Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Nov 17, 2017
I got I room next to the main hotel. That I didn't know, They called it motel carleton, the beds were filthy and hair all over the 2 beds, and when I asked to change the room, the staff was angry and responded with actitud. I think they should train better to people who are at the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Posted Nov 14, 2017
We were there for 2 nights. The hotel is a bit dated, but that was expected. Beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom has close to zero counter space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The rooms were not as quiet as we would have liked. There was plenty of equipment noise ( fans outside etc.) and we could hear voices in adjacent rooms. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

older hotel but very nice.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
older hotel but very nice. close to everything. walking to shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Motel near the parking lot

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great quaint little motel yet comfort of a 5 star hotel. Roomy space with an apartment feel and great overall experience. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
I have stayed at Carleton once before and enjoyed it. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Hotel has a nice restaurant and the Poor Phil's bar is great with a fine selection of beers. Location is great. Block and a half to El and Metra to the Loop. 3 blocks to Lake Street in Oak Park. Much to do in Oak Park. Large number and variety of restraurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Awesome location!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We loved the Carleton! So close to the L, and great shops and restaurants within walking distance. We spent most of our days in downtown Chicago, but really lived coming back to quaint Oak Park for quiet evenings. Will surely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Comfortable

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Comfortable quiet room. Excellentbed and bedding. Vergy close to Green line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Illinois

Solid Option Just Outside Chicago

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Great food at Barclay's Grill. Try the bacon-wrapped meatloaf with asparagus, excellent ! Complimentary access to a very nice YMCA.
Cons: Perhaps some minor updating of curtains, shower curtain, paint. But the room was clean which is more important.
Location: Hotel is located near many shops and restaurants. Didn't have much time to explore.
Hotel staff were very attentive, friendly,and notified us of the gift card option to apply to a meal at Barclay's Grill. Room was clean if in need of some updates. Bed very firm and comfortable. If you book through Expedia, you most likely will be staying in the back building of the hotel and not the main, historic building. We were hoping to stay in the main building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from valdosta, ga

Great Old Hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Family member
Cons: Friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk personnel.
Location: Tour the Frank Lloyd Wright House and surrounding neighborhood. Take the train into Chicago and visit Resortation Hardware, Grant Park, Market St.
Visited my daughter who lives in Oak Park. Beautiful old hotel in a great section of Chicago. Close to the rail line, great restaurants, and wine bars. Hotel has two good restaurants - Phil's is a sports bar and the other is a more formal dining room. Tour the Frank Lloyd Wright House and surrounding neighborhood.