Ratings based on 1,779 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nor cal

Just average. Not worth the price.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
No serious problems. Bed was too soft. Nothing special about room. Not worth price. Many train whistles starting 5 am
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Nearby park
Cons: New beds
Location: Town of Berkely
Check in was fine. Room was OK but bed was soft and worn. Could feel the coils and we rolled to middle. Could use an update. Police signs were place on road to entrance of Berkely Marina saying that there were a lot of burglaries in vicinity. One nice thing was water in the hallways and also there is a park next to it to walk dogs or exercise
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
Thank you for sharing your impressions. We are glad you enjoyed some of what we feature here at our Berkeley Marina hotel including access to the local walking paths and easy check in. It is important that all of our guests find comfort in our guest rooms so we are disappointed to learn that you were not able to experience a restful night’s sleep with our bedding. Our team is always available to help in any way. It is our hope that you will consider another stay so we can impress you at every turn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015
My experience was v disappointing. Due to the fact that i booked thru expedia, i was not given hhonors priveleges, and could not get rooms with a marina view. inadequate staff in all facilities, in particular in restaurant. My bill included amounts i had not signed on but were inserted on receipt( in restaurant) i am still waiting for correction and crediting my debit card with these amounts that were wrongfully charged. Reception staff dismissed the issue in a negligent way.
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
Thank you for sharing this feedback. While it would be out of place for us to discuss issues with third-party booking sites, we must ask that you accept our most sincere apology for any confusion with your billing. Your brand loyalty is very important to us and we hope that you know we will help in any way we can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
It's a great place to stay .The food is great ,the location is fantastic and the staff are helpful.
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
At the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina we love to hear from our guests, thank you! We are happy you enjoyed our location, service and dining options. It would be our privilege to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel, nice walking trails

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: free cookies!
Location: Booked this hotel because I wanted to be near the Greek Theater. Very conveniently located. Took a decent walk near the bay marina.
I booked this hotel because I wanted to be near the Greek Theater. This hotel was conveniently located about ten minutes away. The hotel was clean, very pleasant to stay in. I loved standing outside my balcony and breathing in the cold air. Surrounding the hotel were walking trails along the bay. I took a nice little stroll every morning. I had a great experience here.
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
Thank you for joining us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. As you mentioned, the Greek Theatre is only minutes away and we love knowing that you appreciated our clean accommodations as well as the beautiful walking paths outside our doors. We hope you will have the chance to come back again for another visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's was nice clean and comfortable.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Check in was fast and easy . Place was clean and comfy!
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
Clean and comfortable are two words we love to hear from our guests, thank you. We are so glad your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina was positive and we hope you have the chance to come back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
I stayed one night for my business trip. But,I disappointed .Room is old so some smell in rooom and very huge noisy for hallway door sound.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bathrooms were dirty

Posted Aug 21, 2015
First room had dirty foot prints on bathroom floor and moldy tile. Second room had cleaner bathroom and I scrubbed mold out if tiles myself.
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
Thank you for sharing your encounter. We are disappointed to learn of any housekeeping issues you have provided here, even with the change in accommodations. Your comments have been shared with the head of our Housekeeping team so we can improve. We hope you will give us a chance in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient after wine touring

Posted Aug 21, 2015
It's a bit far from Napa wineries but the accommodations are wonderful. There is only a little bit of construction near their pool to be aware of.
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
Thank you for joining us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. We are so glad to have been your resting place after exploring the area. Enjoying comfortable accommodations at the end of a long day sounds perfect. We would love for you to come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall stay was great..

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Overall stay was great..however when checking in we were given a room we were not happy with and had to pay an additional 30$ just to be able to see the marina..the next morning there were workers with radios making lots of racket in the hall around 8-9am.fortunately we already awake and moving but if you were actually trying to sleep you would have been very unhappy..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are disheartened to know that your original accommodations were not more to your liking. Not all of our guest rooms offer waterfront views but we are glad you were able to change to something that made you more comfortable. Please know that our guests’ peace is important to us and we work hard to ensure that any maintenance performed is kept within reasonable hours. Thank you for your patience and understanding. It is our hope that you have the chance to come back again.