Ratings based on 1,183 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, IA

Gracious with old charm and modern upkeep

Posted Feb 21, 2018
We lived less than a mile away until recently, and returned on business.The hotel is central, but quiet. We were impressed with their ability to preserve the charm of the old while not using that as an alibi for having it feel/look worn out. One example - sparkling new brass door fixtures, but the floor in the bathroom is a modern version of the white tiles offset with black tiles that you'd expect for a place of that era. Great modern tv, good curtains, etc. comfortable modern bed, high end sheets. Very clean. Very nice, responsive staff. The breakfast downstairs at Poor Phil's was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Check in was fast, parking was free and easy. Hotel has 2 restaurants to choose from. Great for the price. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Carlton charm

Posted Jan 29, 2018
The Carlton of Oak Park is vintage Chicago decor. If you imagine the roaring history of Chicago it’s around every corner of the Carlton. Their are three restaurants in the hotel which serve excellent food and spirits. They range from Cafe, elegant dinner to a sporty Pub. The Carlton is surrounded by neighborhood shopping stores, spas and name brand stores within walking distance. The facility is well cared for and kept very period correct. A really nice find for the seasoned traveler. During my stay I’ve had to shorten my stay and the hotel staff have been very accommodating. I’m be coming a regular for all the right reason....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2018
This was a perfect spot for us. Great location. Lots of restaurants and bars near by. I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wyoming

Hotel Carleton

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Lovely hotel, close to downtown Oak Park. Delicious food in the pub restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Fl

Nice hotel near our family.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
When we arrived, we were not welcomed by the young man at the front desk. after a grueling trip from CA, we were exhausted. But he barely greeted us. Nor did he offer to get us help with our bags. In fact, he barely looked at us. The maids never supplied the room with tissues and one day, they seemed have been interrupted before finishing the bathroom. This was not our first visit, so we were surprised by our reception and the service.
4 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rosemarie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Nov 17, 2017
I got I room next to the main hotel. That I didn't know, They called it motel carleton, the beds were filthy and hair all over the 2 beds, and when I asked to change the room, the staff was angry and responded with actitud. I think they should train better to people who are at the reception.
4 out of 5
by George

Quaint, convenient, friendly, safe, clean

Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Hotels
The Carleton is very convenient for our Chicago visits: near the "L" and bus which get us to family, symphony, zoo, art museum etc. A fairly easy trip from O'Hare also. This is not a new hotel, but has been adequately updated and maintained "Quaint" is a good word here. We have stayed here several times and will continue to do so.