Ratings based on 1,205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to return!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Easy to walk around Berkeley, to restaurants and shops. BART station is walkable.
Gorgeous hotel with excellent ammenities. Beautiful views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The staff is excellent, friendly and knowledgeable
Cons: Bathrooms need to be renovated. Pillows were horrible and too flat.
Location: A little tricky to find the entrance to the hotel as it is within a country club
Tried to pick the nicest looking hotel in Berkeley but disappointed in the quality of the hotel. Old and needs to be renovated. A lot of construction and hard to get around the property. Felt very crowded. Great staff but rooms were mediocre for a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious and relaxing getaway

Posted Oct 12, 2016
My husband and I had the very spacious jr. suite. It was spotless and well-appointed. The bathroom was beautiful with a lovely stand-alone tub, chandelier and spacious shower. I ordered room service twice during our trip and it arrived in less than 30 minutes each time. The staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful. The spa services (I got a facial) were awesome as well. Overall I couldn't be happier with our stay. They made my birthday weekend feel relaxing and luxurious!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Amazing service and views. Hidden costs.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The service. The decor. The views. The hiking trail behind the hotel. Food and beverages at the restaurants.
Cons: Hidden expenses: parking, resort fee, valet fee, overpriced room service food and gratuity.
Location: The location is perfect - close to tons of Berkeley restaurants and Cal Berkeley.
We absolutely loved our two nights at the Claremont. The entire hotel staff was helpful, professional, and service oriented. The view from the bar and restaurant was amazing. The room was exceptionally clean. Although the room rate was reasonable for such upscale accommodations, there was a parking fee, a valet fee if you didn't self-park, and a resort fee that covers use of the pool/gym/etc. These "hidden" fees add a big percentage to the daily rate. We were then quite surprised to find the hotel doesn't supply free morning coffee in the lobby - you have to pay a high price per cup at the restaurant/bar. Besides these extra costs which I know are quite common at luxury hotels, we would stay at this hotel again when visiting Berkeley.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

For the pretentiously wealthy visitor

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Great view far, far, away.
Cons: Lower the price, include breakfast and parking and charge the "resort fee" only to those people who are using the pool facilities.
Location: Location would be fine if there were not a constant traffic jam on Tunnel Rd.
Not worthy of more than 2 stars and that's only because the bed was very comfortable. This is a very over-priced and over rated hotel, no breakfast included, on-site it costs upward of $30 person to have breakfast. Parking at $30 per day, resort fee at $26 per day, no radio in the room, no turn-down service, no cookies, no chocolates, nothing other than a nice bed and a lot of pretended high end service. Bathroom had cracked and chipped mirrors, cracked and chipped floor tiles, major spider webs on the (outside) of the windows, no frills, nothing! Major traffic congestion out front makes travel to and from the hotel a huge pain in the butt almost all day long. Next trip we are going back to Emeryville!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Poor check in experience. Room right by elevator. Walls were extremely thin and could clearly hear every conversation from neighboring rooms, and noise level outside the room. Housekeeping did a poor job, and didn't even stock a single towel on one of the days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
The room was too small for two persons. Only one sink in the bathroom . Disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Pedro, CA

Comfortable and relaxing

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Cons: Maybe add a few more bar staff after the Dave Matthews Band concert,
Location: Very convenient for both Berkeley and Oakland and also San Francisco.
Very enjoyable stay; would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Great stay. The experience was top notch and the staff (each and everyone) treat you like a queen!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA


Posted Aug 29, 2016
If you live in the SF bay area and want to get away but don't want to deal with flying anywhere, the Claremont is a perfect stay-cation. Pricey but luxurious. Worth it for a few days. Get a coupon.