Ratings based on 1,087 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, quiet, clean, friendly staff, great neighborhood, access to transportation, ample parking
Location: Take a 30 minute ride on the green line into Chicago to explore the city, or walk two blocks into the heart of Oak Park for dining and shopping!
From other reviews, I was expecting an outdated, run-down hotel in a blah neighborhood, but that is the farthest from the truth! The hotel was beautiful, comfortable, updated, clean, and Oak Park is a gorgeous neighborhood. The parking here was so convenient, even with a huge work truck. And the convenience of being a block from the green line was unbeatable! I can't wait to come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old👎

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location only
No breakfast. Terrible parking. Too expensive with poor quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice experience. I wish we had more time to spend there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Perfect location in Oak Park, can walk to many restaurants and shops. Close to the train for travel into the city.
Cons: Staff could be more attentive to guests.
Water was shut off to the motel for two hours due to an emergency. Other than putting up notices, there was nothing done to compensate guests for the inconvenience. I was only compensated when I brought it up to the staff at check-out. They agreed to refund me $25. I should not have had to ask
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Unexpected pleasure found in Oak Park

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: A guide to the various parking lots, and post cards of the facility would be convenient. The in room brand of coffee could be better.
Location: See above
The Carleton of Oak Park is a jewel in the burbs. Access to Lake Street Shops and the Wright houses is excellent. It is a quick L hop to the Conservatory and the The Art Instituted down town is about as long again. I love the trains and being at the end of the line allows a party to select its seating. Moreover the Brookfield Zoo is a short drive. It might be an even more lovely place to stay and eat al fresco in the spring or fall. I highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a hotel close to green line with terrible wifi

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Close to CTA green line.
Cons: wifi need additional login that not available in the guest room
Location: close to CTA green line, nice.
When I checked in, my reservation cannot be located. I trust Expedia, since I received the reminder from Expedia two days ahead. I think this is the problem of the hotel. The wifi is sooooooooo terrible. There is an additional login that only available in the lobby. If your room is outside the main building, you cannot open that login webpage even though you have bookmarked it on your computer. The correct way is go to the lobby, then you will see the additional login, after you have agrees the terms and conditions return to the room, disconnect, reconnect. Do the above process on all your devices again if you need wifi the next morning. Terrible! I talked to the front desk, not useful. They said the wifi should work. Besides the above, the restroom seems to be a bit small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world elegance

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Beautiful area in Oak Park, walking to restaurants and shopping. This hotel doesn't feel the need for sleek styling and seems proud of its older decor. Carrying luggage up 6 steps to get to an elevator is carrying it a bit far. Free parking makes up for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean/Hard Beds

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The hotel is nice and the rooms are spacious and clean. We stayed in a king. The bed was horribly hard! Also no breakfast for room service which we missed while booking. Philz's has great breakfast but we wanted to relax in bed for awhile.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Blood on door of bathroom YUCK!
4 out of 5
by Jean

Clean room near the center of Oak Park

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
The location is excellent, but the motel section is quite worn. Service was excellent and the room was very clean.