Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Fantastic setting and comfortable.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: More varied vegetarian menu but this is a familiar complaint at most hotels.
Location: Ideal for walking , running, sailing etc.
Really good three days. Lovely walking and able to watch our daughter run her marathon easily.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Best Western Hotel Normanton

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect to visit Rutland Water
Cons: In need of refurbishment Catering equipment to keep food warm
Location: Rutland Water ..... Beautiful !! Anglian Water free Mobility Scooter for hire!
Hotel staff friendly, polite and helpful. Building and rooms in need of refurbishing. Restaurant menu not really to our taste but the food we had was good. The buffet breakfast we had on our last day was stone cold and very disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Alan

Good hotel, let down by very uncomfortable bedding

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel location is lovely, and we enjoyed the views across Rutland Water from our room. The staff were friendly and efficient. The food and service for dinner in The Clock restaurant were excellent. But the bed was one of the most uncomfortable we've experienced in a long time. And the pillows were bad as well. We see that several other guests have made similar observations. If new mattresses all round are out of the question, then could I suggest the hotel invests maybe £100 a room on good quality deep mattress toppers and new pillows? Two other areas for improvement - The breakfast buffet had just one pastry, no hash browns, and hardly any fruit available when we arrived, and we weren't the last to arrive. Also, there were a lot of noisy guests in the garden well after midnight. The staff ought to have asked them to be quiet. Unless the hotel does something about the bedding, we certainly wouldn't stay there again or recommend it. Such a pity!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bletchley

Close to Rutland Water

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Very nice hotel with really pleasant staff. Lovely location.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Great Location

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel, pet friendly and very much as described. The courtyard rooms are accessible easily and of a good overall standard. They will probably be due for an upgrade but are very serviceable. Stayed on the hottest night of the year so difficult to judge overall room ambience as it was hot everywhere. Staff reception very friendly and helpful especially when setting up breakfast in a location that we could bring in the dog as it was too hot for the car. Did not eat in the restaurant but we had bar menu that was good. The location is great, adjacent to the path around Rutland water and has lovely views. We visited the nature reserves which were excellent and there are other recreational pursuits nearby. We would visit again, the nearby villages are well kept and the hostelries are of a good quality. Minor gripe, to obtain access to the facilities on the water the parking charge is high and generally not refundable. At £1.50 for one hour and £3.50 as the next break above it makes that cup of tea expensive if you overstay the hour. Tried the L'Olivietto facility in the morning without success, it was supposed to open at 07.30 but at 09.30 we were informed without much grace that they did not know when they would open because the "boss has not come in" so be careful if making plans for this. Overall a very enjoyable stay and we would return.
5 out of 5
by Noel

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful views over Rutland Water. Good room. A bit isolated but with a car a good choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of lake . Nice outside area

Posted May 1, 2017
Our room across the car park . Pleasant breakfast room . Could hear next room . Only enough hot water for one bath ... had to wait for next . Good location for cycle rides.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Short and sweet.Amazing and friendly staff. Great room with a beautiful view. Excellent experience. Would highly recommended.