Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Average hotel for the traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: sound insulation was good. Being close to a freeway, I was concerned. But noise wasn't a problem at all.
Cons: Stick the kitchen properly so it is usable for the guest.
Location: Not much for restaurant choices close by & within walking distance. I did walk to the Elephant Bar for dinner. Great service there by the way.
I thought there would be items like plates, glasses, utensils, coffee maker, & pans being it's got a kitchenette. I was wrong, there was nothing at all. Just empty cabinets & drawers. What's the point?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am also very sorry to hear that our front desk staff did not provide you with information about our dishware policy. While we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available upon request at the front desk at no additional cost. In response to your feedback, I will be coaching our staff to make sure all of our amenities are clearly explained during check-in. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if you can

Posted May 21, 2015
Non-smoking room smells like smoke, countertable is old and has started pealing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was not satisfactory. I have looked into your comments with great concern, and will be working with our staff to make immediate improvements. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you endured during your stay with us. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by walter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nicole from South Australia

Close to Shops

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Located close to supermarket and other shops. Room as neat, breakfast supplied was simple but was all we needed and staff were friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tammy from Winter Haven, FL

Ick

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is convenient to San Francisco and the Bay Bridge, however this hotel is in a bad area. They do have a security guard until 6am, but ...The hotel makes you turn in your old towels before you get new ones. The hotel has a strange smell also. We kept our windows open during our entire 5 day stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pass on this place

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
I booked this room for my sisters when they visited me in Oakland and I stayed the night as well. The lobby and hallways all appear to be renovated and look clean and nice. The rooms are another story! Perhaps they will be upgraded in the future to match the lobby, but the room was terrible. It was clean enough, but the air conditioner rattled loudly every time it turned on. Basically it woke me up every hour through the night. Finally I turned it off and opened the window the 1 inch it would allow. The bed felt like sleeping on a wooden plank, same for the pillow. The neighborhood was in a convenient location, on the boarder of Oakland and Emeryville. When I booked this place, I expected it to be on par with a Holiday Inn, but it was not. Spend the extra money and stay at one of the other nice Emeryville hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Older room with little up keep maintenance wise.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Not too much to like other than it was close to the stores.
Cons: A good clean up of staff and policies
The room was in order with older décor with some disrepair. I stayed for 5 nights for business and never did I once see a maid. I had to make my own bed and use the same towels during my stay. The front desk shuts down at 11 pm to the morning so don't bother calling. I had no choice but to take a room on the 4th floor as that was all that was available. (Smoking floor). There was a constant smell of marijuana in the hall way on the way to my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The service and maintenance issues you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. Regarding housekeeping, we provide housekeeping services to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. In response to your feedback, I will be meeting with our staff to make sure our amenities are clearly communicated as well as making sure rooms are inspected before guest arrivals. Please know that we do not tolerate the use of illegal substances at our property. We will be conducting a full investigation to make sure your experience is not repeated. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ken from NV

Let us Smoke

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
Love it! Was disappointed to hear that they might be going non-smoking. Home away from Home is hard to find if you smoke ... Leave it as a smoking hotel please.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Please do not extend my stay

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
Do not stay here for business or pleasure. It is definitely ghetto and the clientele and employees are not exactly the type of people you would hang around.