Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Know the area before you make reservation. Not certain how safe the neighborhood is When hotel front doors are key locked after certain hours at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Disappointed. Failed to deliver what they offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Ayu, Hotel Management
Please tell us in details what happened. We also would like the room you stayed in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient downtown location

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Its location and where I needed to go.
Cons: Delivering on what they are offering; provide the stuff they offer on the reservation.
Location: Proximity to Lake Merritt was a big positive.
Disappointing. Quite loud into late night hours; there is plenty of people and partying happening in the area overnight. Although the reservation offered a queen bed, it was a double bed, and after numerous attempts I gave up asking; but they made it as far as saying "let me go up with you with a measuring tape to show you it is a queen bed", which I found plain disrespectful; only one front desk clerk acknowledged an issue with the bed size, but promptly changed the story.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Ayu, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing the survey. It's been three years since we purchased the queen beds, in the last week you and another person mentioned it. I was really perplexed and called the manufacturer and they assured me it is queen bed and they told me to measure it from the middle of the bed and it was 60ins. You were in 302 and I went and measured it id 59 1/2 ins. The vendor said sometimes it is one inch short or a little more. It was a surprise for all of us, I hope you understand that we are not trying to pass something which is not. I will call again the vendor and send a letter confirming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They were able to grant me an early checkin when the office I was visiting was closed for repairs. The location is super-convenient, with BART and all the Broadway transit lines less than 2 blocks away. There are lots of great restaurants to explore nearby, though it's a slightly questionable area to wander around at night. The room itself was clean and smelled fresh. It was on the small side and needed minor cosmetic repairs, but overall it was quite comfortable and perfectly adequate for my business trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gatineau

Hotel peu recommandable

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Hotel situé dans un cartier peu recommandable. Des voitures ont eu les vitres brisées. La propreté laissé a désiré. Chambre très petite et petit déjeuner très ordinaire
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Good for a short stay- great breakfast and service

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
The front desk was very nice and had fast check-in. The hotel felt older fashion, like Victoria. My room was small with a big remodeled bathroom (granite counter tops). It had a loud air-conditioning system sticking out of the window and which I could not find any control panel to adjust the temperature. There was a desk and a TV in the room with the double bed (which I requested). The morning breakfast was delicious. It had eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurts, toast, bagels, cereal, fruit, coffee and more. The elevator was tiny and made noise and rocked when in use which kind of scared me, but I made it up and down safely with my fingers crossed. My allergies flared up in the room so not sure what triggered them. Bed was comfortable and clean though to sleep in. The part of town was a little sketchy so I stayed in my room the whole night. There was free wi-fi which I didn't connect to.
5 out of 5
by Robin

Happy stay

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was great. The room was very clean and although small very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Placerville, CA

Close to City Center

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, Location
Friendly staff. Very close to City Center and 12th St Bart Station. Older hotel configuration with smaller rooms, but clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Better than expected.

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Way better than some of the online reviews. It's not a luxury hotel and the neighborhood is a somewhat marginal... but it's downtown and our room was a pleasant surprise. Neat, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently in downtown

Posted May 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: complimentary breakfast in the morning. Good selection of food choices.
The place was nice, it is a bit small but that was my doing as I was looking for a place to stay at the last minute during the long weekend.