Ratings based on 1,291 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location, Clean Room, Nice Staff
Cons: Subpar Food
Nice location, clean room, nice staff, counterbalanced by very subpar food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Bathroom was nothing like photos

Posted May 22, 2017
The pictures they provide of a comparable room were perfectly accurate except for that the bathroom shown was 5 stars and the real bathroom while quite clean was a little dated and basically what you'd get at any average hotel. The tub being a standard sized shower combo was super disappointing especially considering the cost of the room. The room beyond that and the grounds were stunning however.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Hilliary. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your room accommodations but apologize you were disappointed with the bathroom. We have a small number of bathrooms that will be updated later this year, and following that, all 276 of our guest rooms will be completely renovated. We appreciate your understanding and thank you again for your feedback. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great jotel. Water pressure low

Posted May 22, 2017
Low water pressure making showering a slow experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our engineering to address the shower pressure issues. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay, wonderful hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Everything, but especially the well trained and courteous staff. The were unfailing helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Can't recommend anything.
Location: The hotel is located near the residence of my son and his family.
Got an early check in. The room was immaculate with a beautiful view of SF. Complete temp control in both rooms. Beautiful bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to learn you enjoyed a 5-star stay with us and appreciate your kind feedback. On behalf of the entire Claremont team, we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

A walker's paradise location

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: When taking Uber, Lyft, etc. be sure to say the Limewood Restaurant, not the hotel name. Drivers get lost otherwise.
Location: See above response...
The location to the hiking trails and UC Berkeley campus and shops and eateries is excellent. The facilities which include a workout room, swimming pool and tennis courts are ideal. I would definitely recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Mary. I am pleased to hear you feedback about the hotel's facilities and location. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland CA

Hotel Spa Getaway

Posted May 6, 2017
Perfect place for a weekend retreat. The spa amenities were relaxing and our massages were wonderful. Limewood Restaurant was satisfing (was happy they had a non-salad vegan/vegetarian option) and the view from the restaurant deck was as spectacular as promised. Our room was a nice upgrade, no complaints, slept like a baby and awoke feeling refreshed. Morning swim in the pool was nice, surprisingly crowded for a Monday morning but still nice. I didn't care for the hotel restaurants' breakfast options but Rick & Ann's Cafe is a stone throws away so all of my needs were more than met. Overall, absolutely great experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend getaway and hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Cons: The service in the Limewood restaurant was poor. Food was good, but poor service. Spa and tennis center/pools are great
Good hotel overall. A bit dated, but real nice in an "old mansion" vibe
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback about our club facilities but was disappointed to hear about your dining experience. I have shared your comments with the Limewood team to address these service issues. We hope you will consider Claremont should your travels bring you back to the Bay Area. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, Ca

A Special Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The Claremont is a glamorous and iconic hotel...easy elegance at its finest and a phenomenal restaurant. My husband proposed to me 28 years ago on the balcony of the Claremont and now I'm here with our 18 year daughter for CalDay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that Claremont has played such a special role in your family's life and look forward to welcoming you back for years to come. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Very beautiful Oakland Hills location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location and decorations
Cons: I liked it all
Location: Downtown Berkeley is nearby, and the UC Berkeley campus is a cool place to explore.
We had a beautiful room, the grounds we kept nice and beautiful and we enjoyed our time here. The staff is amazing, and Devon was so nice and friendly. We'll definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Lauren. I am delighted to hear your feedback and have shared your comments with Devon. On behalf of the entire Claremont team, we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Nice old hotel excellent location afternoon tea is recommended (don't expect the taste in London but it is good)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Len Czarnecki, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Len Czarnecki General Manager