Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 707

I've paid more for a lot worse.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Charming, old school, not bad, really. One gripe: the walls were thin & I could hear every word of an all night tweaker conversation next door. Good thing there was a ceiling fan to drown it out. No a/c but you won't need it. Berkeley temps rarely goes over 70℉.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic motel in pricey Berkeley

Posted Dec 26, 2016
The receptionist was fine but a light in the bathroom turned on automatically, what seemed like every 20 minutes and awakened me when the loud refrigerator was not doing the same. The blankets were thin and sparce although it was very cold outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Visiting

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Was convient and close to the area I wanted to be. Was able to use local train and bus systems easily.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Outside the hotel looked nice. Inside not too bad. Had a weird smell to it. Beds were hard and woke up in the morning to cockroach's roaming the room. Told theveryone front desk clerk at check out and he didn't seem surprised or cared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Surprisingly comfortable.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: Close BART station, a couple bars, adjacent to a pizza joint, short drive from a grocery store.
America's Best Value Inn Golden Bear was surprisingly good. The outside facade may be a bit subjectively dated and it is adjacent to a pizza joint, but the inside of the rooms really removes any doubt that you made a good choice. The beds are comfortable and seemingly clean. My room had 4 beds, two in a separate smaller room next to it, an iron, coffee machine, television, phone, and other little things you'd expect from a hotel. The shower was clean and comfortable and the staff provided plenty of soap and towels to wash up. My only gripe was the lack of parking. I came in late at night and was too mentally exhausted to bother checking whether I could park on the street. I spoke to the staff at the front office and they told me I could park in the handicapped spot, which I did. I later decided to go to the nearby grocery store and upon coming back, I took the only non-handicapped spot which had become available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the heater was not working

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: the price
Cons: fix the heater
the heater was not working and it got cold at 4:00am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from claremont, ca

Posted Sep 27, 2016
A simple adequate old motel. Not fancy, and somewhat noisy. For cost, one of the better deals in Berkeley. I'll stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Staff is excellent. Room was clean. Walls are thin and bed was hard. I would stay again for price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Horrible and hot

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Cons: The room!! Please renovate and fix the shower so it is isn't a safety hazard!
Location: Great coffee shop/bakery across the street.
By far the worst hotel I have stayed in. Check-in was fine. Hotel itself was disgusting, dirty, and dingy. Shower had tiles sticking up and mildew. Decor was old. No A/C, and heating vent was going 100% of the time. Small fan in corner of room. Do not stay here! Requested refund from hotel which we still have not received.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Motel. Across from Acme Bread and Bartaval!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Cons: Bathrooms.
We had great breakfast every morning at Bartavale next to Acme Bread. Best bakery in town! Also close to the heart of Berkeley and the main Freeway. And also walking distance to the Bart Station. Whole Foods very close!! We only had one problem and that was that we had a leaky faucet in the shower, and the shower door did not close all the way. But I was told by the Hotel staff that they were working on updating the bathrooms. Otherwise we really liked this Motel! We will most likely stay here the next time we come to Berkeley!