Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Quite

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Quiet hotel and very handy for the town centre and easy access to Rutland water.
Cons: We liked it just as it is.
Location: Oakham’s a good location for real ale and good local food and, if you must, sightseeing, cycling, walking, fishing, golf, water sports and photography
No gimmicks or trendy bar just an old fashioned quiet hotel with good service and a car park. No evening meals but Oakham has plenty of good pubs and restaurants within a five minute walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

Not Great

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness was good. No problem with parking
Cons: The place seemed to be run with financial stringency.
Location: Oakham is a lovely little town, and Rutland Water is very near.
My impression was that it is running on a shoestring. there was one staff on reception when we arrived, but all the rest of the time, including departure there was no one there at all. She wisely asked us to pay on arrival. Security was non-existent - anyone could walk in or out as far as we could see. Breakfast was pretty good apart from only bread being sliced toast. The one member of staff always smiled and was pleasant. Our room was very cold on arrival. The following morning the heating came on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Great location in Oakham with own private carpark

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: location and carparking provision.
Cons: the room was looking a little dated
Location: Town centre- used the hotel as a base to go to Rutland Water and Belvoir Castle.
The hotel was fine for a short bank holiday break, with an excellent location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and great breakfast. Sadly my room was over the area where staff took late night cigarette breaks so I was kept awake. Just unlucky with my room - it was a late booking and the hotel was busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, United Kingdom

Nice central Oakham hotel, close to Rutland water

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: location, good quality linen and beds and windows that open for fresh air. Simple and speedy check in
Location: Lots to do nearby, several pubs to visit, and the local Rutland Water with all of it's attractions whether you are a cyclist, Sailor or Windsurfer
A lovely location to stay with free parking, it was perfect for a Wedding reception that i attended in Oakham. Clean, tidy and fresh room with a hearty breakfast in the morning. No frills, but a great price! Hotel staff were only too happy to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy clean quiet hotel near to town centre

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Stayed last year. Enjoyed it so we returned. Convenient for birdwatching on Rutland Water and exploring the area. Great breakfasts, good parking. Only thing lacking is a thermostat on the shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice clean tidy hotel, would definitely stay again

Posted May 14, 2017
The best shower I think I've ever had, amazing! Clean hotel, nothing bad to write. Car park is a bit small
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would definitely recommend this hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Tidy, clean and nicely appointed room. Lovely bathroom with amazing shower! Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by brian

A nice stay

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel bedrooms and bathrooms are very clean indeed and the breakfast is second to none in quality and freshness. We could not fault the friendliness of the staff running the hotel. The hotel lacks a decent bar with good selection of wine but it is very close to the centre of Oakham where you will find an assortment of restaurants and pubs or further away in the country side, many smart pubs with excellent menus. The area, Rutland Water, is extremely picturesque with many pretty villages, a dream for hikers and cyclists.
5 out of 5
by Janice L

Memorable Stay

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleased. Felt at home. Comfortable. All needs met. Lovely big bath for soaks. Lots of toiletries provided. Very close to town centre and museum. Awesome breakfast