Ratings based on 1,256 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Revamped under Fairmont management

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This is a "new" Claremont. The Lobby Bar is now a terrific place to zip drinks overlooking the Bay. Easy place to hold conversations. The quality of their service has stepped up to true 5 star standards. The refurbished rooms are first class- this is what the Claremont of old must have been. Awesome place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Very elegant and the staff could not have been more accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The Fairmont in Berkeley, CA. Old world charm.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The Claremont Hotel/Club/Spa in Berkeley is a great weekend getaway for couples. More for mature adults. It was very relaxing. The view from our room was beautiful. The only small issues was being awoken at 7:30 am every morning with the sound of tennis balls. Housekeeping not thorough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cloverdale, ca.

beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: beautiful
Cons: in our room with 2 beds we could have used 2 sinks in the bathroom and a mirror in the main room
Location: great place accessible to most things in the east bay
wonderful place-great service-will come back again and again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Priced higher then what I thought. The spa is only open until 5p so using this was not an option if you are there for business. Lots of add on fees, parking/daily of $30.00 and facilities charge $60.00 added to final bill.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
It's a beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, but overpriced.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Room was nice, property nice.
Cons: It's not a 5 star.
Location: Location is good if you have a car. You can easily drive to many places, although parking in Berkeley is hard to find.
Room was nice, but the bay view we were supposed to have (and paid extra for) was a joke. Could hardly see it at all. I should have complained, but didn't feel like a confrontation. Staff was friendly. Property nice. Spa services were good, not great and overpriced. We had our nails done for probably triple the cost back home for no extra services. And, the nail and salon area should be upgraded. Not nice enough for the hotel. Menu for room service and restaurants did not have many options for non meat eaters.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels