Ratings based on 2,139 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious rooms,

Posted Nov 13, 2017
We were comfortable with our stay, I left my sunglasses and They were kind enough to send them to me through mail. Will stay there again if we go back to Yosemite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Brandon, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We understand that it can be easy to overlook smaller items while packing, especially while trying to make your way into Yosemite. This is why we take proper care of items which have been left behind and assist with the timely return of the items. I am humbled to know that we were able to help you with your sunglasses and that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us nearby Yosemite Nation Park. If you do make it to the Yosemite Area again, we will be delighted to speak with you once again. Best regards, Brandon Associate General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Overall excellent experience. The thermostat in the room was difficult to figure out and the continental breakfast is subpar. I'd still recommend though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Brandon, Associate General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Issues aside, we are happy to know that we achieved excellence nevertheless. We are thankful for the opportunity to have hosted you and hope to see you again. Best regards, Brandon Associate General Manager`
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Very nice hotel to close Yosemite

Posted Oct 31, 2017
It was very clean, comfortable bed, good remodeling, & nice staff in charming town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Brandon, Associate General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sachi: Thanks for the Perfect Score review! At Yosemite Southgate, we strive to create the best guest experience one can enjoy while in the Yosemite Area. We are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Brandon Associate General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside - CA

Excellent

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Very nice hotel, location is everything, the room was clean, nice staff, close to many restaurants, very close to the South Gate entrance to the Yosemite National Park, me and my wife loved, definitely coming back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Brandon, Associate General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Boanerges: What can we say other than THANK YOU for such a stellar review! We are doing everything we can to make Yosemite Southgate one of the best places to stay nearby Yosemite National Park. We will be more than happy to see you and your wife next time! Best regards, Brandon Associate General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayucos,Ca

Nice, quiet, comfortable rooms!

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Clean, comfortable, quiet room. Bed was clean, good, plenty of pillows. Continental breakfast has the usual items, great muffins, coffee and juices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC

Good Hotel for the price

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Everything was great with two exceptions. (1)The free breakfast and dining area were so bad that we ate elsewhere after the first morning. (2) The $5 resort fee left a bad taste. Just charge the right price and stop playing these silly games. FYI Yosemite was practically unusable because of road construction and lousy traffic management.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Brandon, Associate General Manager, Hotel Management
Hey there Bob: Exceptions aside, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding breakfast, we remodeled the area to the best of our ability based on the original layout of the hotel. We did create an additional breakfast seating area away from where breakfast is served in order to alleviate the traffic which can occur. As far as the Resort Fee is concerned, it is part of the right price, but can seem to be separate at times when the rate and tax is collected by Expedia, leaving it to be collected by the hotel. If possible, I encourage that you visit Yosemite again during the first two weeks of April. This is the best time to visit Yosemite - the falls will be raging and crowds will not yet have formed. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Brandon Associate General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tahoe

Loved this hotel!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Big, clean, comfortable, room. Decor seemed new. Super friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: clean and spacious room
clean and spacious room, close to restaurants clean and spacious room, close to restaurants clean and spacious room, close to restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
I had a King suite which had a large balcony with a great view. It was convenient to Yosemite. There were great restaurants and lounges in the area plus a CVS nearby. The staff was very helpful. Even though the room was older it was clean and met my needs. The "breakfast" was sparse but it had coffee 24/7. There is a microwave and fridge in the room so you can eat there. I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Rented for my sister and her husband. Had a drink in the room before we left for dinner.