Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Convenient area, quiet room. Free parking, wifi and breakfast. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We truly look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequately comfortable hotel in high need area

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: close to UC
Cons: adequate
Location: multiple choices of dining
convenient check in and check out good hotel breakfast with mutliple choices
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Traveler, Thank you for your review. We are happy to thrilled to hear that you stay went well. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great staff

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Room was clean, location is great. The staff is incredible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bobby J, Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to provide great customer service and it sounds like we did our job. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Bed Bug Investation

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We checked in to the hotel and the staff was very helpful and recommended an excellent restaurant. However, after dinner we returned to the room and noticed insects on the sheets which we quickly Googled and determined they were bed bugs. We immediately removed our luggage and notified the hotel staff. They inspected the room and photographed the bed bugs. The hotel waived any charges. However, we were left without a place to stay at midnight. We ended up finding a room at a Marriott Extended Stay over an hour away.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, We would like to thank you for bringing the dissapointing room conditions you encountered on your stay to our attention. As a property we have very strict policies and procedures in place to prevent any issues such as the one you've reported. We work diligently with an outside vendor to find the best options of preventative service to balance with green measures that are earth friendly. When an issue is reported we take the matter very seriously and a thorough investigation is conducted to ensure that I can state that this is an isolated issue. We sincerely feel that we take every step possible to provide our guests with the safest, cleanest accommodations while providing a solid value. We thank you again for bring this to our attention and we will do a full investigation. We hope you will give us another opportunity so we can better your experience. Thank you and take care!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice location, best hotel in the area

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Excellent, it is expensive but worth it.
Cons: We has some lights in the bathroom that didn't work along with the fan.
Location: We were close to the UC Berkeley and only three blocks away from a Bart station which made this an ideal location.
We picked this hotel because it looked liked the nicest. We had friends who decided not to stay at the same hotel but decided to pick a cheaper hotel. They regretted their decision to stay at the cheaper hotel. The breakfast was cereal only and their room stunk. They were even afraid to take a shower. We had a nice breakfast with sausage, eggs, pancakes. Our room was very clean and comfortable. This is clearly a case where you pay for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Conrad, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the lights in your bathroom and we will sort those out right away. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good location of hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Location was ok
Cons: Food, room size for price, air flow
Location: We were looking at colleges, did not spend time sight seeing
Room was very small and cramped. Stuffy with little air movement even with AC on. The food offered for breakfast was disgusting. I don't know why it is so hard to offer a few fresh items to have in the morning. Who eats frozen omelets?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the dissapointing stay you had with us. I hope you will give us another opportunity to better your experience. Thank you and take care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach Ca

Good choice for Berkeley area

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Cons: Internet access was inconsistent and at times poor
Comfortable stay, friendly staff, clean and nice to have breakfast so handy. The only complaint was the internet connection, which was inconsistent and at times poor
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie D, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our hotel wifi. We are in to process of upgrading it. We look forward to your next visit so we can provide a better experience. Thank you and take care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Location: Good location for visiting the university of California.
Very good breakfast buffet. The room was comfortable except the bathroom didn't have a fan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued traveler, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you joined us for breakfast and enjoyed it. Yes, the campus is reasonable distance from our hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel. Close to Berkeley.

Posted May 19, 2016
Helpful staff and nice, clean room. Comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cal Parent, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

One night in berkely

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Easy to find, clean and excellent parking. Shortish walk to Main Street. Safe was not working , breakfast buffet was basic but included in rate
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Left my luggage with reception after check out and camera went missing, was definitely in my bag. So very disappointing
Drove from Yosemite to San Fran and did not wish to drive into cbd and wanted to experience Berkeley. A huge disappointment,homeless, no culture and not what I expected. On hindsight the traffic to get the last 5 miles was so bad I could have drove into San fran. Taxi ( uber) into city the next day was $45.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Raj Kaler - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Mark, Hope you are doing well. Its unfortunate that you did not locate your camera. We searched our office and the room and we could not find it. Hope it turns up soon. I want to thank you for your review. We're glad you found the room comfortable. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you and take care!