Ratings based on 1,392 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great if you are visiting UC Berkeley

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, "the graduate" theme, location, the water in the lobby!
Cons: Cramped bathrooms could use renovation.
Location: UC Berkeley is one block, with lots of places to eat right around the hotel. Really great if you are visiting the univ.
One block from campus. A comfortable, clean hotel with pleasant staff. Plenty of places to eat right by the hotel. The only issue we had was that bathroom was very small and cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nephew stayed there in May.

Posted Jun 17, 2017
He said it was the coolest place he has ever stayed in. Very unique because it was originally a dorm or frat house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Fantastic Beds!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
The new ownership and closure of the restaurant was not disclosed to me and it was probably just as well as I would not have booked and would have missed this close to campus Gem. The bathroom was small and the neighborhood is a bit sketchy but the decor is super charming and the beds and the bedding earned an A plus. Free wifi, breakfast (ok if you don't need much protein) and wine and cheese were nice pluses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
A cute theamed hotel right by the college and a short10 minute walk to the Greek theater. Small but super clean and well cared for considering the age of the building. The breakfast was disappointing, continental and we decided to eat off site. But over all good little hotel and a great experience in Berkeley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to UC Berkeley

Posted May 24, 2017
Pleasant stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Onsite restaurant was closed but hotel provided complimentary continental breakfast. Unfortunately not replenished until front desk was informed by a few guests and one day, was served 30 minutes late. Room and bathroom were clean and comfortable but sink in bathroom was too small with no counter space. Only two small glass shelves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Graduate during graduation week

Posted May 18, 2017
The stay was quiet, comfortable, well priced and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
I could hear my neighbors through the vent in the bathroom but this was easily fixed when I closed the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
I wish the shower head had more water pressure. The water pressure provided was very minimal but everything else was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Tiny rooms, lacking amenities

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Location: Walking distance of the Berkeley campus.
The rooms here are reminiscent of most European hotels: postage stamp-size rooms with American-size prices. The hotel advertises a "state of the art" fitness center, but when I went to the front desk to ask where it was located, I was told that it was "under construction" and not yet available. Perhaps shouldn't advertise what you don't yet have??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Graduate hotel walking distance to UC Berkeley

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The important thing is that the name of the hotel is Graduate Hotel not Durant. It is on the Durant street though. The Hotel is walking distance to UC Berkeley/ school campus. Parking lot was full when we arrived but we were able to park on the street- 8 hour spot$12 or 2-hour parking spot. Nice hotel, clean, but not spacious.