Ratings based on 1,147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, but change the hotel fee $26 each day

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Change the hotel fee each day on top of daily rate. Bad bugs find it in the room.called FD the answer I get from them is "O well."
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cave Creek AZ

Best place to stay in Berkley

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: History, pool area and good food
Cons: Better detail of the type of view from the expensive Junior suites prior to making a reservation
Location: We only walked to the local coffee shop... about 5 minutes from hotel. Very nice place.
Nice hotel with lots of history & old charm... it's really the only place to stay in Berkley.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful location great walking area

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: the view
Cons: poll area and pool dining
Location: lots of resteraunts and coffee shops
We love the feel and historical value of this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Quiet

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Needed a night out of the hustle and bustle, this hotel is a hidden gem. Was impressed with the staff and their friendliness. Felt safe and secure as a woman traveling with children. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great view

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Refurbishment has given the hotel a lift. Loved the old photos wide corridors and lobby. Like the timer on the bathroom light/extractor fan.
Cons: Remove the mandatory resort facilities fee. We did not use pool, tennis, spa but were obliged to pay for these.
Location: Walking distance to Rockridge BART (too far with luggage). Many excellent book and other shops, and restaurants nearby.
We had a king room with view of the Bay and Golden Gate bridges - exactly what we had hoped for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca

Stunning Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2016
For starters, this hotel is gorgeous! the decor is immpecible and the staff was incredibly friendly. I highly recommend staying and will be be back for sure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Very loud if you get an Expedia low rate

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Don't take room 459!!! It's like sleeping in a restaurant kitchen!! Loud elevator for staff and constant door slamming like grand central station. Unfortunate because the place is majestic but loud room ruined the visit until the staff went to sleep at 2:00 AM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ALL GOOD,,,,

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: everything
Location: college ave 1/2 mile away has all the restaurant's u need,,, shopping,, the weather was great
the staff was very friendly,,, when we got to our room, it was not the exact room I saw on the virtual tour, so they switched us with no problem as the hotel has different rooms,,, we were very, very, very pleased with this hotel,,, luxury to the Tee
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chappaqua, New York

Lovely grand hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2016
This is a great traditional hotel in spectacular location with excellent sports facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You pay for what you get.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Overall, pretty nice. Great restaurant and bar. Fantastic view of the bay area. The exterior is a little run down. I was charged about $50 in fees that I wasn't told about ahead of time.