Ratings based on 1,061 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel on the hill

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Very helpful staff regarding taking BART into San Fransisco for the day!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The large marble bathroom and enormous tub were divine!
Beautiful renovation! Pristine, clean-lines, yet still speaks to the history of the Claremont.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was very friendly. The renovations are lovel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
I will be back! The lobby bar, Meritage restaurant and our room were perfect and exceeded expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Wonderful Improvements!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Everything, they are also very welcoming to dogs.
Cons: Just finish the remodel.
Location: The hotel is close to the campus. It has tennis courts, swimming pool and great spa facilities. Very centrally located, close to shops and restaurants
We are return guests of this hotel, have stayed here many times the past 7 years while living out of the country. Imagine our delight when we arrived to see the vastly lightened and opened entry with its bold, striped carpet and comfortable seating areas. Gone are the rooms across the reception area where we've had many Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, they are replaced by the lobby bar, which shows off the beautiful bay view. The bar was a relaxing place to be, not too crowded by tables. We LOVE the upgrades in the bedrooms and bathrooms. I used to think of coming to the Claremont as going to grandma's...slight tired furniture and old bathrooms. NO MORE! Those blue high back, leather padded, tufted head boards with recessed reading lights are great. The sleek glassed top table and pretty side chairs make it easy to work or eat in the room. The grey marbled bathroom with the large glass shower enclosure and pretty standalone tub really made the room. The whole room shouts LUXURY. The blue and gold theme is still there but with a navy blue so dark it could be black...very pretty and modern. The staff are still all extremely helpful and friendly...they even welcomed our dog with treats every time we went by. The terrific stuff about the Claremont have remained, thank you for that. The remodel is very welcomed. I have one of the best Cosmopolitans ever at the lobby bar, our dinner at Meritage is also good. I cannot wait to see the French bistro when it opens. Next time!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Birthday treat

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Wanted to get an expresso in the morning at their bay view cafe only to find that the cook was the only one that showed up for work that morning!I did go and help myself to their free coffee by the gym.That was disappointing for a "fancy" hotel.On the plus side room was very nice and the bed super comfy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2015
We are a family of 5 that has stayed at the Claremont twice in the last month and although they've been going through many changes with Fairmont the stay has been very pleasant. The club access is worth the stay alone as it boasts a heated salt water pool for the kids and for lap swimming. The staff was friendly and they were able to accommodate a roll away for us every night for our little one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Excellent spa and fitness center. Our stay unfortunately took place while they were renovating so it was a bit noisy... I would ask next time I booked but the staff was very kind about it. If you want a mini vacation in Berkley... It is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Undergoing some maintenance, but still really nice

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: The place is always way above average for cleanliness. The staff has always been great too.
Location: This is a great place be stranded in if you have extra cash, can swim and workout. There are a few nearby restaurants and shopping on College Ave.
I've seen this old girl change hands several times in the last decade. This time Fairmont Hotels is running it and appears to be hard at work updating it. Most of the renovations I've seen are favourable, though somehow it seems to have lost some of the nostalgia factor I liked in my earlier travels. The accommodations are still great especially for the price, which at around $300 a night, includes the use of the sports club with several pools and a great workout room. I did miss the cafe, since closed for renovations. Its definitely not the Holiday Inn Express, and is priced accordingly. I only hope they don't now try to jack it up higher.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remodeling nightmare

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Best thing is view from lounge, go for a drink but stay somewhere else. Although the rooms were brand new and immaculate, the decor was cold. Most of the hotel was blocked off by construction barriers so it was kind of like a horror movie. The bathroom was frigid, with a blue and silver chain motif with ice cold white marble at right angles. Beautiful but uncomfortable and uninviting. Being surrounded by big chains when I get out of the shower is just not my thing. Room was claustrophobic with a view over a roof that was better hidden behind blinds. Noisy AC vents kept me up all night. Hammering started at 9 am. But the worst part was check in was at 4 pm and the spa closed at 5 pm, but the printed information in the room stated the spa closed at 7 pm. Needless to say, my daughter and I didn't get to enjoy the spa facilities. Maybe it will be better when they've completed construction
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was recently renovated

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Heating in the room
Location: The entire SF Bay Area
Just a quick stay for a business mtg. The mtg went well - good food in The Meritage
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for joining us for your business stay in the area. We are happy you enjoyed our updates as well as dining at Meritage. Our location is truly convenient to all of the Bay area as you mentioned. If there is anything we could do to help, our team is always available. We hope to see you again.