Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great Remodel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The room was great, and the bed super comfortable, spotless clean!
Cons: Finish construction for more parking but that will happen!
Location: Berkeley is an action packed neighborhood and full of great restaurants, shops and Freight and Salvage with wonderful entertainment!
They are remodeling this facility and the rooms are stunning and pristine! A beautiful stay...still a bit of construction, but it was a great room and property!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

ONLY EXCUSE I CAN FIND IS, it"s BERKELEY, after al

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The staff were pleasant. It was clean.
Cons: use cleaning products that dont smell so strongly or air the room out!! Get a decent coffee maker and coffee in the room.
Location: Berkeley_ . Golden Gate Fields is close. eat. lots of really good hole in the wall mom n pop family run type restaurants with a world wide
Parking is horrendous. Homeless drifting thru. Room is tiny and smelled so strongly of cleaning fluid I had to open the windows and door to air it out. was making me sick. The shower was huge and wonderful. Undoubdtly retrofitted after taking out a tub. Breakfast was totally unimpressive. Coffee and coffe maker in rom was laughably chintzy. But it is Berkely and everything is overpriced and cramped anf crazy. Maids are really nice. Stay in an outlying area. Berkeley sucks if you like space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Considering there was a little construction going on the crew was still pleased with this hotel. Location and price were very good.I will book there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Newly Remodeled & Walkable to UC Berkeley

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: We've found the staff to be very accommodating. We liked the close proximity to campus and having a place to park our car (huge problem in Berkeley).
Cons: In the small office space they offer a complimentary continental breakfast. It would be nice if they added some fruit and yogurt.
Location: The location is walking distance to the campus, stadium, and restaurants.
We have stayed in this hotel for years when we visited our son at Cal. However, when we arrived for our most recent visit, we were pleasantly surprise to find that they just finished a complete remodel of the facilities. The rooms had new furniture, beds, carpets, paint, and bathrooms with modern tile, glass, and fixtures. The exterior had a lot of work done as well including a complete new paint. Nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Accessibility ... parking ... cleanliness ...
Cons: Keep smiling...
Location: Central location in Berkeley on University, you can reach anywhere walking
Convenient, clean and affordable. Undergoing renovation. Well done... Keep the good work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
It was an excellent value for the money. I hope it can stay that way! The property is nearing the end of a renovation, and that helped a lot as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
hotel was nice, clean, walking distance from campus
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Owner watching you like a Hawk

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: the price booked last min.
Cons: the person in charge on Saturday night the Nov 26
Location: not very safe neighborhood.
as soon as we parked owner or person in charge just starting at you, not friendly attitude but just watching your every move.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Under renovation - but the room itself is great!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Just walk east 2 - 3 blocks, and you have downtown Berkeley - restaurants and shoppes.
The outside is a horror, with renovation activity. Inside, though, the room would go a close second to a typical Hilton or Marriott. Completely new furnishings, including a large, flat screen TV. Electrical outlets everywhere. Not a large room - but well furnished. A designer bathroom, with large glass door shower stall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Good value and walking distance to the university

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Decent Hotel and good value for the money. Room recently remodeled and clean. Staff friendly. Bed comfortable. My only ask is that the pillows be upgraded, as their quality did not match the quality of the bed. Good value for the money