Ratings based on 1,003 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from duluth mn

Nice clean safe

Posted Dec 7, 2016
I enjoy convience of restaurants and bars without leaving hotel. Very nice and quiet. I loved looking out of my windows at the quaint little town atmosphere
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Near everything. Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
This is a beautiful old hotel. The staff was very friendly. However the heating system is incredibly loud. It bangs and clanks all night. Also it is impossible to get a bottle of water. It comes out of vending machines which were never re-stocked the entire time we were there. (4 days)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

near relitives in Oak Park

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Room was not cramped
Location: Enjoyed Frank L. Write neighborhood.
Old building ... some steps unavoidable. Room was beautiful # large. Bath was a little tight but no wait for hot water even on the 4th floor. Enjoyed breakfast. Desk staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Location in Oak Park

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel is in a quiet and safe location, and is very relaxing.
Very pleasant location near local shops and restaurants. We will be staying there again, and again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, close to everything

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The only downside we experienced is that you have to walk down steps to enter lobby, then walk up steps to get to elevator to get to your room. So pack light!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italia

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Albergo in stile tradizionale, in un quartiere a circa 30 minuti dal centro di Chicago, ma ben servita da negozi, ristoranti, pub ecc. L'hotel ha un ristorante grill ottimo! Abbiamo alloggiato in una camera dell'hotel (edificio principale, l'hotel ha anche una zona motel), che era pulita e spaziosa, il bagno provvisto di set di cortesia. Unico neo negativo la moquette, tipica di tutti gli hotel di questo tipo. La stazione della metro è a 5 minuti a piedi dall'hotel. il centro di Chicago si raggiunge in circa 30 minuti
Cons: Vicino all'aeroporto, a circa 30 minuti di metro dal centro, Moquette nella camera.
Location: zona ben servita
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: very quaint and charming. Room was large with small room with sink, refrigerator and eating, work area. The location was great to metro and restuara
Cons: Location, charm, food, Cleanliness
Great place. would stay there again. Wish the staff told us about breakfast shop in Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Quiet stay in a great location.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: The location is great and within walking distance of the Spilt Milk bakery opening we attended. There are several restaurants nearby.
We were in room 418. The hotel staff was friendly for our late arrival. Free parking is a plus, though with a late arrival it was more of a challenge to find an empty spot in one of the 5 lots. They are all very close to the hotel, so we felt no concern walking from the car to the lobby. This is an old building and has a lot of character. The elevators were small but functioned smoothly. The room had a great view and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was on the smaller side and was very clean. It was also nicely warm. The wall a/c unit next to the bed did a good job cooling the room. Overall the room was charming and met our needs very well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised. Beautiful old hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Front desk went out of there way to correct a booking mistake that wasn't their fault. Very friendly and accommodating. Room was spacious and inviting. If you are looking for new and modern than this isn't the place for you. We will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

comfortable, great location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: All
Cons: Doors were a little squeaky
Location: Overnight stay for hospital admission great location close to everything
One night stay was very comfortable room was large and extremely clean staff was great and location was perfect