Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oundle

Absolutely Beautiful Hotel, Location & Views

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: First Class throughout our stay
Cons: Our room was smaller than we expected and carpet had water damage.
Location: The location is in a village, close to Rutland Water, for long walks or cycling and has a pub nearby.
From the minute we parked and saw the beautiful surroundings of the Hotel, we knew we were going to have a Wonderful treat and we were not disappointed. A warm welcome awaited us, we were given a guided tour of the Hotel, shown to our Lake View room and offered refreshments. The view of the gardens and beyond at sunset were amazing and the room extremely comfortable and well equipped, with everything provided. After a walk around the grounds, a rest and a relaxing bath we looked forward to our evening meal. The Exterior and interior of the Hotel is idyllic with log fires both in the Bar and Drawing room, a lovely setting for pre-Dinner drinks. The Staff were very polite, professional and knowledgeable and the Food. Well, what can I say? The only word to describe it is Exquisite. The Quality, Combination of subtle flavours and Presentation was second to none and shall be remembered for a very long time. We look forward to returning to Hambleton Hall and would certainly recommend a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
The food during our stay was worthy of more than the single Michelin star
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Pre wedding stay

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here the night before our daughters wedding, The service at this hotel is the best we have had anywhere in the world. The location is magical. We were blessed with fabulous weather. Gardens and view are stunning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
This was a wonderful venue for a special occasion. Attentive staff ensuring every comfort; a comfortable room with a pleasing outlook and a superb location. The icing on the cake however was the stunning meal in the restaurant. Simply magnificent.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Belated birthday weekend

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Charming Victorian country house, converted to 15 room hotel. Wonderful location on the banks of Rutland Water. Room with fantastic views. The dinner in the restaurant was delicious as was the breakfast. Very friendly staff. Can't recommend this hotel enough 10/10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Warrington

A sophisticated hotel in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: There is plenty to do, cycling, walking and bird watching.
From the moment of our arrival we where made to feel very much at home. All rooms are exquisitely furnished and extremely comfortable. The main sitting room has beautiful views over Rutland waters. I believe we most probably had the best meal we ever had in England. The chef deserves at least three Michelin stars. Dominique chose some excellent wines for us, he certainly knows his job. Thank you. After a wonderful evening we retired to our beautiful room and had a relaxing sleep in the best bed linen ever!! We shall return!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury, UK

A splendid hotel overlooking Rutland Water

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: A feeling of peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. It was an historic house with up to date facilties.
Cons: Perhaps the beautiful lawn could have provided croquet facilities?
Location: Many of the outdoor hunting, walking and water sport activities.
A great welcome from the staff. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. The garden was lovely and the grounds extensive. Dinner was an imaginative combination of locally produced food. We selected a very good wine from an extensive wine list. The cooked breakfast was perfection. Sadly they did not have any marmite that we like with our toast. The grounds even had room to arrive by helicopter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Wonderful hotel - wish we could have stayed longer

Posted Mar 16, 2015
What a place! Beautiful, luxurious but very relaxed and unpretentious. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was gorgeous with a bath big enough for two and the food was out of this world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Kent, UK

Who needs to visit France?

Posted Nov 2, 2012
Pros: The food and wine list.
Cons: Impossible to fault! Country living at its best.
Location: Beautiful views, well worth the drive. We even went for a walk in the rain.
As we live in East Kent it is normally far easier for us to stay in France to indulge our taste buds. We visited Rutland, as we had family business in Nottingham & it was the nearest Relais & Chateau on the way. Hambleton Hall lived up to every expectation. We can't wait to visit again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Country House Excellence

Posted Jun 22, 2007
Smaller than you might expect, the hotel is wonderfully located on a peninsular jutting out into Rutland Water. Facilities within the hotel are cosy rather than spectacular - no gym, spa or other modern offerings but a very pleasant heated outdor pool attracted the generally rather elderly clientele. Our standard room was very small but beautifully appointed and with a large bathroom, full airconditioning and a lake view (remember to ask for this when you book). The hotel is really about food and the restaurant is remarkable - intense flavours, unusual presentations (my starter was embedded in a block of ice)and attentive service. Nothing is too much trouble. The set chef's menus are good value and nothing is skimped on the portion size or quality if you select them. Very expensive and a worthwhile treat.