Ratings based on 1,271 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Nice old hotel excellent location afternoon tea is recommended (don't expect the taste in London but it is good)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Our favorite hotel near UC Berkeley. Wouldn't stay anywhere else! We like that it is away from busy Berkeley but close enough to walk to Campus events (15-20 min walk). The hotel never seems crowded. Staff is always super friendly and helpful. Lime wood restaurant food was delicious! Both restaurants have great views of San Francisco.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, MB. We are delighted to hear Claremont is your hotel of choice when visiting the Bay Area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san mateo county

hvac system terrible

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: deck seating
Cons: hotel is tired, price given accommodation is too high
Location: location is great
duvet too hot , energy management is old tired and woke me up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great amenities excellent servise

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: the view and the accommodations were top notch
Cons: we did have a broken hairdryer but that was quickly exchanged by the staff
Location: great location for visiting anywhere in Berkeley
The hotel staff were very accommodating, borrowed an umbrella for the downpour. The service staff in the lounge were excellent, prompt and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from LA

A wonderful place for a weekend away.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The room was very comfortable, and the view if you get a bay view is incredible. The restaurants and lounge all all lovely and have bay views.
Cons: Please note that there is a $30 charge for parking, and a $26 'facilities' charge even if you cannot use them.
Location: This is in Berkeley, so 4th street shopping is close.
This really is Fairmont standards, and the hotel is wonderful. The rooms are a good size, the hallways are wide and luxurious. The staff was great. I recommend a drink in the lounge while the sun sets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprised by the luxury

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: I especially liked the service and friendliness of the staff. Our bed was also very comfortable and cozy.
Location: The location is wonderful. My husband and I went to a party that afternoon and felt very safe walking at 4pm and 8pm to and from the hotel.
I was surprised at how luxurious the room was and we even had a view of the bay. The room was small but efficient and very comfortable. My husband went in the big pool and enjoyed his lap swim. I took a spin class and had a hard time keeping up with the instructor, but I didn't feel any pressure or judgement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but was a bit far from the University.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, room and the bath was excellent. My wife was pleased with the pool and the spa.
Location: The hotel is at a walking distance to College Avenue, but with a car it is 10 mins ride to the Shattuck avenue.
No complaints, everything was excellent. The breakfast, which we took once, was a bit pricey though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The renovations are nice.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The lobby areas are lovely.
Cons: Mirror in the room, upgrade to a better view if it is available.
Our first room was updated but not renovated. We had a view of the garbage area and our shower was small and old. We requested a move and received a much brighter room with a better bathroom. There was no mirror in the bed area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Very elegant and the staff could not have been more accommodating.
1 out of 5
by nadya

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel lobby & outside architecture is nice but the rooms although remodeled are not qualifying to be a 5 star. Definitely not worth paying more than $200. The AC/heater rattles makes noise until morning, carpets dirty need to be washed, the amnesties in a luxury room were missing, towels not soft & fluffy....