Ratings based on 1,167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Stay-cation

Posted Aug 29, 2016
If you live in the SF bay area and want to get away but don't want to deal with flying anywhere, the Claremont is a perfect stay-cation. Pricey but luxurious. Worth it for a few days. Get a coupon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey,CA.

Finally a good hotel in Berkeley.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The staff, the maid service and the updated bathrooms. This hotel also has an excellent gym!
This hotel has finally arrived as a good place to stay. It is now professionally run and the rooms are updated. No more moldy carpets;) I guess it takes a Fairmont brand to make this a "real" hotel. Also worth the higher room prices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely redone

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Staff was great. Our air conditioning unit leaked water on the floor and they took 24 hours to come fix it. Nice decor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Business
the newly remolded rooms are amazing! and thoughtfully designed. Foot rest in shower for shaving legs. Vanity mirror placed high so you look fantastic! thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A lovely anniversery trip to the Claremont!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Spent a wonderful four days celebrating our third wedding anniversery at the Claremont Hotel and Spa. Best Fairmont stay to date! The only tiny disappointment was that the casual dining area was still being rebranded. Othereise the room, the staff, the club area, the food, and the afternoon tea service was exceptional!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Dirty and Disappointing

Posted Aug 19, 2016
For a luxury hotel, the Claremont still needs a bit of work. The cot that was brought up to our room for our child clearly hadn't been cleaned in weeks and the chaise lounges around the pool were stained and dirty. The hotel wait staff seemed to struggle with the basics -- lputting an unopened bottle of champagne down on our table and then walking away without opening or pouring it or leaving an ice bucket. Room service was slow with food orders missing and there was absolutely no flexibility around check out time. Surprising given the hotel is under new (and we had assumed improved) new management.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Beautiful hotel with great facilities

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Beautiful, historical hotel outside of the city. They have a great fitness center and 3 different pools. The standard room was small but newly renovated with a very nice bathroom. All hotel staff was friendly and helpful (from valet, bell man, front desk, fitness center). Great views from the hotel and walking distance from a cute town area with little stores (peets coffee, restaurants, etc).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Between fees, including paying 30.00 dollars a night to park your own car, resort fee it's too much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Terrible service by the stuff of the hotel including the reception manager Did not deliver the room on time and did not deliver the room type that we order Charge our credit card twice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

not qualified to comment on spa,etc.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: lovely breakfast room,nice, helpful staff
Cons: difficult to find main entrance, esp. if entering from side--where the GPS sent us.
Location: great bakery at foot of drive--
Upgraded to quiet room-their suggestion. Expensive extras[parking,$30per day,facilities,$26,per day.