Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close enough to San Francisco.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Overall, my experience at this hotel was a positive one. The only exception was the construction at the neighboring hotel made for limited parking and uncomfortable noise levels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Litle bit off the center, descent value for money choice...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Noisy room that smelled of chemicals

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Location to UC Berkeley
Cons: Just about everything: furniture, carpet and air quality in rooms, heating systems, breakfast. Provide solid closures on door thresholds.
Location: Near UC Berkeley and Trader Joe's. Sketchy at night if you go 2 blocks west.
We were given a ground floor room, which although fine in size, smelled of strong chemicals (not just typical cleaning products). The carpet and furnishishings were very old (maybe 30 years or more). The worst part was that the hot air system turned itself on at 5 am., blowing that chemical smell at us. I had a hard time controlling the heater in general. Motel is next to some serious construction site and also a huge trash dumpster right in the paking lot next to rooms.Lots of noise in our room from stairwell, departing guests, car arlarms, etc. At the included breakfast the coffee machine was out of order and there was only toast and some dry cereal, plus no place to sit. Very shabby experience. They are lucky to have their location close to UC campus, becuase otherwise . . . . The bathroom had been updated, but not enough to make me want to stay here ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heater didn't work

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Things should actually work in the room, like the toilet handle and the thermostat. Should be warned of construction and an option to cancel room.
Location: This was a working trip, didn't do much nearby.
Upon arrival found that toilet handle would not flush. Found that if you hold it a certain way you could make it work. But then it would fall on the floor. Set thermostat for 75 then fell asleep. Bed was comfortable. Awoke at 8:00AM to construction next door and freezing temperature (53 degrees). Discovered that heater had never turned on because thermostat was broken. Employee brought 2 space heaters with no financial compensation for my discomfort. Room was still cold even with the heaters. I felt for $90 a night, the room should come with heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Limited parking but overall great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marilyn from New York

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
I arrived from the East Coast late. The travel lodge was easy to find in Berkeley. It was a good place for me to spend the night. Early morning construction on the lot next-door was very noisy but that is something that travel lodge has no control over.The hotel is old but it was clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Brief stay.

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Fine motel for stopping over night......
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Major Construction!

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Staff, clean and very comfortable bedding. And of course the location!
Cons: disclosure of construction since it is adjacent to the hotel itself. cleaning around the windows and replace or repair damaged furnishings.
Location: multitudes of dining and wonderful walking area. Felt safe and the area is clean. A great Trader Joe's about a block away.
Expedia and the hotel should disclose when major construction is directly adjacent to this smaller hotel. Working an overnight shift I would of elected to stay elsewhere. Since i booked through Expedia the hotel could not cancel my 2nd nites stay. Construction on a new series of condos began at 7:15am. So this construction is on for some time to come. While the bedding and all linen were very clean and comfortable the room was in poor repair. Literally heavy springs hanging from the bottom of a table chair. The light above the bath sink flicked on the directly off and stayed off. The overhead light did supply plenty of great lighting. Other issues but none major. Again the staff and cleanliness were great. Just don't look around the windows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Melisa from Redding, ca

Underconstruction no sleeping in

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Underconstuction. Or nextdoor was.could not sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Rooms nicer than hotel looks

Posted Oct 19, 2015
The room was nice and clean, comfortable bed. All amenities worked well - microwave, refrigerator, TV, and A/C. Hotel staff and breakfast a little sparse. The only true disappointment I had was no bathtub, shower only.