018
This was a perfect spot for us. Great location. Lots of restaurants and bars near by. I enjoyed my stay.