Ratings based on 2,224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Close to Berkeley and the Emeryville Market

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Room was clean and quiet. We avoided paying for extras (except parking which we couldn't avoid.). For example small snacks can be purchased at the gas station next to the parking lot. The location requires a car for most needs, yet, the location is convenient for visiting Oakland or Berkeley or SanFrancisco. We were satisfied with this hotel for this trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Our weekend stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location of this hotel is great! So easy to hop on the freeway and get into San Francisco. And the shops and restaurants nearby are a huge plus.
Cons: Replace full beds with queen beds and clean the windows so guests can enjoy the view.
Location: Easy freeway access to San Francisco. Great restaurants, shops and movie theater nearby.
Upon arriving at our hotel we found out that our bay view room that we had reserved was no longer available. Much to our disappointment, we were given a view of the freeway instead. However, the staff member that checked us in comped us with free parking and breakfast which we really appreciated. The next day we were moved to a bay view room. Disappointed to find that the windows were filthy so the extra money for the bay view really wasn't worth it. Was surprised when making our reservations that the room had 2 full beds. Queen beds would have made for a more comfortable stay for our family of 4. Had opportunity to use the business center. Had up to date tech to handle all our needs. Overall, a good stay, a few improvements would have made it great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Easy access to SF and dinning

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The facility is comfortable and well kept. We are retired, so price and ease of use are important to us. The hotel meets our needs.
Cons: Nothing for us.
Location: There is attractive shopping and dining within a few blocks. There are special attractions in SF, Oakland, and Richmond. The SF Bridge is close.
This was our third use of this facility and again we enjoyed our stay. The facility is comfortable and kept well. We are retired and the price and 'ease of use' are important for us. Not only does the hotel meet our needs, there's attractive shopping and dinning within a few blocks. The proximity to the Bay Bridge is appealing. There are a number of historic and entertaining site near this location, i.e., Jack London Square (Oakland); Pier 39 (SF); and Rosie the Rivitor NP (Richmond).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Get rid of the useless compact car spots. You end up just having people take up two spots and if not worrying about your car doors getting dinged up.
Needed a reasonable place just outside of SF to rest. We ended up getting in too late to use the pool, but the room was comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with easy freeway access.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Enjoyed the hotel very much. Slight cleanliness issues on curtains with dust, but overall pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The hotel was great, a little further from San Fran than I'd hoped, but a nice hotel just outside the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Hotel Staff should be lower level vs other hotels

Posted Jul 11, 2016
I asked hotel staff to bring nail cutter & opener, however they said that nail cutter is not available and I am required to go to bar to ask open. I bought bottle of beer at front desk and it needs to be open by opener only. Hotel should prepare the opener for their customer. I have had good impression regarding Hilton Garden Inn based upon my experiences at other places, however I have been disappointed with this location at San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenician

Distant from a main areas

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Only one restuarant nearby. Closes beach you could get to from here is 9miles and very small at that. To get here on city transport is hectic unless u out have a car or constantly Uber/lyft ($$). No big pool only a small hot tub. Pricey bar and in dinning in hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice Locatiob

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Nice jumping off point to get to SF quickly. Room was nice would have liked bay view not freeway view.. Noise all night from on ramp.. Made reservation far enough in advance that I thought I should have had better location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield Ca

very bad experience

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Awaken by noices from top floor at 5AM and some construction noices at around 7. Front desk lady was rude when we checked in saying we couldn't park at the back if we don't pay with loud tone. Called me "that guy".