Ratings based on 1,229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, but overpriced.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Room was nice, property nice.
Cons: It's not a 5 star.
Location: Location is good if you have a car. You can easily drive to many places, although parking in Berkeley is hard to find.
Room was nice, but the bay view we were supposed to have (and paid extra for) was a joke. Could hardly see it at all. I should have complained, but didn't feel like a confrontation. Staff was friendly. Property nice. Spa services were good, not great and overpriced. We had our nails done for probably triple the cost back home for no extra services. And, the nail and salon area should be upgraded. Not nice enough for the hotel. Menu for room service and restaurants did not have many options for non meat eaters.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

gorgeous views but old building

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Hotel is stunning from the outside and lobby area is attractive, but hallways and rooms smell musty and it felt stark and deserted wandering the long hallways. Got lost several times. Gorgeous views are hard to appreciate from the small windows in the rooms...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good blend of new and old!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Nice for a historical hotel, fitness center is modern, pool area is awesome!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

understaffed

Posted Nov 3, 2016
no one at the front desk when I checked in on a Tuesday about 2pm. They have 5 front desk and not one staff person for about 10 min. Using Expedia I got a standard room which was a queen bed and about 350 sq ft over looking a loading dock and trash. You get what you pay for but at $330+@26 resort and $30 for parking and the hotel empty I would think they would put people in better rooms on a Tuesday to show of and possible get a repeat out of it. no water nothing in the room no tissues in the tissue holder? Very noise at night could hear both my neighbors. Went to dinner at Lime good atmosphere during the world series. Ordered a Cod for $30 and it was 4oz I thought I made a mistake and ordered off the appetizer menus since I was at the bar but sadly no this was dinner. It was Cod not some fancy Seabass two bites! I ordered more food also good but very small. I could not get a waiter to refill my water when he came I kept the bottle since I did not know when I would see them again. When checking out the one front desk agent helping another guest who was complaining of service. Another agent did not come out to check me out for at least 5 min which seemed longer. She had no name tag and a nose ring and never bothered to ask me how my stay was. The one shining light was the valet who did ask me how my stay was and gave me good direction out of Dodge. The fairmont culture has not made its way into the staff yet I expected more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to return!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Easy to walk around Berkeley, to restaurants and shops. BART station is walkable.
Gorgeous hotel with excellent ammenities. Beautiful views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The staff is excellent, friendly and knowledgeable
Cons: Bathrooms need to be renovated. Pillows were horrible and too flat.
Location: A little tricky to find the entrance to the hotel as it is within a country club
Tried to pick the nicest looking hotel in Berkeley but disappointed in the quality of the hotel. Old and needs to be renovated. A lot of construction and hard to get around the property. Felt very crowded. Great staff but rooms were mediocre for a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious and relaxing getaway

Posted Oct 12, 2016
My husband and I had the very spacious jr. suite. It was spotless and well-appointed. The bathroom was beautiful with a lovely stand-alone tub, chandelier and spacious shower. I ordered room service twice during our trip and it arrived in less than 30 minutes each time. The staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful. The spa services (I got a facial) were awesome as well. Overall I couldn't be happier with our stay. They made my birthday weekend feel relaxing and luxurious!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Amazing service and views. Hidden costs.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The service. The decor. The views. The hiking trail behind the hotel. Food and beverages at the restaurants.
Cons: Hidden expenses: parking, resort fee, valet fee, overpriced room service food and gratuity.
Location: The location is perfect - close to tons of Berkeley restaurants and Cal Berkeley.
We absolutely loved our two nights at the Claremont. The entire hotel staff was helpful, professional, and service oriented. The view from the bar and restaurant was amazing. The room was exceptionally clean. Although the room rate was reasonable for such upscale accommodations, there was a parking fee, a valet fee if you didn't self-park, and a resort fee that covers use of the pool/gym/etc. These "hidden" fees add a big percentage to the daily rate. We were then quite surprised to find the hotel doesn't supply free morning coffee in the lobby - you have to pay a high price per cup at the restaurant/bar. Besides these extra costs which I know are quite common at luxury hotels, we would stay at this hotel again when visiting Berkeley.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

For the pretentiously wealthy visitor

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Great view far, far, away.
Cons: Lower the price, include breakfast and parking and charge the "resort fee" only to those people who are using the pool facilities.
Location: Location would be fine if there were not a constant traffic jam on Tunnel Rd.
Not worthy of more than 2 stars and that's only because the bed was very comfortable. This is a very over-priced and over rated hotel, no breakfast included, on-site it costs upward of $30 person to have breakfast. Parking at $30 per day, resort fee at $26 per day, no radio in the room, no turn-down service, no cookies, no chocolates, nothing other than a nice bed and a lot of pretended high end service. Bathroom had cracked and chipped mirrors, cracked and chipped floor tiles, major spider webs on the (outside) of the windows, no frills, nothing! Major traffic congestion out front makes travel to and from the hotel a huge pain in the butt almost all day long. Next trip we are going back to Emeryville!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Poor check in experience. Room right by elevator. Walls were extremely thin and could clearly hear every conversation from neighboring rooms, and noise level outside the room. Housekeeping did a poor job, and didn't even stock a single towel on one of the days.