Ratings based on 1,059 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mid Century Modern Hotel conveniently located.

Posted May 23, 2017
Good location in Oak Park. Room was comfortable and restaurant had great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flint MI

David Greys Concert

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: all good
Cons: couldnt find vending machines
nice place- all was great thanks we would return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Wonderful Experience!

Posted May 16, 2017
Had a wonderful experience with the Carlton and can't wait to book it for our next trip to Chicago!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Brusque and surly staff at check-in. Rooms are in multiple buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Pleasant, MI

Great spot to stay when visiting Chicago!

Posted May 13, 2017
This was an excellent hotel to stay in for a mini-vacation to Chicago. The Green Line is about a 30 minute ride to the loop (Art Institute, restaurants, Symphony Center, shopping, Millennium Park, etc. Etc.), and the station for the Green Line is only a block north of the hotel. The neighborhood (especially the walk from the station to the hotel) felt very safe, even late at night. We stayed in the 'cottage' part of the hotel, not the main building, but this was no problem. The walls are a little on the thin side, and the bathroom is small, but it worked for us. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. Oak Park was lovely, too, for those less interested in going downtown. Walkable from the hotel with lots of shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Lovely Classical and Stylish

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Tasteful appearance, comfortable room, helpful staff
Location: The hotel is a few pleasant blocks from the downtown of Oak Park, with much to do locally. It's also right near the 'L' train for access to Chicago.
This is a delightful hotel, decorated in a classic and understated way. The Lobby is most attractive, the room was quiet and very comfortable. The easy chair with a reading lamp was a very nice touch.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Do not go to this hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing....absolutely nothing. Stay away.
Cons: Staff, cleanliness, maintenance, safety. Everything. This was the worst "hotel" room I have ever been in.
Location: Irrelevant
The greeting staff was rude when she realized the reservation was through Expedia. She pulled the paperwork and, with a chuckle and smirk, announced to me that I was going to get a room in their "travel lodge" area. This turned out to be a separate building with no elevator access, open stairs exposed to the rain, and the room was something out of the mid-1950's "motel" era. The carpet was dirty, the bathroom had peeling paint, the faucet was dirty, the toilet had "debris" around the seat hinges, the light switches had dirt on top of the cover plates, exhaust was filthy, the timer-controlled heater in the bathroom was non-functional, there was only one bar of soap that had to be shared between the sink and the bathtub. The entry door had an obvious previous break-in as evidenced by the broken and repaired strike plate and when they put the security chain back on, they installed it backward, making it easy to remove the chain from the outside. Since I was there for a family funeral, I did not have time to complain until I checked out. They could not provide me with a satisfactory resolution other than to say that they felt it was an unusual situation. That's when I pulled out the pictures that I took of the room. They said they would contact the General Manager who was not there at the time but would get back to me. I gave them my contact information. I do not expect that I should be charged a single penny for this stay (for which I pre-paid). Look at the pics!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, Ohio

Good location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Staff made a mistake and gave us a room that was already occupied. So to make up for the mistake, they upgraded our room to a king.
Cons: Just wish you didn't have to walk up steps to get to the elevator.
Location: Nice location. Easy to get to where we wanted to go.
Pleasant stay. Our 2nd time staying here. Restaurant staff very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Night staff abrupt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
For what the hotels costs the amenities are awful. The only saving grace is the location is phenomenal.