Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Revamped under Fairmont management

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This is a "new" Claremont. The Lobby Bar is now a terrific place to zip drinks overlooking the Bay. Easy place to hold conversations. The quality of their service has stepped up to true 5 star standards. The refurbished rooms are first class- this is what the Claremont of old must have been. Awesome place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Very elegant and the staff could not have been more accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The Fairmont in Berkeley, CA. Old world charm.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The Claremont Hotel/Club/Spa in Berkeley is a great weekend getaway for couples. More for mature adults. It was very relaxing. The view from our room was beautiful. The only small issues was being awoken at 7:30 am every morning with the sound of tennis balls. Housekeeping not thorough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cloverdale, ca.

beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: beautiful
Cons: in our room with 2 beds we could have used 2 sinks in the bathroom and a mirror in the main room
Location: great place accessible to most things in the east bay
wonderful place-great service-will come back again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, but overpriced.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Room was nice, property nice.
Cons: It's not a 5 star.
Location: Location is good if you have a car. You can easily drive to many places, although parking in Berkeley is hard to find.
Room was nice, but the bay view we were supposed to have (and paid extra for) was a joke. Could hardly see it at all. I should have complained, but didn't feel like a confrontation. Staff was friendly. Property nice. Spa services were good, not great and overpriced. We had our nails done for probably triple the cost back home for no extra services. And, the nail and salon area should be upgraded. Not nice enough for the hotel. Menu for room service and restaurants did not have many options for non meat eaters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

gorgeous views but old building

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Hotel is stunning from the outside and lobby area is attractive, but hallways and rooms smell musty and it felt stark and deserted wandering the long hallways. Got lost several times. Gorgeous views are hard to appreciate from the small windows in the rooms...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good blend of new and old!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Nice for a historical hotel, fitness center is modern, pool area is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Healdsburg, California

Nice, but pricey

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Did a quick overnight stay while heading to Oakland Airport. Plenty of self-parking within easy walking distance to lobby. Arrived earlier than the 4 pm check-in time due to couples massage appt. in spa and checked to see if our room was ready (it was only 2:15) and the desk clerk got us into a nice, deluxe King room. Gorgeous view of the bay and SF. With the terrific view, it would have been nice to have binoculars in the room and to have the furniture arranged so you could sit and enjoy the view. We ended up positioning loveseat in front of the window so we could watch the sunset. For the room price...plus $30 self-parking, plus $26 resort fee you would expect a few "extras" to be included, but that is not the case. The room was clean and comfortable, but nothing that you wouldn't expect at a Holiday Inn or Best Western. We did find the bed to be on the hard side and the bottom sheet was not well fitted so it was a wrinkly mess all night. The windows only opened about 4 inches and the AC was very noisy, so we were pretty warm most of the night...and we were there in November. We wanted to have dinner in their signature Meritage Restaurant only to find that it is closed for dinner on Sunday evenings. Dined at Limewood Bar; had a good burger on the patio. The spa was pleasant, but again, nothing special or luxurious about it--standard. It was fun to stay at such a landmark iconic hotel, but I probably wouldn't stay there again. For the price, you can find better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

understaffed

Posted Nov 3, 2016
no one at the front desk when I checked in on a Tuesday about 2pm. They have 5 front desk and not one staff person for about 10 min. Using Expedia I got a standard room which was a queen bed and about 350 sq ft over looking a loading dock and trash. You get what you pay for but at $330+@26 resort and $30 for parking and the hotel empty I would think they would put people in better rooms on a Tuesday to show of and possible get a repeat out of it. no water nothing in the room no tissues in the tissue holder? Very noise at night could hear both my neighbors. Went to dinner at Lime good atmosphere during the world series. Ordered a Cod for $30 and it was 4oz I thought I made a mistake and ordered off the appetizer menus since I was at the bar but sadly no this was dinner. It was Cod not some fancy Seabass two bites! I ordered more food also good but very small. I could not get a waiter to refill my water when he came I kept the bottle since I did not know when I would see them again. When checking out the one front desk agent helping another guest who was complaining of service. Another agent did not come out to check me out for at least 5 min which seemed longer. She had no name tag and a nose ring and never bothered to ask me how my stay was. The one shining light was the valet who did ask me how my stay was and gave me good direction out of Dodge. The fairmont culture has not made its way into the staff yet I expected more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to return!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Easy to walk around Berkeley, to restaurants and shops. BART station is walkable.
Gorgeous hotel with excellent ammenities. Beautiful views.