Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Awesome! Not a single complaint!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Everything. No complaints. Hoping to check out the pool next time.
Cons: Nothing, this hotel was clean, chic and had great service from all of the friendly staff that I encountered there.
Location: There are several really cool shops and boutiques in the area as well as galleries, bars, lounges, etc.
I enjoyed my stay at the Courtyard Marriott in Oakland just this past weekend. The staff was friendly and very helpful. My room was quiet, spotless and extremely comfortable. I loved the updated, modern decor. I had no complaints at all. Nothing more I could ask for. I liked that this hotel is walking distance from lots of shops, cafes, lounges, art galleries (I suggest checking out PHG Gallery) and even a Smart & Final right across the street which was convenient for getting water, fruit and other snacks for the room. I enjoyed breakfast both days in the Bistro downstairs and the staff there was also wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone. I'm glad that I went with it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Friendly Staff

Posted May 12, 2017
This was a great downtown spot, close to restaurants and night life. The staff were helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Very convenient, clean, more space than the Marriott
Cons: Room phone did not work, had to figure out how to call the desk from a cell
Location: Loved the farmer's mkt on Friday morning!
Nice and clean right across the street from the Oakland Convention Center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Quiet. The facilities were up to date. The carpet in the hallway smelled new. The staff were most friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean, quiet, great location.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Stayed one night, no complaints. Staff were friendly, room was clean and quiet, everything worked properly. Beds were comfortable. Liked having a fridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great value and good location. Having valet parking is really convenient too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bizarre stay in the Ghetto

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: Night staff needs to be trained to eject people who break the rules on the FIRST STRIKE and not inconvenience others and compromise our health
Location: Asian Community Center. Lake Merrit
I used this hotel as it was the closest to a conference I was at. I now know this area is very ghetto and to avoid it altogether and take a cab in from a nicer area of town. The room was okay, the bed was mostly comfortable - there wasn't anything wrong with the room apart from a slight shabbiness factor. But when the girls down the hall started partying around 9pm and didn't quit, it was a problem. The fact that they blew pot smoke under our doors and one - I have no idea how - threw pee under my door was a bigger problem. The fact that they smoked about a bale of marijuana and filled the corridor with smoke so thick you couldn't see was a massive problem. Each time we called the front desk and they said they were dealing with it. But the noise, pot smoke and running up and down the hall screaming and laughing just escalated. We got no sleep until around 2am and were just drifting off finally, after my partner had a bad athsma attack from all the smoke (of course the windows didn't open so no way of clearing it). Just as we were asleep for about two minutes, these same idiot girls pulled the fire alarm. The alarm in our room was extra loud as we had to take what was the deaf handicapped room due to lack of space, and it had super loud sirens and strobe lights that messed with your eyes. At that point the front desk finally called the cops but we'd had it. They were very apologetic, but that's not the point. We had sick headaches from the smoke. Shadytown. My advice: avoid it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Clean with nice staff. Had nice stay. Only 2 blocks from BART.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Great location and comfort

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The physical comfort, location, and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing. Keep up the good work.
Location: Jack London Square and the SF ferry are within walking distance. Nine blocks away in the Broadway-West Grand area, there are numerous restaurants.
The room and bathroom were spotless. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had. The climate system works perfectly and is easy to control. The room was very quiet. The location is perfect for getting around, being very close to BART and within walking distance of the ferry at Jack London Square.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake

Average room, poor restaurant, overpriced

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Check-in staff were friendly and efficient
Cons: Internet is slow, room amenities (drinks, toiletries) were meagre, elevators were dirty and odiferous
Stayed for 2 nights thinking it wold be Marriott standard. It is an outpost of a better Marriott across the street